We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Inn

Welcome Inn
520 23rd St., Hoquiam, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 restaurants in Hoquiam
Cuisines: American
Description: Established in 1923. One of the oldest bars in the county. Serving up Amazing Prime rib on Wednesdays, Steaks, Seafood, Pizza, and probably the best burgers in town.
Restaurant details
Description: Established in 1923. One of the oldest bars in the county. Serving up Amazing Prime rib on Wednesdays, Steaks, Seafood, Pizza, and probably the best burgers in town.
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've driven by this little out-of-the-way neighborhood place every time we come through Hoquiam on the way to the beach. They always have food specials advertised on the side of the building and we've heard the food is really good. Other then the Hobbit sized front door that I smacked my head on everything was great. Good people, friendly owner and outstanding food. Best restaurant in town? Not sure but they sure are the best little hole in the wall bar food I've had in a long time. Something you would expect to see on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives yet it really isn't a dive. It was nice and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    5
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Welcome yourself to a great burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great things sometimes come in small packages. Not much to look at but you can't ask for a better burger. Burgers like they used to make, big juicy two handers. The owner (Kevin) is a great bartender, cook and gracious host. We left smiling and full, looking forward to his prime rib specials on Wednesdays. Yum!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Break from Usual Travel Routine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

After spending a wonderful couple of days celebrating our wedding anniversary in Ocean Shores, we mentioned to the hotel manager that we would be looking for a place to get a good hamburger on our way home. We would be driving through Hoquiam and Aberdeen, WA. She suggested the Welcome Inn and gave us specific directions. She mentioned it was a bar, but had great food, and that we would enjoy meeting Kevin, the owner/operator. After confirming that it would be a smoke-free environment, we were on our way.

We each had the regular burger that came with cheese, tomato, lettuce and their special goop. It was tremendous. The home-made fries were really good too. Inside seating is limited, but there is outdoor seating as well. Lots of flat-screen TV screens and friendly conversation made it a highlight of our day. Pool table is free. They are said to have the best prime rib on Wednesdays, but they sell out early. BBQ ribs are the highlight on Thursdays.

Don't let the exterior fool you. It's what's inside that counts. It was a memorable stop, and we will certainly be back. Thanks, Kevin, for being a great host!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food and great company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great little home town pub with good selection of beverages, the best french fries in Grays Harbor and awesome prime rib on Wednesdays. If you're lucky you will stop in when the owner/cook has just filleted fresh halibut for sandwiches.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very small neighbourhood tavern that has fabulous food. The cheese burgers are to die for & the fresh cut fries are yummy. Week-ends they have the best Prime Rib on the Harbor, you won't be disappointed. Not really a place for kids, more for grown-ups.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome Inn also viewed

 

Been to Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.