We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast

Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast
9253 Cornell Creek Rd, Glacier, WA 98244   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Glacier B&B and Inns
St. Francis Bay, null, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The only place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed with Bill and Michelle for a month this year and I can honestly say it was the time of my life. Not only did I get amazing snow on the mountain but I got to come home to a cozy, warm, beautiful 5 acre property with horses and a view of Mt. Baker. The rooms are clean, comforable and in the style of horse ranch meets mountain, the sauna after a long day is to die for (complete with cd player inside), and Bill's breakfasts in the morning are world class (go for the eggs benedict, it's my favorite). But most of all Bill and Michelle made me feel like I was part of the family. I'll never stay any other place while visiting Glacier and the Mt Baker ski area. You can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I just spent two nights at Winter Creek. The house is well set up for guests since there is a private entrance for the two rooms and the large living space they share. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. In the morning, Bill and Michelle prepare complete, tasty breakfasts (to your order) while they share hiking suggestions. Not having to share the bathroom would have been preferable but all four of us tried to be thoughtful about sharing the bath. Overall, I thought it was a great value and I'd definitely return for more excellent fall hiking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very clean and well appointed bed and breakfast with very friendly hosts Bill and Michelle. Great location for Mount Baker and close to amenities in Glacier, WA. The breakfast couldn't be better - very well prepared and cooked as requested. The rooms are at the lower level of a house overlooking Mount Baker. There is a common living room with fireplace, couch, some games and a small table. There is a dry sauna in the bathroom. Thing to note is that there is only one bathroom shared between two rooms and the sauna is inside the bathroom, so some usage planning is necessary. The only complaint we could have is a squeaky bed, but when you get used to it, it is fine. Definitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Bill and Michelle are the consummate hosts, providing direction on great locals only hikes and sights to see. Breakfast is prepared by Bill and best of all they allow pets - yet their guest rooms are spotless with no hints of other dogs being present. If you leave your best friend at home their rotund pointer Annie is a total sweetheart and will keep your feet warm, if you so request, while you lounge in front of the fireplace.

For snowsliders Winter Creek's groundskeeper is a backcountry guru and can take intermediate and above riders and skiers on some of the best powder days that you'll ever experience. In summer that activity turns to mountain biking.

We've stayed at Winter Creel several times and cannot recommend them highly enough. The vibe is great and the value is solid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This B&B is nicely appointed and the folks running it are very friendly. Breakfasts were great. Since there's only 2 rooms, you can't bring a big group, but it was perfect for my wife and one other couple. The rooms are cozy and the living room with fireplace is a nice touch. Their dog and cats are friendly, but not overly intrusive.

There's a good Italian restaurant named Milano's in Glacier run by some native Italians and we also ate a Pizza/Micro Brew/Wedding Chapel place west of glacier (10-15 min west). If you go to Milanos, get the mussels appetizer in the brandy cream sauce...very, very good.

There's a ranger station just east of Glacier and just a little further is a good 3 mile track down the Nooksack River. Nooksack Falls is nearby as well, which is a good view. Mount Baker is a short drive away.

The only things I didn't care for was 1. cash only, considering you can only withdraw $100/day at the local ATMs (they plan to take cards soon I'm told) and 2. the wireless internet did not work the entire time (although this wasn't a big deal, would have liked to check in early for flights at least). I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9253 Cornell Creek Rd, Glacier, WA 98244
Location: United States > Washington > Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glacier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Winter Creek Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list