We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The time of the year to visit here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Disappointment State Park

Cape Disappointment State Park
P.O. Box 488, Ilwaco, WA 98624 (Formerly Fort Canby State Park)
360-642-3078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Ilwaco
Type: State Parks, National Parks, Beaches
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A scenic state park with hiking trails and cabins for overnight visitors.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The time of the year to visit here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Winds, high tides and chilling temperatures add an ambience that makes this place unique. To sit in the shelter of huge pies of driftwood, listening to the waves rumble and crash upon the shore, watching pelicans hunt for dinner, lines of them flying along the shores, pure magic. When it eats too cold, tuck into your RV, grab a mug of hot cocoa, relax, unwind, be at peace.
Here you have a State Park,with walking, hiking, light houses, beach combing, camping year round. A $10 pass allows you to visit daily, or camp for about $38 per night full hook up.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    30
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Favorite Fall/Winter/Spring Rv Detination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love this park in the off season. It's really busy in the summer. Great walks on the beach-pelicans-lighthouses-beach towns close by. Good RV sites.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Park Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love Cape Disappointment State Park. Our go-to destination is Waikiki beach. It's a bit more secluded from the wind and the waves aren't as rough as the main beaches so it's MUCH better for families. The Lewis & Clark museum overlooks the beach and is a great stop while you're there. If you're up for our trifecta it's visiting Waikiki beach, hitting the museum, and then hiking to the lighthouse. It makes for a great day and gets the kids nice and tired. A heads-up for those camping at the park, though. It's windy, windy, windy. The camping areas are awesome, but a lot of the people we talked with weren't prepared for the constant wind. They are in an area with very little protection from the ocean winds. We like Waikiki beach and the backside of the park (museum and hike) partially because of the wind protection there. Still, it's an amazing place and a must visit if you're in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great source of history for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We did not tour much of the park due to a very strong wind storm but the L&C Interpretative Center is amazing. We took our 7 year old who is studying L&C in school and he really enjoyed all of the kid friendly (touchy-feely) activity centers. We all learned a lot about the people and their journey. My only complaint is that you have to pay $10 (CC only) to park because it is a state park PLUS admission to the interpretative center.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Discovering Lewis and Clark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It is a beautiful ride to go there and spectacular when you reach the Cape. You first cross the 4 miles bridge over the Columbia river from Astoria,Or, to Washington State. Coming back in the evening we had the best sunset. Lucky us since it was the first sunny day in over a week.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Disappointment State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cape Disappointment State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Disappointment State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cape Disappointment State Park to your Saves list