We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Park Destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Disappointment State Park

Cape Disappointment State Park
P.O. Box 488, Ilwaco, WA 98624 (Formerly Fort Canby State Park)
360-642-3078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Ilwaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic state park with hiking trails and cabins for overnight visitors.
Spokane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Park Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love Cape Disappointment State Park. Our go-to destination is Waikiki beach. It's a bit more secluded from the wind and the waves aren't as rough as the main beaches so it's MUCH better for families. The Lewis & Clark museum overlooks the beach and is a great stop while you're there. If you're up for our trifecta it's visiting Waikiki beach, hitting the museum, and then hiking to the lighthouse. It makes for a great day and gets the kids nice and tired. A heads-up for those camping at the park, though. It's windy, windy, windy. The camping areas are awesome, but a lot of the people we talked with weren't prepared for the constant wind. They are in an area with very little protection from the ocean winds. We like Waikiki beach and the backside of the park (museum and hike) partially because of the wind protection there. Still, it's an amazing place and a must visit if you're in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    44
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great source of history for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We did not tour much of the park due to a very strong wind storm but the L&C Interpretative Center is amazing. We took our 7 year old who is studying L&C in school and he really enjoyed all of the kid friendly (touchy-feely) activity centers. We all learned a lot about the people and their journey. My only complaint is that you have to pay $10 (CC only) to park because it is a state park PLUS admission to the interpretative center.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Discovering Lewis and Clark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It is a beautiful ride to go there and spectacular when you reach the Cape. You first cross the 4 miles bridge over the Columbia river from Astoria,Or, to Washington State. Coming back in the evening we had the best sunset. Lucky us since it was the first sunny day in over a week.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Spend a day exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Camping available, two lighthouses to see, an interpretive center, hinking trails, boat launch, wildlife watching, small store

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with Lewis & Clark center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went for the very comprehensive and wonderful Lewis and Clark interpretive center. This was a perfect location for it, since it was the final destination of their trip. The park was also beautiful, with campground and wonderful view of the Pacific & Columbia.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Disappointment State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cape Disappointment State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Disappointment State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.