We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude to deaf!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Tavern

Tides Tavern
2925 Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98335-1910
+1 253-858-3982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 105 Restaurants in Gig Harbor
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The building that today houses the Tides Tavern was built by Axel Uddenberg in 1910 and served the area as a general store. Located next to the "People's Dock," the town's only public ferry landing, it was called the West Side Mercantile. From that time until the present it has had a series of owners and has been several businesses. Run down and in a state of disrepair, the building was bought by Peter Stanley in 1973. After an extensive and ambitious rebuilding project, the Tides opened it's doors to the public on Saturday June 2, 1973. The Tides Tavern offers the greatest house-made food and finest beverages in the western hemisphere, but only to persons over 21 years of age. Please be prepared to show I.D.
Puyallup
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude to deaf!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

They don't respect deaf people and people who want that table so waitress asked us move over another table block from view. I was upset and we left and still pitcher beer and foods on table and I pay for and manager said no no I told him get pay that's it we left. This Tides Tavern Sucks! No respect to deaf people!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    118
    41
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best to go when it's not too busy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Parking close can be tough on a warm summer's day around meal time. As nearby residents, we go to the Tides a few times each year; usually when we have out-of-town guests and we want to show them the harbor. It's great to sit out on the deck with a cold one and watch the boats.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very nice views of the water. Great selection of micro brews. Food is OK. Remember no kids allowed at any time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Local Hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have gone to Tides for drinks & snacks, lunch, and breakfast. This is a great local hangout with a super outdoor deck and waterfront seating. Not a gourmet restaurant, but great pub food and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reputation not warranted!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Tides Tavern was for years the place to go in Gig Harbor probably because it was a true bar with cheap food, cold beer, and all you could eat peanuts; all you had to do was shuck 'em and toss 'em on the floor. That is long gone. The docks were fixed up and it then became the 'in place' to tie up your boat on a summers evening with friends and spend an enjoyable time on the dock in Gig Harbor. Now it's just crowded and expensive if you can find a place to tie up! The menu is extremely expensive and just average in quality and quantity. Often the wait staff is 'testy' and over worked. The ambiance is gone and it is now just an expensive over rated bar on the water in Gig Harbor. In my opinion there are much better places with better prices, 'Happy Hours' and ambiance on the water in Gig Harbor for the money!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tides Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.