We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kalaloch Lodge to your Saves list
Kalaloch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 Kalaloch Cabins
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's all in the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice-stayed in hotel and cottages. You come here for the views, to walk on undeveloped oceanfront land....seeing Nature all around you. For that alone-I gave Kala Loch 5 stars! The restaurant is above average-and the staff are accommodating. It's a lovely, out of the way place. Don't expect luxurious accommodations or you will be disappointed. But do expect above average service, a decent bed and cozy rooms with doors opening to some awesome scenery.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed some of the amazing views that the Kalaloch Lodge area has to offer. Our team appreciates your kind remarks, and we hope you come again for another amazing visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    152
    41
    15
    14
See reviews for
123
189
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved our little bluff cabin with a wood burning stove and two little bunnies visiting daily to eat our lawn.

The cabin was very cute and clean. Bed was comfy and covered in a beautiful Pendleton blanket. Small fridge in room. Perfect size for two. Inside of the cabin looks like a log cabin. Bathroom was small but works. Water pressure (okay let's just call it what it was - "drizzle") was a problem. It took forever to wash soap off of hands in the sink because even on full blast the water came out in such a slight stream. There are notes in the room about conservation and low water pressure on purpose to save water but at some point a girls gotta wash her hands and if it takes five minutes (not too much of an exaggeration) to get the soap off, you're not really saving water. Cabin did seem private and we never heard our neighbors.

Hike down to the beach was a little tough. TONS of logs had washed up against the bottom of the beach stairs so we had to climb over 20 - 30 feet of logs to get from the stairs to the sand. Okay for me, not fun for my older beach loving mom who only visited the beach once because of the logs. She did love the view from the bluff cabin but I expected her to spend hours each day walking the beach and the logs made that almost impossible for her. I have heard from friends that have been going to Kalaloch Lodge annually for twenty plus years that they have never seen logs against the stairs like that - which seems amazing to me.

Food in the lodge was pricey but just okay. Gift shop was limited.

I loved some of the nearby hikes & beautiful big trees. check out the big cedar (you'll see the signs). Nearby Ruby beach was GORGEOUS!!!

Overall, I don't see why everyone else seems to love this place. It was nice but a bit overrated in my mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your experience. We are sorry if you faced any issue involving your accommodations or your beach access. We will be sure to discuss how to fix these problems to improve guests visits in the future. We hope you’ll give us another chance in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Kalaloch Lodge is situated on a lovely bluff above a beautiful beach. Unless you are in an ocean front cabin or the 2nd floor of the motel rooms it really isn't worth the price. The rooms are very average and the cabins need an update. There is very easy access to the beach and the restaurant was good. The sights in this area are awesome!

Room Tip: Choose ocean front or 2nd floor of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recommendations. We are sorry if you didn’t find everything satisfactory, but we are so glad you were able to experience some of the amazing things Kalaloch has to offer. Thanks again, and can’t wait to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here with friends in late July in a cabin. We brought our own food and cooked. The setting was incredible. I've absolutely never seen a beach like that before. The cabin was not on the first row, so we didn't have a view, but the beach was only a short walk away. If I was ever to return, I would definitely ask for an oceanfront cabin. The weather was chilly -- we wore raincoats and sweaters, but we had a great time. The only downside was the high prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is great that you were able to utilize some of the great amenities our cabins have to offer. We’re looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Kalaloch is one of our favorite places on earth. The cabins are sweet and rustic. I would give 5 stars but they'd have to do a lot better housekeeping to get that. We come here for the beach: miles of gorgeous, protected coastline. It is inside Olympic National Park. The restaurant is okay ... much better than it used to be. The cabins have kitchens or kitchenettes and are stocked with pretty much everything you need. Great hiking trails abound. Fantastic birding!

Room Tip: Call the lodge and ask about the cabins and/or rooms before you reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are sorry if you encountered any issues involving housekeeping, but I will be sure to discuss your remarks with our team. It’s always great to hear that people enjoyed the rustic atmosphere of Kalaloch Lodge. We hope you’ll make another trip in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed one night and loved our bluff cabin overlooking the beach and ocean. What an incredible view! There is easy access to the beach, the on-site restaurant and a small convenience store. The cabin had a small eat-in kitchen with mini fridge, microwave, stove, utensils, plates, bowls and glasses. There was a picnic table outside our back door and 2 chairs under a covered porch overlooking the amazing view. The bed linens and towels were high quality. We ate at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and were pleased with the food and the service. I only wish we could have stayed another night or two. I would go back and I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Kalaloch Lodge. We are so glad to hear you found the lodge’s various amenities satisfactory. We appreciate your recommendations very much and we hope to see you again for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We checked in late afternoon, and absolutely loved the quaint cabin and the stunning setting. The beach is very easily accessible from the lodge . . . down some steps, and there you are . . . rugged, beautiful, natural beach. We had a beach walk. We ate dinner at the lodge's restaurant. We then enjoyed a beautiful evening on the beach, including sunset, which corresponded to low tide. Low tide is incredible . . .probably a 300-400 yard difference between the high and low tide lines.

Tired, we settled into bed, and turned off the lights . . . and then . . . the mice came. We started hearing scampering noises, and also louder noises coming through the ceiling. My wife turned on a light to find a mouse enjoying our dog's food. We heard the rustling of plastic . . . seems they found our bag of pretzels. Finally was able to ignore the noises of the mice and fell asleep . . . but an early morning trip to the toilet revealed a dead drowned mouse in the toilet bowl . . . ewwww. I am NOT making this up . . . this is not exaggeration and not hyperbole . . . you can peruse my dozens of TripAdvisor reviews and find no other such stories.

I recognize that this is a cabin in a remote area, that might ordinarily be cause for some tolerance of little critters, but on the other hand, this was a $257 per night cabin.

I mentioned the mice to the desk employee at checkout, and received a rather nonchalant, indifferent response. At minimum, I would have expected a "sorry to hear that". Maybe better would be an offer to offset the $25 "pet fee" with a $25 "mice credit". A less tolerant guest might very well have made a major stink and demanded some sort of compensation.

So, anyway, aside from the mice, it was a rather pleasant experience. I'd probably give the place 4 or 5 stars if it weren't for the mice.

Here are a few additional notes:

(1) Pets are allowed for a $25 "pet fee". We brought our dog. She had a great time. I appreciate that they allow pets; not pleased about the fee though.
(2) Pets are allowed on the beach . . . officially they are supposed to be kept on a leash, but almost everybody with pleasant dogs lets them run loose, and it doesn't seem to bother anyone. Seems also that most "pet parents" were responsible in cleaning up after their pets.
(3) This is a pretty remote place . . . so plan ahead if you want to eat something other than the lodge's restaurant food. There is a small market on the property where you can buy a few "c=store" type items.
(4) There is no cellular service (Verizon), no Internet access, no TV, and if you hit "scan" on your car radio, it won't pick up anything.
(5) Each cabin has a small picnic table.
(6) Many of the cabins have two units under one roof. The walls between the units are thin . . . we heard conversations from our "neighbors". So advise to keep your tones low.
(7) Although the mice situation was icky, the cabins themselves seemed to be clean, and the bed linens were pure white. We saw no mice droppings.
(8) The bathroom was a bit compact . . . no tub, only a shower stall.

Anyway, I am hoping they can solve the mouse problem because we would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Kalaloch Lodge. We are extremely sorry for the inconveniences you faced with the mice. This is not acceptable and should have been taken care of immediately. I will be sure to discuss this issue with my time to assure that this problem does not arise again in the future. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you’ll give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Address: 157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaloch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.