We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - misty, chilly, mysterious and beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalaloch Campground
Save
You added Kalaloch Campground to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   U.S. 101, Forks, WA 98331   |  
Hotel amenities
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful - misty, chilly, mysterious and beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at Kalaloch (pronounced Clay-lock) campground for 3 nights mid July and had a wonderful time. It is so breathtaking! If you are able to reserve early, be sure to get a site on the the outside of the "A" loop for larger sites and more privacy... by the time we reserved, we were only able to get A034 on the inside of the loop which was still pretty nice but not as private or scenic as others.

Sites are a good size with fire pits and picnic tables, the only major drawback that we could find for this campground was NO SHOWERS!! We knew this going into it so it wasn't a shock or dissappointment per-se, just the reason that Kalaloch gets four stars instead of five. Also, it's pretty remote. Although it's next to the highway, its 45 minutes to Forks, the nearest town.

The beach was wild and beautiful, full of pebbles and driftwood. The air throughout the campground was fresh and salty and the almost constant mist is atmospheric. Rangers came around to tell us about evening programs although we never attended (they sounded really interresting though). All in all, a really great experience.

Tip: avoid much of the "D" loop unless you enjoy listening to logging trucks mere feet from where you're sleeping. It's strangely exposed to passing traffic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed 3 nights here. The beach is as everyone says, just stunning. The weather was a little iffy, and we had a lot of rain, but it is so moody and misty there it kind of feels right to be a bit damp! The toilets were clean and had flush and potable water. No showers, though you can shower just 6 miles away. One down side for us was our site was literally next to highway 101 and very large logging trucks were hammering past the tent at 5am, so I would try and get a pitch away from the road if you have a choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We took our first trip to Washington and spent 2 nights camping at Kalaloch. We had an amazing time. The campground is beautiful and better than we imagined. We were just across the road from the beach and had the most beautiful view. Our campsite had more covering than we expected, which we were very happy about because we were alittle worried about the rain. Although we didn't need to be as we had 3 days of no rain amazingly. Although if it had rained there would have been enough covering from the trees that we would have stayed dry, at least at our site. The only downside to the place is that they do not have showers, but that's easy to get over with how beautiful and peaceful it is. The location is great and we enjoyed the nearby beaches. We would highly recommend Ruby Beach and Second Beach. Second Beach had hundreds and hundreds of starfish of all different colors. It was an amazing site. We would highly recommend this campground to anyone and we definitely will return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My wife and I just NEEDED to get away for a weekend in our new little pop-top camper. We chose this spot because of the reviews. It was worth it. Yes it rained and it was cold, but the campsite was still full! It is beautiful and the beach is so amazing. The bathrooms were basic and clean. NICE CAMPSITE.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Make sure you come during the Summer to avoid a lot of rain and know that there is a good chance that it will be overcast, foggy and damp. Nicely set up, not too close to the other campsites, pretty clean restrooms, no showers, and good programs run by park rangers. We recommend seeing the 8 PM presentations at the amphitheater each night.....interesting. Campground is close to the Kalaloch lodge so if you need any supplies or just want to eat at a restaurant or use a very clean restroom then you are about a 15 minute walk away.
Be warned, for reservations you must sign up the MINUTE they open the website. We ended up with site A004 near highway 101 and the cars and especially the timber trucks could be pretty loud at night when they went by. Although, it was not unbearable just a little annoying.
Bring your own wood for campfires as it is very expensive if you have to buy it from the lodge. Or the other option is that you are allowed to take driftwood from the beach to burn for campfires. Problem is that a lot of the driftwood is big and you also have to carry it up a somewhat steep hill.
We enjoyed our stay and recommend it to anyone who has never seen the rainforest and Pacific coast up close.
Make sure to visit Lake Quinalt and see the many world's largest tress near the lake on both North and South sides.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

I reserved three nights at the Kalaloch campground mainly because it was one of the rare opportunities to have a campsite with a gorgeous Washington ocean view. And the campground definitely delivered!
You could sit on our picnic table and watch the surf. Also there were stairs very near our site that led down to the beach.
However it is important to remember that you are in a rainforest and it is very wet, all year long. So tent camping can prove a challenge unless you're prepared for the wet conditions. Also there is not much near the campground except for the lodge so you'll need to bring in anything you need.
The bathrooms were acceptable with flush toilets but no showers. And all of the sites seemed level with lots of privacy from your neighbors in the form of lush vegetation.
Be sure to drive down and see Ruby Beach and also the largest Red Cedar Tree, which is marked on the road with a sign saying "Big Tree."

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

This campground has an incredibly scenic location on the olympic peninsula - it is just gorgeous. A few of the campsites face the beach directly, and it is worth the effort to book in advance to get one of those, for the secluded location and the views. Our campsite (I think it was E10) was not open to the beach (which was actually nice because we had some shrubs blocking the wind) but we had a tunnel through the shrubs out to a little private "terrace" on the bluffs - the perfect location for watching the sunset. The beaches here are just stunning. We also had a nice time chatting with the ranger, who was super friendly. There are no showers at the campground, but we only stayed for one night anyway.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalaloch Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Campground

Address: U.S. 101, Forks, WA 98331
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalaloch Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Campground Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaloch Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.