We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pleasant, needs updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant, needs updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was surprisingly large with 2 queen beds. The updated bathroom was nice. Some of the furniture in the room a bit dusty. The pool area is large and inviting as well. The lounge chairs were in good condition and there was a waitperson tending to the pool area after the lounge had opened at 5pm. The food in the lounge was tasty. The staff were friendly. Our request for a late check out was taken care of promptly. The overall decor of the hotel needs some updating. Convenient location to baseball field.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    35
    24
    18
See reviews for
58
33
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

During the 1970's, the Red Lion chain of hotels were classy, brightly lit, and well staffed, but that was 40 years ago. Today the old decor of shades of brown, coupled with less lighting, and less food options make staying here a real challenge. The staff has always been top notch, and the rooms are clean, which is the salvation of this place along with very reasonable rates. I sure would like to see some bright life given to these grand old hotels. I will give it a four, barely, only because I know what a great job the staff does in overcoming the deficiencies of this property.

Room Tip: No elevator in this multi-story hotel. If you have trouble lugging 2suitcases up flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice roomy accomodation.
Booked at a last minute rate for less than the price for a much simplier motel.

Ask for a room on the back side (looking to the courtyard). Rooms on he front are a bit noisy because of the proximity of the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side (looking to the courtyard). Rooms on he front are a bit noisy becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this Red Lion.
The positives: Our double queen premium room was huge! Even the bathroom was large with spacious counter space. The furnishings and decorations were very tasteful and modern. Last time we stayed here at the end of our stay we discovered someone else's food under the bed. This time there was a little sign under the beds that said "yes, we checked here". I thought that was a nice touch. The breakfast was great and the children enjoyed the pool. The closest hotel to Tom 'O Shanter ball fields which was super convenient. The check in staff was pleasant and we were asked several times (while waiting) if we needed anything which was nice.
The negatives: We checked in at 5pm and our room wasn't ready.The hallway has a very unpleasant odor to it (I remember the same odor from last year) almost like rotten garbage although my husband thought it smelled like bad fish. The bathroom had long wet hair in a clump on the floor, gross! The light switches were visibly dirty as well as the bathroom door. I would never take a bath, or bathe my children in the bathtub because it didn't look clean. The sheets didn't stay on the beds. I know these are little things but I feel like this hotel could do a better job cleaning the rooms.
Overall you get more than you pay for here...huge room, great breakfast, location. However, I would be willing to pay for more a cleaner room.

Room Tip: Go for the Premium Queen rooms, especially if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our room came with a full breakfast for a reasonable rate. The front desk clerk was very nice and friendly when we checked in. It's near a little shopping center and restaurants. Everything was nice except the shower. I'm not sure if the little switch to change from shower to bath and vice-versa was broken but it was difficult to use. I like taking a hot bath at the end of the day and the water was not hot - only warm. The motel was certainly ok for a night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On our way to Mt. St. Helens we decided to stop at the Red Lion on a Sunday night. This hotel looked somewhat worn & the restaurant & lounge were closed (we arrived about 5 PM). The hotel staff appeared to be working because they had to not enjoying the day.

Our room was just average nothing stood out except that it, like the hotel, appeared in need of a facelift.

The location off of I5 was great with several restaurants nearby.

We stay at many hotels & this is just another one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel was clean, and all I needed was a place to put our luggage and sleep. I was disappointed that the staff had neglected to replace the coffee when the room was cleaned. I didn't get my morning coffee the first morning. Big rooms, large bathrooms, plenty of outlets for what I needed.
One thing to be aware of...there is no elevator here. Be prepared to take the stairs if you are on the second floor. But the staff is helpful in getting your bags to your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Address: 510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626
Location: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.