We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find in unlikely Ilwaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelicano

Pelicano
177 Howerton Way SE, Ilwaco, WA 98624
360-642-4034
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Ilwaco
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Local, fresh seafood. Classic and innovative cocktails. Great port view. Menu changes monthly to reflect current local catch & seasonal produce. Helpful, caring service from our wonderful staff. Everything we serve, including the bread and pastry, is made by hand in our kitchen.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in unlikely Ilwaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

So pleased to find fine (yet affordable) dining in the slightly unlikely surroundings of Ilwaco, so all credit to the chef and his wife for making an apparent success of this restaurant. Great menu, cooked with expertise and a sureness of touch and seasoning that belies experience in big city kitchens. Highly recommended. In fact, compulsory.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“No 1 in Ilwaco? Hmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Four of us called at the last minute for a Friday night reservation. Nice setting as you come in, but the high bar tables at the front door with no bar didn't make sense. It's a nice spot considering Ilwaco doesn't have much to choose from. The shrimp pasta was ordinary, the bread was rather dense and plain (I like crusty bread). I liked the summer salad of avocado, greens and cucumber: large portion, but not overfilling, but big enough to share. My son enjoyed the seafood chowder which was really more like varied seafood in broth. I also liked that there is an option for small (2/3) or large portions, but in the end, I felt like we spent a lot of money for a tasty but not extraordinary dinner. If you can't bring yourself to drive to Long Beach (10 min), then stop here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Dining the way it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had traveled nearly all of the Olympic National Park and the Washington coast and were dismally disappointed with most of our dining experiences. Illwaco was our last stop and we finally had the opportunity to experience great seafood, delicious wine, a professional wait staff all overlooking a beautiful harbor. Everything was fresh and beautifully presented. The seafood PERFECTLY prepared, everything was full of flavor and the prices were reasonable for what we considered a fine dining experience. Bravo Pelicano!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We asked Doreen, one of the owners of Inn at Harbour Village, to recommend a few restaurants for dinner. We chose the Pelicano (short walk).
We had a delicious meal: crab cakes for warm appetizer, followed by salmon for main course.. Dessert was also excellent.
It was Monday night so it was not too busy but were told you have to make a reservation if you go on a weekend and we believe it.. this young chef is very good.
If in that area again, we would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gourmet Fare at the Port of Ilwaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Loved Pelicano! Excellent service, preparation and friendly staff--
Crab cakes and fried oysters to start, very fresh. Entrees ( we chose the 2/3 portion, nice option) were excellent,
Salmon and rockfish--so good. Pot de creme and lemon desserts divine! Go there, you won't be disappointed!
(Restaurant opens at 5, no lunch service)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.