We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic and isolated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kalaloch Lodge to your Saves list
Kalaloch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
GreenLeadersGold level
hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“historic and isolated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The main lodge building is an historic lodge but you will be very lucky to book a room there. After that, the alternatives are various much newer cabins spread around the grounds. If our cabin was anything to go by, they are quite cramped with little storage space. A number of the cabins have limited views of the Pacific Ocean but other are set-back with no view at all. The location is so isolated that there is no wi-fi or television so your entertainment options are very limited. The restaurant took a reservation and the food served was plentiful and good quality. The best part of any stay is the walk on the beach with more driftwood than I could believe existed.

Room Tip: try to ensure your cabin has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize if you faced any difficulties with your cabin. We want our guests to enjoy our wonderful location, and we are happy you got to experience some of the beauty Kalaloch has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    183
    45
    16
    15
See reviews for
159
241
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Kalaloch Lodge is located at the Olympic National Park. From our room we had a view on the Pacific Ocean. It's a quiet place, but with much guests. There is no television nor internet, so that you really have the Nature-experience. Food is good and Organic.
On our request they brought immediatly a microwave to our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Our location is something we are very proud of and we love hearing that our guests enjoyed it as much as we do. Come visit again for another adventurous stay at Kalaloch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We only stopped for lunch but are thinking of staying in one of the cabins. They looked inviting and clean. Tia was our waitress she was friendly and very professional. We would ask for her section when we return. The food was fantastic.

Room Tip: Most of the cabins have a nice view. They look clean. We enjoyed our beach walk. You can walk quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re glad you got to enjoy our renowned restaurant, and are looking forward to a longer visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we spent three nights at their cabin, its great, we brought some groceries with us and cooked for breakfast. The log cabin is so comfortable and has GREAT view of the ocean. Very convenient location the park just so gorgeous!
I was going to book the main house but so glad I booked cabin. .. the cabin is quiet, very private and very clean! Bedding smelled very fresh and we enjoyed every thing except the lodge's restaurant. The avg $30 meal per person (just main course nothing else) was tasteless (I am very easy to pleased by any standard), I can safely say it was the worst restaurant I have ever been. The waitress did not even bother checking or asking how is everything, I guess she heard enough of complains.
When we were there, the lodge was changing the management. I hope the food tasted better now. I would give 5 stars if the restaurant was better.
I really loved the place and will go back, but really hope the restaurant has improved since last year..

Room Tip: Cabin is much better than main house. Make sure it has private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Kalaloch, we’re sorry if you faced any inconveniences in our restaurant. Our goal is to provide the perfect experience for every guest and we will be sure to discuss your comments with our team. We are looking forward to your next visit to Kalaloch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Becker's Suite for two nights to celebrate his birthday. Check in was organized and friendly, the view of beach and ocean is tremendous. We stayed in the Becker's Suite which i would recommend. It had the expansive ocean view and was just upstairs in the lodge, on the corner towards the cabins, views to the south and west. The restaurant is much better than the food at Quinault Lodge; we were very pleased. The chef makes the effort to source local and fresh, wines are predominantly from WA, even local craft spirits were featured. Many of the items on the menu can be prepared Gluten Free, including pastas, sandwiches, and burgers, which is very progressive compared to the other dining options in the region. Service from housekeeping, front desk, bar, and dining room was consistently authentically warm, friendly and professional. If the sleeping/living room area of the suite hadn't been so very dated I'd have given this review five stars. Note: while the sleeping/living area is in great need of new carpet and furnishings the bathroom was new and immaculate and the bed was new and very comfortable. LCD TV was a nice option late in the evening when the view goes away. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Upstairs either of the two suites in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions. It is great to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the amazing things Kalaloch has to offer. We appreciate your kind reviews of our team, and we can’t wait to see you again on your next trip to Kalaloch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an enjoyable return stay at the Kalaloch Lodge. We stayed for two nights five years ago, but due to our trip schedule, we limited our stay this time to one night. Yes, other reviews have assessed this lodge fairly. We knew by returning this time, it was a way station between Lake Quinault and Lake Crescent, WA. However, we thought the new management there had done a good job improving the meals and maintaining a friendly atmosphere. We stayed at the motel-like "Seacrest" unit which was perfect for a one night stay. The room was clean and functional. Of course, there's no TV and Internet. That's a good thing to enjoy the rustic nature and beauty of the Washington coast. The evening meal was tasty. We ordered fish and chips because that is what we had five years ago. The meal was much better this time. Overall, one must consider the remoteness of this lodge and expect higher prices for accommodations which might be cheaper elsewhere. The proximity to the beach and overall setting are the reasons we returned. The effort to improve our stay from five years ago is apparent. I wish the Kalaloch staff well as they endeavor to maintain this nice lodge in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the cabins if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We love to hear that guests are return visitors, and even more that they embraced the rustic atmosphere of the lodge. Thank you for your kind remarks and well wishes to the Kalaloch team, we hope to see you for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Are you expecting the Four Seasons? If so, look elsewhere. But, if you've read the reviews, you know what to expect. We stayed in bluff cabin. Was it spotless? No. Was the bathroom functional? Yes, for the most part. Are the views fantastic? Absolutely. Is it isolated and quiet? Yes. Is the hotel staff helpful and friendly? Yes. They brought outdoor chairs for us and extra towels every day. Was it worth it? No doubt.

The restaurant is a different story. I don't know if its run by a different company or what, but as competent as the hotel staff was, the restaurant staff was just the opposite. Just get carry out from there. It's not worth the wait. The food is fine, but you could wait ignored at a table for an hour. The service at the restaurant blows.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are extremely sorry if you had to deal with any issues involving our restaurant. We strive for guest satisfaction with every visit, and we will be sure to discuss your comments and recommendations. We’re glad you enjoyed your bluff cabin, and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Address: 157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaloch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.