We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had A Wonderful Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Log Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenbank
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Log Cottages
Save
You added Guest House Log Cottages to your Saves list
24371 State Route 525, Whidbey Island, Greenbank, Whidbey Island, WA 98253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Greenbank B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“We had A Wonderful Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2005

We stayed with Guest House Cottages in Aug. The weather was perfect! Whidbey Island is Beautiful, with lots of Salt water parks, and fun little towns too!
Guest House was our home away from home for One Great week.We loved it!
We stayed in the Farm Guest Cottage. After sight seeing, we came back and had a wonderful BBQ on the deck, ( with local Loganberry Wine). Went swimming in the pool. Rested our weary feet from hiking in the Hot Tub under the stars.
Our cottage had a nice big private jacuzzi tub on the deck. Our Cottage was not one of the log ones, but very nice too, with knotty pine inside, Queen bed and little kitchen and another jacuzzi tub in the bathroom.Breakfast was fine and we loved the privacy
ps. the Dvds were a nice touch too.
We enjoyed staying at Guest House and will return when we can.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

These are the cutest cabins in a really neat forested spot! We stayed in 2002, but I do have great memories of just about everything.

The exceptions are:

Yes, the sheets kept popping off that darned feather bed all night long! We did enjoy the bed, just not the elastic from the sheets hitting us in the nose. Perhaps a more reasonable solution for management would be to purchase sheets made for extra deep matresses. That way guests could enjoy the featherbed and the linens simultaneously. :-)

At the time, there were many signs, notes, etc throughout the cabin detailing what not to do. There were several duplicates, which made it seem a bit uninviting. Having said that, the requests were all reasonable and understandable, so we had no problem complying.

Please don't take this as negative, the place is great. We had a nice continental breakfast left in the fridge and the ability to cook anything we wanted to buy in the nice kitchen. The seting and scenery were great. And they really are LOG cabins--very northwest-y!

  • Stayed December 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

I have been returning to the Guest House for over twenty years, and enjoyed every moment of it. I enjoy staying in the various cottages, Emma Jane ,and the Kentucky, and always enjoy the Hansel and Grettle cabin with the loft, and when the occasion afords it ,i especially love the Lodge, with the spaciousness and views on the pond.It is a real pleasure to awake in the morning,after a plush and comfortable rest, in the forrests, and hear the birds singing and the chipmonks ,rabbits and squirrels starting their day, with the ocassional deer passing by.I will be visiting again in the fall for the fall colors and the seasonal beauty, many times there has been major salmon runs and i always enjoy the fresh shrimp, and dungeoness crabs, from the local fisherman, depending on tides ,i have gotten excellent steamer clams etc. what a bounty of the best that nature offers! I would highly reccomend a visit, to the Guest House, to anyone seeking a relaxing stay in the forrest of Whidbey island.

Stayed August 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2005

Well how to start a review about a place which has become closer and closer to the heart through out the years? First time we had joined "Guest House Log Cottages" (GHLC) was during our honeymoon in 1998 - based on a friends recommendation. Since 1998 we had joined GHLC already 4 times - always in different cottages - last time in 2004. And it is for us a pretty long (and cost intensive) journey to get there because we are coming over from Germany.
For us, as we had fall in love with the northwest pacific region, GHLC is always the final section of our "Road trips" and arriving there feels a little like entering a little "magic kingdom" of its own. Located in deep of the forrest beeing totally for yourself if you want to. The complete setting of the cottages is done with so much love to detail that you often find yourself in reading in old books or exploring other things within or outside the cottages. For people who like antique stuff combined with a high level of comford and wondefull build cottages this is the place to be. Also the GHLC "crew" is absolute great, they really care about their guests without beeing "visible". During our four stays there we never had any point of critics for anything (just the other way around). And this is the reason why we always come back. It is a close to fairy-tale atomsphere with a 100% relax guarantee - just the place to be!
....we will be back in 2006!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

I've been to a few other B&B's but the Guest House is one I keep comming back to. Over the years we have stayed in just about all the units. The lodge is by far my favorite because of the deck overlooking the pond and many other places to relax and not feel too cramped. The cottages and cabins are smaller but all the units have the spa tubs with all the amenities. The fridge is always stocked with the basics and pastries are always tasty with the fresh brewed coffee. We have swam in the pool (I think it might be the only B&B on the Island with one) during the warmer part of summer. There is also a hot tub that was about 102 degrees with jets for my sore back and feet. The people are friendly and went out of the way to make the visit quiet and peaceful.
The Island has many great pleaces to visit but one of my favorites is Ft. Casey. Check out a picture I took when leaving there.
http://scottmartinezphotography.com/misc/dsc_6802.jpg
The sunset was great that night!
-Scott

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2005

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon. We've been to many B&B's, so had certain expectations. The location was beautiful, the setting secluded, private, romantic, peaceful. The log cottage was cute and wonderfully decorated with all sorts of interesting antiques. There were many magazines and books to browse... however...

The bed was terribly lumpy and uncomfortable. The sheets didn't fit properly and kept popping off the mattress all night. The entire cabin was very dark, even with all the lamps, it was difficult to read. There was a TV in the living room with a DVD player, but the couch was on the far side of the room and you couldn't see the TV well. The couch seemed to have seen better days, since when you sat on it you sank way too far - the board that someone had placed under the cushions didn't seem to help this much.

Here's what really got me though - this is a B&B. Bed AND Breakfast. We knew that we would be preparing our own breakfast, but we expected the kitchen to be stocked with some of the things you need to prepare a decent meal. All we were left with was dry doughnuts, frozen Costco muffins, a pint of milk, and some odds and ends. For $225 per night, I expected MUCH MORE.

We have been to B&B's for half the price, and have been served fabulous 3 course breakfasts. In fact, we spent the 2nd half of our honeymoon in Victoria BC, at Amore by the Sea, and wish we had spent our entire week there instead.

Here's my suggestion to management - either drop the price a bunch and stop calling it a B&B, or provide some decent fixin's for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager / partial owner at Guest House Log Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2005
Dear Former Guests,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

If you had let me know during your two day stay that anything was not to your liking, we would have been most happy to accomadate your needs.
We would do everything to make you Happy and have a enjoyable stay with us. If we still didnt fulfill your needs I would help you find a place that does and refund your money.

I want all of our Guests Enjoying Their Stay with Us and Returning many times over the Years. That is why we are in business for 26 years.

The Breakfast. It seems that all the breakfast food was not found?
When you enter your cabin you will find, The table is all set for Breakfast with Domed trays, filled with, Cream Cheese Danish, Homemade cranberry scones.
In the Refridgerator , Ham and Cheese Crossionts, Orange Juice, Apple Juice, Cheese, rasberry Jam, butter, cream cheese, milk, fresh ground coffee. In the freezer section you will find Extra muffins and bagels.
In the kitchen cupbaords you will find, a box of cold ceral, hot ceral pakages, pancake mix, syrup, oatmeal,cooking oil, spices, etc. drawers tinfoil, paper towels etc.
On the kitchen counter is a basket with fresh apples and cookies and popcorn.

The couch is being replaced now.

The bed has a feather and down topper on top of the mattress. I am sorry it was found uncomfortable for you. If you had let us know , we would be glad to remove for your comfort. Most people love them , but some people do not.

The lighting. The antique lamps have to have a lower watttage bulbs of 60 watts, depending on the cloth or paper shades. The other lamps should all have 75 to 100 watt bulbs.

Sometimes on a grey day in the woods it can seem dark, but most people enjoy themselves and have a nice fire in the riverstone fireplace, or a soak in the double jacuzzi tub, watch a good movie, enjoying spending time with each other , in a special place.

With Kindest Regards,
Peggy Walker
Guest House Log Cottage.com
360-678-3115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2005

This location was not a disappointment. We wanted a romantic weekend, some place quiet but still plenty to do in the surrounding area. You couldn't ask for more, the cottages a very nicely decorated, robes, chocolates on the bed, plenty of firewood and the refrigerator was stocked with so much breakfast food it was enough to feed an army. There's a pool, hot tube and all in a wooded area with plenty of wildlife. Very good restaurants close by and great sightseeing places like Deception Pass. Service excellent and very friendly. I would highly recommend Guest House Log Cottages. We'll return in the fall and try another cottage.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Log Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Log Cottages

Address: 24371 State Route 525, Whidbey Island, Greenbank, Whidbey Island, WA 98253
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Greenbank
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Greenbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Guest House Log Cottages Hotel Greenbank
Guest House Log Cottages Whidbey Island/Greenbank, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Log Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.