We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timbuktu Java Bar and Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Timbuktu Java Bar and Cafe
18205 State Rt 525, Freeland, WA 98249, Freeland, Whidbey Island, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Freeland
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Eclectic
Restaurant details
Freeland, Washington
1 review
“warm and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

after a hard workout at the Athletic Club I head over to Timbuktu to join my friends for a cup of coffee, I am always tempted by the wonderful smells that come from their kitchen. I can attest to what people are saying of their Frittata's, very good. They have soups and other baked goodies as well.
I give this place high marks.
June from Kristfield's bed and breakfast

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Frittata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have had their frittata a number of times. The ingredients vary from day to day. Good prices and good food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on Whidbey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Excellent gluten-free food on Whidbey Island! We recommend Laura's frittata – vegan or sausage – and Chris's chicken and rice, and his chili. Then pick up a delicious baked sweet or a smoothie. Colorful, cozy, artsy atmosphere, more modern than you'd expect for the location. Give these friendly people your business and keep gluten free for us on South Whidbey! From T&L

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Really tasty homemade frittatas, nice selection of gluten free items. Just a nice place to eat and drink handmade food. Good coffee as well!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Artistic, colorful, and delicious! Great for gluten free or veggies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When you walk in the artistic touches stand out, like the menu on the huge gilt frame chalk board, the huge leather armchair, the icicle lights cascading down from the ceiling, and the red and rustic adobe color of the walls. Then the multiple dessert dishes appear with many gluten free choices, all mouthwatering delicious. I love the oatmeal chocolate bars and the jam filled scones. Also the cookies are really good heated for a few seconds, which owner Chris is glad to do.
The food is excellent: frittatas (an egg-based dish similar to an omelette or quiche) veggie or with sausage, and I had an amazing sweet potato enchilada with spanish rice. They still serve Panache Coffee as drip; espresso is Intelligentsia Black Cat Espresso from San Fransisco, clearly a well crafted roast, but the jury is out for me on the taste compared to Panache.

The wifi is fast, the service good, the food is excellent, and you could not find a better place to read the paper, satisfy your hunger quickly and nutritiously, and have a nice cup of coffee here in Freeland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Java Bar and Cafe also viewed

Freeland, Whidbey Island
 
Freeland, Whidbey Island
Freeland, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Timbuktu Java Bar and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbuktu Java Bar and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.