We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice off-the-beaten path place in Gig Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marketplace Gourmet Deli

Marketplace Gourmet Deli
8825 N Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98332
(253) 858-3487
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 105 Restaurants in Gig Harbor
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice off-the-beaten path place in Gig Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We ended our day on the Kitsap Peninsula here. We like to try the more unusual, local places instead of the chain restaurants. They have a wonderful view of the harbor from their small dining room. Food was very good, everything was fresh and well prepared. Shrimp salad with fresh fruit was excellent. Prices for entrees seemed a bit high, but others were more moderate. Service was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quick meal but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

View of harbor from inside restaurant. I would have liked outdoor seating overlooking harbor..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food at Reasonable Prices and the View is Good too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I had lunch there earlier this week. She had the Salmon salad and I had a Northwest Omelette (Salmon & Havarti). Both were good. There were actually quite a few items on the menu that looked good. I am sure we will be back to try some of them.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had never been to Gig Harbor but the Trip Advisor reviews sent us to the Marketplace Grille. (It is NOT named the "Marketplace Gourmet Deli" but perhaps was once.) It's located right on the water and we had a wonderful view. We were in a tiny room and it felt very homey and special. We were not expecting FAST service ... it's a family restaurant and everything is cooked up fresh. We had delicious (perfectly) grilled halibut sandwiches. Everything was clean and pleasant. It IS an old facility but that adds to it's charms. We would DEFINITELY go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had eaten at Anthony's next door the night before and had a good experience. So, we tried the Marketplace Gourmet Deli for lunch the next day. It was the worst experience we've had at a restaurant in our 37 year marriage. Forty minutes for a turkey & cheese sandwich. Instead of a standard cold sandwich like we ordered, it was a turkey & cheese melt with burnt bread that had pieces of ham in it. The restaurant is old and dirty, the service terrible. These people know nothing about running a restaurant. The previous reviews giving five stars had to be either the owners themselfs or friends of the owners. Anyone that has ever eaten in good restaurants would never give a rating higher than one star for the Marketplace Gourmet Deli. We would have given a rating of zero stars, but that's not an option on this review site. STAY AWAY.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marketplace Gourmet Deli also viewed

 

Been to Marketplace Gourmet Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marketplace Gourmet Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.