We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but hideously ugly decor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean but hideously ugly decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Husband and I stayed here 1/29/08-1/31/08. He had an interview at a local hospital so the HR staff set us up at Red Lion Inn for the 2 nights.

Once we arrived at the hotel, the girl behind the desk was soft spoken but nice. It's only 2 stories, so we had to lug our stuff up the stairs...the carpet is this hideous floral design, i don't know, can't really describe the decor...just really old fashion?!

When we got into the room, it was extremely large and exceptionally clean. I was afraid that this "inn/motel" style would be cruddy and dirty, but that was not the case. The bed was actually comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. Has a pretty large tub for an "inn".

Down the hall, they have complimentary ice and water. They provide water bottles for you to use. Although I used it, i was a bit skeptical as to how clean these plastic bottles were; but i didnt get sick or die, so it must be ok.

On the first floor, there is a restaurant...forget the name of it, but it seems like its a local hang out for the locals in town during the nights.

For a hotel snob, i was impressed by the comfort. It sort of felt like staying a friend's old grandma's apartment. Coming from east coast, the pace of life if a lot slower, which is welcoming.

I have posted some pictures of the hotel room.

  • Liked — large space, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — decor and poor wifi connection.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    35
    24
    18
See reviews for
58
33
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed here for a Lions Fall Forum. The front desk was pleasent and helpful. Housekeeping immediately gave us a second luggage holder for our room when asked. When a bulb burned out in the bathroom, they were there in five minutes to replace it. Almost all the rooms were occupied by Lions and the service was great. The room was beautiful, very large, comfortable and quiet. The meals in the hotel restaurant were OK, rather slow service. The Lounge was great! Happy Hour prices were very reasonable. All in all had a very nice time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Walking distance to the fields and McDonalds, a bowling alley and other stores are right next door. The mall on the other side of the freeway. Yes you are by the freeway but it was pretty quiet. Our room was huge with two queen bed and two bathroom sinks, one outside the toliet area. A large picture window that faced the back of the hotel and it is a greenbelt area with a service road. We didn't stay in the section by the pool. Microwave and fridge. Comfy beds. This was a great place to eat, the kobe burger, coconut shrimp and barbque ribs were great! They have a sports bar with Karoke. The rooms are recently remodeled and the lobby is almost done. Granite countertops. They have an outdoor pool which we did not use. Ok...now the bad stuff. One sink was very slow draining so we called maintenance. Then the toliet was plugged so we called maintenance. The first night we couldn't get any heat or turn off the HVAC. We called maintenance the next and they said our a/c wasn't turning off. This was the most number of times I have ever had to call maintenance at a hotel. I didn't have any problem with the wireless internet. The staff was very friendly

  • Liked — Large room and location
  • Disliked — Told don't take dogs over 25 pounds but I saw people with large dogs.Policy not consistent.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

This was absolutely the worst hotel experience ever. I travel 18 days a month for business and I have never stayed in such a lackluster, watered-down, filthy looking hotel room. The front desk staff were downright rude, charged me for a pay per view movie I did not view, and they refused to take it off my bill. Do yourself a favor, don't even consider staying there.. I would have been better off at the Motel 6. I have had good experiences at Super 8 in Kelso.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kelso hotels

Albany, Oregon
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

It was a wonderful room, with free internet, and comfy chairs. The pillows were too large, and it was my history to bring my own, but this time I didn't. Very good wait-staff in the Sportsbar - esp. Danneila!

Great Steak in the breakfast menu and lovely fried portabello's for appetizers (a little heavy on the breading - but great if you peeled it off!).

It was a superb stay, and well worth the great rate of 125.00 for two nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2004

Hotel took unauthorized $200.00 withdrawl from my card after making payment for the room. Told that it would be reversed and has not hapened to date.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2004

I've never been fond of "boxes with beds" hotels anyway. And the Red Lion in Kelso has done nothing to change my mind. First of all, rather than a "Vacancy" sign they should have put up an "Out of Order" sign. Although it was 80 degrees when we arrived, we were told the pool was not open (apparently removing the cover would have been an inconvenience). The lobby ATM was also not working that day. It had joined with the ice machine on our floor and called in sick for the duration of our stay. As we walked along the seeminly endless corridor towards our room, I was eerily reminded of Stephen King's "The Shining. The room itself, although large, was devoid of character...two beds, a small television with poor reception and a non-descript bathroom. The room overlooked the back parking lot and a stagnant canal. I can't tell you what the restaurant was like. No one seemed to be eating there any time we passed by (not a good sign) and we passed on the Friday night Pajama Party in the lounge for fear of who would take them up on the drink discount if you wore pajamas. If you want easy freeway access, the Red Lion Kelso is your place. If you want anything else, keep driving.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Address: 510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626
Location: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.