We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep on driving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides

The Tides
27061 N Us Highway 101, Hoodsport, WA 98548-9620
360-877-8921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Hoodsport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Keep on driving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visit this restaurant about once a year while traveling to Port Townsend. We look forward to the fried oysters. We stopped Sunday, April 14 for lunch. The service was good. The food was not. The fries were not cooked hot enough and were greasy and soggy. The fried oysters were pale and gritty. My boyfriend crunched down hard enough on a rock or pearl that he thought he broke a tooth. He is not one to complain but I mentioned quietly to the server what had happened and that she might want to alert the kitchen that they needed to clean the oysters better. The cook came out and basically confronted him, he said she should go back to the kitchen. They comped the meal which we did not request. Perhaps the owner or kitchen staff has changed since our visit last year, but we'll not be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    15
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“good place for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped for breakfast while driving north on Highway 101 to Port Townsend. Classic old-style diner with tables next to a window facing the Hood Canal. The breakfast menu included blueberry pancakes, so my wife was hooked. The pancake was huge and covered the entire plate. I believe I ordered the smoked salmon omelette but whatever I ordered, I liked. The waitress seemed a little overwhelmed by the morning crowd (combination of locals and people driving through Hoodsport on Highway 101). After asking if we needed anything else, she forgot to bring us what we requested. She also had to be reminded for coffee refills. Good place to stop for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Family place, simple and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stopped while driving down from Port Townsend, It is a nice little place, nothing fancy at all. The service was pretty good and it looked clean. i had a fried seafood platter as did my wife, it was pretty greasy, and the fried local oysters were not fried enough. My daughter had some sort of burger and she said it was very good. She also ordered a side salad which she also liked. I saw a gentleman get an omelette and is looked delicious, but it was too late in then day for breakfast for me. Overall i ordered a grease basket and got a grease basket, If the oysters were fried longer and perhaps all the food was placed on paper towels for a few seconds it would have been better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gig Harbor's best view with lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The food and drink are good, but the view is wonderful. We enjoyed our lunch as we watched boats of all sorts parade up and back in Gig Harbor. You will want to return often on a sunny day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Keep Driving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hangout for the local crowd also attracts the unfortunate motorcycle tourist looking for something solid. No such luck here. Service slow and detached, food ill prepared (fries were undercooked and greasy).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.