We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennewick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Chalet
Save Saved
You added Cherry Chalet to your Saves list
8101 West 10th, Kennewick, WA 99337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Personal Wine Tastings!
Ranked #1 of 2 Kennewick B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A rare find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Amazed to find this bed and breakfast listed as #2 hotel as we passed through, whetted our curiosity and we just had to drive by- just our luck, the owner had just returned from a trip and we were soon in our " room". Really a private apartment with dishes, coffee, the most amazing walk in shower, in the middle of a cherry orchard. All of this was built by Steve- owner/builder/farmer/ wine maker- I'm sure Rainey needs some credit too! Outdoor firepit, jogging trail, too much to remember. We purchased their Malbec and it was better than anything we found in Walla Walla.
We are telling our friends and going back- they can hold up to groups of 10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a little piece of heaven in Washington. We were three couples so we rented the mail chalet and one of the new rooms. Steve served breakfast for all of us in the main chalet and boy was it good. Besides a cherry grove, a wine maker, mountain climber, he is also a great chef with the help of Rainy with her great canning. The homemade salsa for pur eggs and the berry syrups for our apple and walnut pancakes were delicious! The wine they make is a must to taste, drink and buy for later. We all loved his syrah and cant wait for the wine club to start. These two hosts are truly remarkable and we definitely plan to go back again. Thanks Steve and Rainy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After traveling all day with two kids in tow, we showed up late to a lovely B&B and a great host. Steve not only handed us a bottle of wine but took our kids to play with the dogs while my wife and I took a break. We stayed in the two-bedroom unit and had everything we needed for a perfect stay. Hats off to Steve and the Cherry Chalet. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We don’t get away often, so when we acquire lodging we are always hopeful we’ve done our homework. The Cherry Chalet exceeded our expectations!

The room was clean and well appointed. The grounds were well kempt and pleasing. The large outdoor patio was a paradise in itself with gas fire pit, comfortable seating and a waterfall all surrounded by mature cherry trees. The two dogs were a welcome surprise and great fun to have around.

Breakfast was served in the room and was incredible in presentation and quality. The hosts even accommodated our desire for a primarily plant based diet.

The hosts, Steve & Rainy, were very friendly and trusting. They pretty much give you the run of the property and do not babysit you. We enjoyed this freedom and independence. We rate our experience at Cherry Chalet a 10 based upon previous lodging adventures we’ve had.

We hope to encourage some of our family to join us next year at the Cherry Chalet.

Fly Like An Eagle,

Steve M

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have stayed in many B and Bs and this one is one of the best. The hosts were gracious when we arrived late and rather than showing us our room and leaving, invited us out to the gorgeous patio to meet other guests and sit by the handmade flagstone firepit. It is not often that your hosts are hosts in the true sense of the word, it felt like we were visiting friends.

The room was very high quality with a slipper tub and open stone shower. No mini shampoos here, but real products including bath salts and big fluffy towels. Having breakfast served in your room is a feature we have always enjoyed, but we had the opportunity to eat outside in the morning sun was lovely. Breakfast was prepared with local produce and items from the garden, wish we were here during cherry season. A nice walk in orchard capped our morning.

There is a stunning coi pond and resident pooches providing that family touch. There is even a cat wondering around outside in case you are a cat person.

The bed and linens were go comfortable that we had to check the brand so we could buy one for ourselves. Rooms are constructed with high-end details including oil-rubbed bronze fixtures, granit counter tops, and thick carpeting. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the orchard with a rooster outside that had the sense to keep quiet until 9.

As a writer I often spend a week in B and B to write and this place will be next on my list.

Stunning. The comfort, luxury, and welcoming atmosphere will definitely bring us back.

Room Tip: Just make the reservation, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The room and the surrounding grounds made for a wonderful setting; in fact above average. If you are looking for isolation with little to no contact with the proprietors you will undoubtedly like it.

The inn keeper was out of town when we arrived and left the key for us to let ourselves in, so there was no initial greeting. It happens in the middle of the night a breaker in our room blew and when I called him on the phone, he was aware of the problem but had not yet taken care of it. He instructed me how to grope my way through the darkness to the garage to reset the breaker, after having done so only to find the garage door locked. So we spent the evening in darkness.

The breaker blew again the next evening and again he was gone so I had to take care of it myself. This time the garage was unlocked so I could do it myself. It seemed to be a general pattern that the inn keepers where not around to ask questions and there is no office or front desk to go to and often could not reach them by phone. If you like being left alone, this is great, if you like being waited on forget it.

They said we could use the gas grill which was nice but found there were no BBQ tools nor had it been cleaned. So I bought my own tools to clean it and cook. Breakfast was unpredictable; it could arrive anywhere from 8 to 9:30 so you just had to be ready. Unlike a traditional B&B where they serve in their dining room between certain hours and you come at your leisure.

With the trouble we had with the electricity, buying our own BBQ stuff, and not being able to get a hold of them, you might think they would offer some compensation; a partial discount, or a free night or something but nope, full price. Plus they just assumed that the BBQ tools we bought, we were going to leave for the next people. I was too embarrased to ask for them back.

It's not likely we are going to go back. To bad too, because if they would kind of dote on you a little like most B&Bs, it would have been a great stay.

Room Tip: Bring a flash light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherrychalet, Owner at Cherry Chalet, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Since Doug's review, we have had the building inspected, changed out the breakers and have experienced no more outages. We have since added a new outdoor barbeque that boasts a wood fired pizza oven. We apologize for having inconvenienced our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a working farm in a beautiful setting. We stayed in the new Santina Chalet, which is very nicely finished with a balcony overlooking the orchard. We were there for the cherry harvest and got as many cherries as we could eat. Walking through the orchard with the resident Chesapeake Retrievers and throwing a stick for them along the irrigation channel was blissfully zen. We were extremely well taken care of, beyond the call of duty. After getting stuck in the sand for the third time in the Juniper Dunes Wilderness area, we called our host. Without blinking an eyelash, Steve drove 50 miles at his busiest time of year to dig us out. He's just that kind of guy. When we left, Steve's father loaded us up with cherries for the trip. You won't encounter greater or more genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Chalet

Address: 8101 West 10th, Kennewick, WA 99337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Kennewick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kennewick
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.