We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Option in Forks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   654 E. Division Street, P.O. Box 1565, Forks, WA 98331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Forks B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Option in Forks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I write this review from a point of extreme ambivalence. On the one hand, the Miller Tree Inn is a somewhat unattractive property that is plastered in Twilight memorabilia and smells like grandma's house. On the other, the welcome we received from the surrogate caretaker (Bill and Susan were on vacation) was absolutely superlative.

Pros:
The woman in charge of our reception was amazing. She was extremely friendly and professional, freely giving really useful tips on the area.

The breakfasts were really tasty, providing a wide variety of hot and cold entrees. I still dream of the apple french toast.

The little touches: lots of little snacks were available to guests at all hours. It was nice to be able to grab some cookies and hot cider after a long day of hiking. Each room also has a thoughtful selection of sodas, glassware, and cutlery.

The location: Forks itself is a dreary, downtrodden area. But if you're looking to visit the southern/western parts of ONP, this is the best option I was able to find. Driving from Port Angeles to visit the Hoh Rainforest or Lake Quinault is simply a waste of time.

Cons:
The Miller Tree Inn is an old farmhouse that has been expanded over the years. It definitely retains that feel, with lots of thin 1970s wood paneling and a cacophony of old decorations in every nook and cranny. The house has been christened one of the houses of a Twilight character, and the Inn (like nearly all of Forks) will not let you forget it. Everywhere you look, there are Twilight books, DVDs, sheet music, etc. The decor just wasn't my cup of tea, and it was a little bit musty/dusty.

So, in my mind, the Miller Tree Inn is like grandma's house with all of the pros and cons that come with it (including a really adorable cat).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Char47, Owner at Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are honored to be considered the Best (lodging) Option in Forks and are also very pleased that Jill took such good care of our guests in our absence. The Miller Tree Inn is a friendly, casual bed and breakfast, with 8 guest rooms in a three-story, 1916 farmhouse. All rooms have a private bath, TV and DVD player, small refrigerator and king bed (with the exception of Minnie with a queen). The inn is located at the eastern edge of Forks, a hard-working community of 3500 people. From here, it is a convenient drive to the Hoh Rain Forest and the wild Pacific Ocean beaches of Olympic National Park. At the inn, our main goals are to provide a good night's sleep and a hearty, sit-down breakfast to begin the day. Even though we should not be considered a 5 star property, we try our best to provide a 1st class experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    37
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
85
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself and two friends had spent the long weekend riding our motorcycles around Washington and were super excited to find this B&B and its fabulous reviews for our final night of the trip. Upon arrival, however, the lady who answered the door (not sure if she was the owner or not?) hardly seemed excited to see us at all. She (Cheryl?) looked me up and down and was like, "Can I help you?". I smiled and told her we had a booking and she responded with, "Oh?". Still looking me up and down. I felt somewhat judged in my motorcycle riding gear, as though I wasn't supposed to be there or something. Any way, we were eventually "let in" and settled in. The rooms were great and I had a wonderful night's sleep, but throughout our stay felt as though we were simply a burden on the "hostess". I enquired about restaurants in the evening and asked for local advice on other things, but nothing was met with a smile and all my questions seemed too much for her to cope with. Which was a shame, as the B&B really is lovely (gorgeous setting, fabulous beds!). I also found the price for the night (US$200 for two of us) a bit pricey for what we got -- breakfast was kinda average as well. Cheaper motels in town, I'm sure -- but this one just had such great reviews we thought we'd found a winner. Maybe we just caught Cheryl on a bad day or something, not sure. But I don't think we'll go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Char47, Owner at Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are all sad that one of our guests felt they were a burden and did not feel they were treated to smiles and excitement during their stay with us. Cheryl enjoyed their company and was quite surprised that they felt her service was unsatisfactory. She has been our innsitter for 6 years and has always taken good care of our guests during our absence. We are glad that they enjoyed their room and had a good night's sleep. Hopefully they will try us again sometime, perhaps during the Value Season when our rates are lower than in the summer. We also want to make it clear that we welcome everyone at the Miller Tree Inn, whether they arrive by car, truck, bus, taxi, motorcycle, bicycle or on foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here overnight the last week of August 2013 as a part of a road trip around the National Parks in WA. Bill and Susan were very friendly and accommodating and made sure each guest had everything they needed. We brought along our 4 year old on this trip and he had a fun time too. Our room was on the ground floor so we had to be extra quiet and sensitive to the other guests because our son can get loud at times. Breakfast was awesome too.

I would love to come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms look like but we stayed at a bigger room (orchard suite) which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Whether or not you've read/watched the Twilight saga, a couple of days touring this part of Washington state will be memorable. The hosts at Miller Tree Inn are wonderful and a restful stop-over is guaranteed. If you are a Twilight fan, I can only assume that you will be thrilled by the scenic backdrop. If you aren't, you will still love the scenery; just be prepared for the fans armed with cameras taking pics of your B&B! Great place to stay; as one previous reviewer commented, perhaps certain rooms could use a bit of a makeover. However, this will not detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at B&Bs in the US and Europe. This is one of the best. The hosts are gracious: attentive, but not intrusive. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms are clean and charming. We make it a point to visit about once a year and are always more than satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent one night here on our trip around ONP, and we are glad we did. Our family of four stayed in the Elk view room which was clean and spacious. Our teenage daughters are "Twilight" fans, but that was secondary to our decision to stay here. After reading other reviews on TA about MIller Tree Inn and doing research on other options in Forks, it became clear that this was the place to stay, and we were not disappointed. The owners are very nice and more than happy to give advice on restaurants and activities in the area. They served a delicious breakfast of orange french toast (yum!) the morning we were there. The Inn is in a quiet area off the main drag and in the late afternoon, elk can sometimes be seen grazing in the fields nearby. We stayed in Forks mainly to go to the beaches in and near La Push, Rialto Beach and Second Beach. Great tide pooling at Second Beach during low tide.... so many sea stars!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Forks is not the type of place where one can find decent hotels. Miller Tree Inn is by far the best option in this town. Bill and Susan are extremely friendly and can advice about activities and neighbourhood places to visit. Morning breakfast was excellent. This place was conveniently located to visit both ends of Olympic park, we could go to Lake Crescent and Lake Quinalt area and different beaches along the coast in 30-90 min.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 654 E. Division Street, P.O. Box 1565, Forks, WA 98331
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story 1916 farm house, located on the edge of town. 8 guest rooms each have a private bath, TV/DVD player and free WiFi access. 3 of these rooms have a whirlpool tub and gas fireplace. A full, hot, sit-down breakfast is included in the room rates. The inn serves as a base to explore the west side of Olympic National Park, including the Hoh Rain Forest (45 minutes away) and the Pacific Ocean at LaPush and Rialto Beach (20 minutes away). Recently, it has become a stand-in for the Cullen House, on tours exploring sites mentioned in Stephenie Meyers' "Twilight" book saga. However, our inn looks nothing like the Hollywood version, which is located in Portland, OR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Tree Hotel Forks
Miller Tree Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.