We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOUL!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of South North Gardens

South North Gardens
140 Sol Duc Way, Forks, WA 98331
360-374-9779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 18 Restaurants in Forks
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FOUL!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Don't know if the vampire or the werewolf is the consulting chef but the food is horrible. Have any of the high raters ever been more than 10 miles outside Forks. Almond chicken looked and tasted like chicken fried steak with gravey. Sweet/sour pork was unrecognizable. Portions are large so maybe tasteless value diners find that an attraction. The only thing edible was the fortune cookie.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Meh..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

No kids menu. Waitress never asked us if we wanted anything to drink other than water. Food was good. Not very many combo dinner options. Will definitely try the other Chinese restaurant in town before coming back here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

During our family road trip around the peninsula we had a one night layover in the quaint town of Forks. With two hungry and tired kids in tow we looked into the few dining options available and based on the reviews here and recommendation of the hotel staff we ended up at South North.

Be warned - from the outside it looks a little rough but once inside it's perfectly clean, welcoming and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, the prices fair and the variety of choices large. It was perfectly kid friendly which is always crucial for us.

We has vegetable fried rice which was tasty, full of fresh veggies and not overly oily. The spring rolls were typical, fair (pretty greasy) and our chowmein was also good.

We left happy, full and it didn't break the bank. We would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and we would eat there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Your typical Chinese restaurant with four page menu and large servings. Lots of choices. We took two boxes back to the motel and finished the meal next day. Really enough for two meals. They serve English tea with the meal and my preference would have been green tea. I noticed they had Chinese beer available. The service was prompt and friendly, mainly from the owner. Looks like it might be a family operation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese Food in Forks with Nice People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Recently visited Forks and realized there were limited options for restaurants...after checking out the reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided to go with one of the top picks. I was not disappointed. I had some delicious pho' and enjoyed the welcoming staff. If you're in town, check this place out!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South North Gardens also viewed

 

Been to South North Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South North Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.