We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cute rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Lodge

Save Saved
You added Kalaloch Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$109 Cabins This Fall
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Forks
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, cute rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night while traveling through Olympic National Park. This lodge is located on a ledge overlooking a long foggy beach with no WIFI or TV, and hardly any phone reception - NOT a bad thing! It's a great location for a walk down the beach.

We had such a relaxing time here... we cooked a quaint little dinner using the kitchenette in the room, relaxed in bed and rested up before exploring the forests the next day. The shower was a decade or two dated, but the bed was comfortable and the room very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the peacefulness that comes with our property. It is truly a special place. We will take your comments regarding the shower back to the team, and are glad you found everything else up to your standards. We hope you come again soon for another relaxing trip. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    122
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
95
134
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the cabins at the Lodge which when looking out the window in the morning, the ocean would be the first thing that you would see. The salty air, the pounding of the ocean at night and comfy beds and Franklin stove all made for a very pleasant stay. The staff at the lodge were very pleasant and helpful. This is a place I look forward going to again. Each season has its own special offerings.

Room Tip: Some cabins are right on the beach, and others are just across the drive. Really either are quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed everything Kalaloch has to offer. It is truly a special place. Guest experience is the cornerstone of our business and we are so happy to hear we have met your expectations in our service. We look forward to seeing you again for a new season of experiences! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

No TV or internet...and so refreshing accordingly. Wanted to get away from cold and foggy Seattle, and found wonderful sunshine and great beauty at Kalaloch. I had a great cabin, that was superbly outfitted - nice linens and newer kitchen gadgets abound. The only negative was the outdated shower, but otherwise I could not have been more pleased with the setting, and off season value presented.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our accommodations to your liking. Kalaloch is truly a special place and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, the State
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in an upstairs room at the Seacrest Lodge. The spacious room was perfectly clean and inviting; the bathroom well maintained and everything was functioning. The beds were fabulous; we enjoyed the fridge and the coffeepot; we also enjoyed the absence of tv and cell phone reception, and the noise. I'm sure in the summer you can enjoy the balcony and the fabulous view of the beach.
The friendly staff was very professional; service in the restaurant was excellent. We enjoyed the fireplace in the gift shop area - a nice place to have coffee and warm up.

Room Tip: If you are in the Seacrest Lodge, choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our staff. We aim to create special experiences with every guest and are glad we met your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved our stay at Kalaloch. Based on other reviews, we weren't sure what to expect, but our cabin was fantastic. No tv, internet, or cell reception, but it didn't take long to disconnect and just enjoy the surroundings. Great beaches right out our door or just a short drive away - lots to explore very nearby. Not all cabins have views, and we didn't get one, but we did have a wood stove and small kitchenette. The cabin was clean and comfortable with no complaints.

The website could use some work so visitors know what they are getting - what is in each cabin or room, how many have views, what amenities their are besides what the website lists (alarm clock and coffee maker?). Their pet policy makes it sound like lodge rooms allow pets, but dogs are only allowed in the cabins.

We were happy with all of our meals at the restaurant, which offered good options considering they are the only restaurant for miles.

Overall, just really pleased with the trip and will probably go back again with a coupon.

Room Tip: Call to find out specifically what rooms or cabins have views and what amenities they have since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. Thank you for your helpful feedback on our website. We will pass your comments to the digital team for improvements as we are always trying to make the guest experience as easy as possible. Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is a dump. The floors were filthy, the futon nastily stained, leftover evidence such as hair etc throughout the whole cabin. Seriously it was nasty. The only clean anything were just the sheets, even the rest of the bedding had dog/human hair on it. If you plan to stay bring Lysol, shower shoes and slippers. The cabins have the potential to be great but they missed the mark.

This place is a joke and I can't believe that people pay the upwards of $200 a night to stay here on a regular basis. Imagine a roadside motel for $29.99 and that is about what you get here. The shower and kitchen are from the 1970s so be prepared. The cabins are not airtight therefore there are plenty of places for creatures such as mice to grace you with their presence.

Please note: There have been reports of people staying in the cabins that have had mice overrunning their stay. The response from the staff is to give them live mice traps. I understand that they are unable to kill them due to it being a national park but there are ways to prevent this. I did not personnally encounter mice but I did not know this was an issue until we were already there or else i would not have stayed here. During checkin I was told not to leave any food out and to ensure it was all properly stowed. Then I realized why when I saw the reviews. Generally I scour them but this time I let spouse handle it...next time I will read the reviews.

What is good about this place? Location, location, location. The view is beautiful. I would say that if you are dropping the cash it is worth it to get the bluff cabin for the view which is amazing. If you get one in the next row back like we did, the only view you will see is the cabin in front of you and potentially your vehicle.

They do take pets but that is probably why the futon is so dirty you don't want to sit on it. We had our pets and we literally put down pet beds and blankets so that they wouldn't have to touch the furniture.

Keep in mind there is nothing around. If you are feeling brave and want to stay here anyway being your own food and store it in your car. Remember them mice? If they can't control them what do you think is in the restaurant where overpriced omelets are plentiful?

I really wanted to input some positivity here but it was really difficult to conjure. We paid for two nights. It was so bad we left the next day and forfeited the next night. Oh yes, they charge you even if you have a bad experience.

Checkin/checkout takes a good 15 minutes so be prepared.

So if you are still interested at this point here is what is in the cabin. An upright single person shower, a toilet, single sink. The kitchenette features a college fridge, two burners, a 4 cup coffee pot, a microwave with all the accessories including plates, glassware, silverware, cooking utensils. All the basics are there. If you plan to cook, you may want to consider being paper towels.

Two positives, the bed itself was fairly comfortable; the fireplace was a nice addition and created ambience.

Please feel free to ask me any questions. I do not in any way recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We are a new operator of the property and sincerely appreciate your feedback as it helps us learn what improvements need to be made to ensure the best guest experience possible going forward. We will share your comments with the team and address the issues mentioned. We're glad you found the location itself enjoyable and hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

If you know what you're in for (Rusticity. Variable amenities (call and ask specific and repeated questions--does it have a kitchen? Does it share a wall? Does it have a wood burning stove or fireplace? Does it have a view? What kind of view? What's the Weather like now? Is the restaurant open? Is there daily housekeeping?). Seclusion. Typical national park lodging (eg, charmingly crappy), then you'll love it. It also helps to be familiar with the property and request a specific cabin or few. We bring our dogs and elect not to go with a bluff cabin (they share a wall with a neighboring cabin and can be small and noisy), and go with a partial view cabin that is stand alone. This yields a larger cabin, a kitchen, more privacy and up to a third of or even half the cost of a bluff cabin. Dogs are welcome which is a huge draw for many of those who stay here. The location is phenomenal and utterly relaxing. The cabins themselves are from another time. Pretend you're homesteading or a gold miner and you'll have a ball. Don't expect tv, phone, wifi, dustlessness, or luxury by any standard. However the free cord of wood and making smores inside on your own wood burning stove, and falling asleep to a cracking fire with your dogs at your feet, while the waves crash outside, cannot be replicated in any Four Seasons I know of.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Kalaloch Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to create special experiences in special places with every guest, and are glad you had such a great experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalaloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge

Address: 157151 Hwy 101, Forks, WA 98331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaloch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.