We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoodsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunrise Motel
Save
You added Sunrise Motel to your Saves list
24520 Hwy. 101, Hoodsport, WA 98548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hoodsport
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
“Scuba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 to take a scuba open water class, the closeness of the room to the water helped to alleviate some of my scuba anxiety. Also, between lessons we were able to go to our room and warm up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Sunrise Motel is in a great location right on the water in Hoodsport. Do not expect luxury; it is rather funky in decor.

We like to kayak, swim (yes, the water is warmer in this canal), and just sit on the deck eating barbequed oysters fresh out of the water. Sitting in bed looking out across the moonlit canal is why we come here.

Room Tip: Room 10 is at the end on top floor, so has unobstructed view. There is also an apartment with two sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are now entering our 8th year of vacationing in Hoodsport, Washington and staying at the Sunrise Motel. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and the view is spectacular. Thy have all types of activities going on like: fishing, crabing, picking up oysters and cooking them on the spot. This place is people friendly. I look forward every year to our trip to Hoodsport, and staying at the Sunrise Motel. Frank and Sally (owners) are such welcoming people. Staying at the Sunrise Motel is like staying with family.

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 10 for the past 6 years. It is perfect for my wife and I .We have parking righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
711 reviews 711 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The sign reads "Sunrise Motel and Diving Resort". Maybe it should read "Sunrise Divers Heaven". We booked for two nights but only stayed one. 30 years ago we would have loved this! Great dive camp! Right on the Hood Canal bank, diving classes take place there and while we stayed there, there were crab pots around and equipment for processing your catch. A group BBQ area, boat docks. The people outside were enjoying themselves. But indoor outdoor carpet, and the front bedroom having about 18" clearance to the wall took me aback. As a double queen at $69.50, it's super for two divers! We took the back bedroom, with a door onto the shared balcony. Our sheets were threadbare to a having a hole, I didn't shower there, Vern said the water was good, smallish, but he's 6'3". So, if you're a diver, this is for you. If you're traveling retired you may want to choose another location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This motel was an overnight stop for us. The best thing about it is the waterfront view from the back (shared) deck. A perfect place to sit and drink a cold beer. The room itself was ok. We had two queen sized beds in a good sized clean room. The bathroom was small and the shower only adequate. It is right on the highway so lots of traffic noise but the traffic was at a minimum overnight. The windows don't open and because of the shared open deck leaving the back door open wasn't an option so it was stuffy and hot for sleeping. There is a coffee maker but no cups and the fridge froze everything. This place could use an update.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Man this place was great for some of the activities that can happen around it. I don't know of too many places where you can go crabbing, moor your vessel, cook up your catch, and hit the hot tub for under a $100.00 a night. I don't mind an old school 60's style room when it's clean like it is there. The owner was onsite and nice enough to have some oysters cooking from his beach. I took the family for an over nighter and wished we could have stayed for a few. I enjoy camping with the best of them. Staying here was so much nicer than camping on the Hood Canal and actually way more restful. I absolutely recommend this place!

Room Tip: It could be cheaper if you're going to stay a few days that you might want to get a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Service was not all that great....bath tub was leaking every time you flush the toilet. Hotel room, kitchenette, stove and other appliances were outdated for the price. Did not cater to all customers equally; remarks/comments from the owner Frank were at times condesending. The charges for extra family members were unreasonable. I can see if this was a four or five star hotel, but the rooms/carpets had molds and mildew.

Room Tip: special needs accommodations are not accessible;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Address: 24520 Hwy. 101, Hoodsport, WA 98548
Location: United States > Washington > Hoodsport
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hoodsport
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.