We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm Plus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kalaloch Lodge to your Saves list
Kalaloch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
GreenLeadersGold level
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm Plus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay! Easy check-in and we went to our cabin #24 which was conveniently located with easy access to the beach and had ocean view. Room was rustic but clean and comfortable - my only complaint was that the refrigerator ran all night:-( Had to put in earplugs instead on hearing the waves. Besides that comfortable bed and loved the fireplace!

Definitely taking a walk on the beach is a must! We walked at low tide and not only had the beach to ourselves but got to save sea stars that were stranded on the sand!

There is not really any choice except their restaurant which was good but not excellent. I had the salmon even though some said to skip it. They were right. For $29 it was a small portion and very dry. My kids had the salmon burger and I must say that was really tasty!

We would definitely stay here again if we are back to this area!

Room Tip: Try to get one on the actual bluff if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent at the Kalaloch Lodge. We apologize that the noise caused you any inconvenience during your stay. We will be sure to discuss this issue with our team. We hope to be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    183
    45
    16
    15
See reviews for
159
241
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Obviously the ocean views, beaches and nearby rainforests are the reason people visit the area, yet we found the Lodge to be very comfortable, clean, and well furnished. It seems that since the new management company took over last year service has very much improved (young, eager and smiling employees).

The restaurant is quite pricey (well, it is the only place to eat on that coast, unless you want to drive to Forks!). As others have mentioned, there is no TV, or cell phone connection. However, one can find an old 1970 style pay phone (a rarity nowadays) and a gigantic natural TV screen stretching all the way to the horizon featuring amazing sunsets without commercial interruptions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that service has improved since last year. Guest satisfaction is something we work very hard at every day to ensure every guest has a truly special experience. We hope you come again soon to enjoy more sunsets! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Kalaloch Lodge, located right next to the ocean on the western edge of Olympic National Park, offers a variety of accommodations. We were fortunate to be in a cabin with a clear view out to sea. Despite rain and gale force winds during the first day and night, the cabin was warm and secure. The Franklin stove was great, and the firewood supply was refreshed each day. The kitchenette was well outfitted, and the bed was very comfortable. Our dog was welcome there, and we all enjoyed exploring the beach which was only steps away. Hiking sticks were even provided.

The only drawback in the cabin was a rather dated and worn shower with an unattached drain cover that slid all over the bottom of the stall. Also, housekeeping did not remove the ashes from the Franklin stove.

We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant in the lodge, and the food was quite good … better than one might expect in a lodge run by a park concessionaire. The view from the dining room was excellent, and the bar was well stocked. The only drawback here was a waiter who confessed to being new and unable to explain anything on the menu.

Overall, it is a great place and well worth the visit. The weather can be unpleasant, but that should not deter visitors from exploring the beach. Accommodations can be a little pricey, and shoulder season offers a better deal. Also, be prepared for little or no mobile phone service.

Room Tip: If booking a cabin, use the Web site’s map and know which cabin you are getting. Front row units nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to hear your dog enjoyed the accommodations as well. We apologize for any inconvenience the new waiter may have caused. We'll make sure to bring this comment to the team. We hope you will visit us again in the future and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife & I stayed at Kalaloch Lodge for the 5th time. There aren't many places to stay right on the Pacific ocean on the northern part of the Washington coast. The natural beauty is overwhelming. Be sure and see Ruby Beach. The lodge itself is an older property, but well kept. The cabins are primitive, but comfortable. We stayed in cabin #12 and had a awesome view. The only knock on the cabin was the shower is very small. The breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. The place is remote, so plan on eating here or bring food with you. Some of the cabins have a kitchen. Most have woodburning stoves. There aren't any televisions, Wi-Fi hook-ups, and the only phones are a phone booth. Cell phone reception is sparse. The nearest town, Forks, is about 20 miles away. As I said, expect remote. We saw a bald eagle lounging on the beach one morning.
The property is no longer managed by the uncaring Aramark, but is now handled by Delaware North. The difference is amazing. The Del-Nor staff went out of their way to make any request work out.
The stay here is expensive, but in our opinion worth a visit. Natures beauty makes it worthwhile. We will be back in the future.

Room Tip: A bluff cabin is the best, but most expensive choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your requests. Guest service is the cornerstone of our business and we are happy to hear you received outstanding service at our lodge. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We has a delightful time for two nights in a cabin facing the ocean. The cabins are basic, however, the location amazing. Breakfasts were excellent, lunches/dinners fine, not outstanding. Wine list...adequate. The staff was super. Wifi is non existent, so if you have to have that and be in touch, you will be disappointed. Possible to get a weak cell signal....sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be excellent. We aim to make every guest experience special and are happy to hear we succeeded. We hope you visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Wa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

In the mid-1960's my family, along with other families, would travel to Kalaloch and spend a couple of nights. I was a young child, and remember fondly the small cabins, rickety steps down to the shore and all the driftwood for making forts. Of course, things change in almost 50 years, but I found our cabin (one row up from the bluff cabins) to be delightful. The weather was warm for the season and we opened the windows, but still managed a fire in the Franklin stove. The kitchenette was well stocked and the bed was comfortable.

The rickety steps down to the beach have been replaced with a more grandual walkway to the beach but you have to cross over the driftwood to get to the waters edge. I remember at 8 fearlessly scampering across the wood - not so much in my 50's! There are lots of driftwood forts along the way (a lot more sophiscated than we made!).

There is very limited cell coverage and no wi-fi/TV/radio. But bring along a boom box with your favorite CD's and relish the romantic, quiet evening in front of the fire.

Room Tip: The bluff cabins or one row up are the best. However, the cabins are quite expensive so if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you could come and enjoy a place special to you from your childhood. We're happy to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer, and hope you come for a walk down memory lane again sometime soon! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Four of us shared a 1 bedroom cabin in the row behind the bluff cabins. Perfect for us-all amenities were provided-bedding, towels and soaps, all kitchen utensils-except a cutting board, and a wood stove. We took long walks both south and north on the beach-over an hour in each direction, and took a hike up into the Hoh rainforest. Don't know about the food in the lodge restaurant because we cooked great meals in our cabin. Perfect spot to breathe deep and relax and watch the antics of the many bald eagles! We will be back!

Room Tip: We would have loved a bluff room to enjoy the view, but they were all taken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities as well as all Kalaloch and the park had to offer. It is truly a special place and we hope you come visit again soon. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Address: 157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaloch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.