We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoh Humm Ranch Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoh Humm Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hoh Humm Ranch Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
171763 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Forks B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A great place for the (young) kids. We went when our son was 3 and he loved every minute: the huge farm breakfast at one big table in the kitchen, the tour to see the llamas and horses and cows and chickens and ducks and... Very friendly owners, clean and comfortable place. The first floor is not tidy, but this beats any place where you have to tell kids, "Don't touch!"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can you imagine having your grandparent's farm house right in the heart of a national park? We just felt the same staying here.

It's a ranch, right beside the ONP rainforest. The ranch is quite old, with lots of pets - dogs, cats, hens, sheep, cows and what not. The owners stay in the 1st level and the upper levels are for guests. Our room on the 2nd floor had a large balcony facing the mountain and valley. The view was quite breathtaking! We reached there around evening , right after sunset. After dumping our backpack in, we decided to take a walk in the ranch. Soon, as darkness embraced, it started getting cold. We saw people lighting up old tree trunks which served as a warm and enjoyable bonfire. The hosts are very friendly. We enjoyed the warm home-made breakfast with all other guests in a big table. It was fun! It was like a family get-together with old granny and grandpa.

The only downside is that you will have to share the same bathroom and won't be able to lock your rooms from outside. But I guess it's part of the experience that you get when you living as a big family in your grandparent's big house. In short, an unique experience, great value and perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

In short, an excellent place to stay. Will come back here again if we visit ONP.

Last summer, we decided to visit Olympic NP on a weekend, and since this was at the last moment, had few choices to stay within the NP area. HHR was one. We drove up one weekend from PDX to Astoria and up along the coast to ONP. HHR was difficult to locate in the dark, so try to arrive while there is light, even though the ranch is right there on the road.

It is a great great place, if you do not mind sharing the bathroom with fellow travelers. And if you do not mind pets (dogs, cats, ducks, all sorts). The owners stay in the ground level. Upstairs rooms of the old ranch house is rented out. There is not even a key that you will be given, since the philosophy is that all the guests are one big family. We had a room facing the mountains in the distance, the scene in the morning was breathtakingly beautiful. We wandered out in the ranch in the evening, and even when it was dark as they were lighting up masts of trees which needed to be burnt down. It was a great bonfire. The people who had camped in the open ranch as well as we who had joined from the ranchhouse had a good time.

Breakfast is home-cooked, great food - all guests and owners sit in a large table and pass around the food, share stories. Met good people. Heard from our table mates that they come down every year from Seattle and have never been dissapointed. Heartily recommended. Just dont be finicky with cleanliness, orderliness, etc - this is your cozy, disheveled uncle/auntie's house who are great friendly people to stay with in the beautiful Pacific NW.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the very homey HHR. Solid food, good beds and a spectacular view to the National Forest. Plenty of animals, and some might think too many. The dogs run around in the living room (full of art and junk and a non-stop television) and kitchen with the owner's dog being polite while the other dogs helped themselves to scraps in the rather messy kitchen. It was very hohumm, as the place really needed a caring hand. Really nice folks with great advice on how to get the most of Forks and the rainforest, but if you are looking for a quiet, clean place, you might want to look further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A great experience at the Hoh Humm. The hosts are friendly! The rooms and bathrooms were very clean & safe. The main living area (where the breakfast is served) is quite cluttered and dirty and the hosts' animals seem to have free reign of the whole house. This is a great location for a vacation out to the Peninsula as it is short driving distance to the Hoh, Lake Quinalt, Ruby Beach, etc. It is a great place for the value - slept well and felt clean after my shower - what else do you need for $45?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongerige wolf
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This farm stole my heart. I like travelling small and simple. Maybe because I'm from Europe, but I liked the atmosphere here. It feld a little like staying at some forgotten uncle in the states.
We slept not too well. Our neighbour decided to change the room during the night ...........
Anyway the breakfast was very large. We thought they cooked it for a baseballteam that didn't show up.
I certainly would come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place won't be for everyone. It is very basic in accommodation with adequate sized bedrooms and shared bathrooms. If you are expecting a 4 star hotel then you shouldn't stay here. The owner/operators are very friendly.

The other reviews I read were quite accurate in their descriptions so I won't rehash the same info.

There was another couple staying over during our visit and they seemed quite pleased with the overall value of the accommodation.

BTW - while the address indicates it is located in Forks, the B&B is actually 20 miles south (and 10 miles beyond the Hoh rainforest NP entrance.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoh Humm Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoh Humm Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 171763 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Forks
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hoh Humm Ranch Bed And Breakfast
Hoh Humm Ranch Hotel Forks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoh Humm Ranch Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.