We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is dirty and i fested with insects and bugs.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Walsh Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grayland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walsh Motel
Save
You added Walsh Motel to your Saves list
1593 State Route 105, Grayland, WA   |  
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grayland
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is dirty and i fested with insects and bugs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying here. We were recommended by a neighbor, they gave us a heads up on our place of stay. It wasnt high end, it was just a place to lay our heads. We were in the oceanfront units and found that it was infested with centipedes, ants and slugs. We had no other choices since it everything around town was booked. We stayed till our last day. If i had to go back to grayland for digs, i dont recommend this place, i would rather stay in westport.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattaroy, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was the second time staying here, the first time we stayed in the adult rooms (dated but ok) and this second time we stayed in the cabins. I knew what to expect with the dated décor but I wasn't ready for the gross factor of the cabin!!! I'm not overacting at all either, the walls had 'yellow stuff' on them I could only compare it to mucus. Dirty dishes in the washer, dog hair on my daughters sheets, and a over all grime on faucets, light switches, broken mirror etc... I'm really not a neat freak but just the absolute lack of care that was put into cleaning the cabin was sad. My advice if your still planning to stay here bring your own cleaning supplies and lower your standards. Think about it if Walsh Motel doesn't have any pictures of the inside of the cabins maybe its for a reason!

Room Tip: Find another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Again a good stay at The Walsh. The rooms could use a little upgrading, but they are clean and the linens are white & fluffy and the beds are comfortable. The view is wonderful. Jason & Katie are excellent managers, friendly and helpful.
Beach access is easy. Balconies have two chairs & a table and are fairly roomy to sit and watch the birds, clouds, waves, etc.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a 2nd floor room; the corner ones are the best. Some have jacuzzi tubs; some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great place to stay when you want easy beach access and no kids running down the halls. We enjoy it because it is only a short walk through the grasses to a beautiful beach, and the views from the rooms are nice on the top floor. Jason & Katie are great hosts and always ready to help. Our coffee maker went out and Jason was there with a replacement within a few minutes. Wonderful young couple. There were 3 of us this trip and having two vanities made it easy to all get ready at once. Full refrigerator in our unit and oven/range so just like home.

Room Tip: Unit 21 is great for 3-4 people with a Queen Size Murphy bed in the living room and King in the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Given that the website doesn't have many photos, and you have to make your reservation over the phone, we were expecting old and funky but hoping for charm. It was just as we expected. The man we made the reservation with was super nice on the phone, gave us a description of the rooms he had and recommended the best one. We stayed in 26, which had a kitchen, jacuzzi bath, and a wood-burning fireplace. After reading other reviews, and looking at the property, I would recommend the top floor rooms in the hotel part. The cabins were far from the beach and didn't look so great. However, they allow kids and dogs, so if you're looking for a budget family trip they might fit the bill. Also, you only get the ocean view on the top floor of the hotel, not the bottom floor.

The lady at the front desk was really nice and laid back at check in.The room and kitchen were very clean, and everything was in working order. The kitchen was well stocked, but if you are planning on doing some cooking you may want to bring some essential tools just in case. It sounds like some of the kitchen utensils are hit and miss in the rooms and cabins. Also make sure to bring cooking oil, spices, etc. There is salt and pepper but that's it. We brought a few things but only ended up being glad we brought our measuring spoons and measuring cups.

The room could definitely use some TLC--a little superglue and some updated bedding, but it worked well. The only complaint I have was that the bed was pretty old and creaky. My back wasn't very happy and it would have been difficult to sleep in it more than two nights. If I was to give the owners some suggestions on upgrades, I'd put new mattresses at number one, followed by down comforters instead of the old bedspreads, and DVD players for the TVs. Other than that the decor could use an update, but it's not essential. I think the coffee maker was also from about 1984, but it worked just fine.

There aren't many options in Grayland, but this is a good one. Great place to go clamming if that's your thing--there is a clam sink downstairs for cleaning shellfish and the beach is right in front of the hotel. We had a very relaxing time--we made some oyster stew with oysters from Brady's Oysters down the way, tasted the cranberry wine at the winery, walked around Westport, had a nice dinner at Bennetts down the road, took a look at the cranberry bogs, and walked on the beach. At night we watched spooky movies with only the light of the fireplace. Great fall getaway. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms in the hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Walsh Motel has newer beach front room that are clean and fresh. The upper floor have a great view of the ocean. Some has full kitchens and fireplaces. I watched the sunset from the balcony or you can watch form the comfort of the room.

Room Tip: Take the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The room smelt like mold so bad that it was gard to breath, fridge smelt like rotten seafood, stains on bedding, very old an didn't feel clean, main office smelt like dirty cat box. Overall not a nice stay. Will not ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabins aren't as bad as rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walsh Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walsh Motel

Address: 1593 State Route 105, Grayland, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Grayland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grayland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walsh Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.