We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot breathe!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5700 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Fife
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cannot breathe!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Attending a reunion in a suite upstairs in the hotel. Walking through the casino to get to elevators, the smoke was extremely severe. I am tolerant of smokers and have been to casinos before, but this one is beyond anything I have ever experienced, (or tried to breathe). The smoke is not just in the casino, it's in the elevators and in the hotel hallways. Anyone with a breathing condition should reconsider coming here. Running eyes were rampant, we were sharing eye drop remedies. The stench is still in my nose after a shower and it's in our belongings. I don't see how the air quality folks let this place remain open. Besides the dangerously unhealthy air quality, the property is just plain seedy and I did not feel safe walking through the parking structure. All that being said, our interactions with hotel facilities personnel was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    11
    7
    24
See reviews for
8
28
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union Gap, Wa.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Emerald Queen Casino and Hotel and it was ok. Clean rooms, Good food in the snack bar, Nice sitting area by the pool. You have to ask for a fridge and microwave when making a reservation if you want one in your room. Pool was alittle dirty but otherwise it was nice. They also have a small but nice exercise room. The Casino was sort of old and the slots were extremely tight but we still had a decent visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge and microwave when making your reservation if you need or require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ideal place for chain smokers! Horrible smell of cigarettes the moment you enter the premise. Non-smoking room still was choked with cigarette stench...Worst place we have ever stayed! They should do something about the bad stench.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

this place just oozes smoke everywhere. Our room was on a no-smoking floor but you couldn't tell. The casino is so smoky that I cannot believe all of the employees are going to get sick! The water barely comes out of the shower head and you walk away from this place feeling dirty! What we thought would be a fun time turned out gross. We couldn't even think about going into the casino because of the amount of smoke. Only smokers should stay here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is just beyond NASTY! The entire place smells so bad from the overwhelming billowing smoke. This hotel was built maybe 7 years ago yet the furnishing are minimalist and straight out of the 80's! The 15' tv's are thick bulky CRT's ..... No flat screen's here! The bedspreads have stains all over them and smell so badly from the smoke (and this was supposed to be a non-smoking room!) They show table games available on their website but what they don't mention is that this location only has slot machines and to play blackjack, craps, roulette, etc you have to travel 6 miles south to their "sister" property! I asked for another room that truly was NON SMOKING and the front desk employee told me that no matter what room they give me the smoke still seems to be noticeable as it comes from the ventilation system in the Casino! I was so disgusted by this place....NEVER AGAIN! NEVER! This is a smokers heaven...and for everyone else.....prepared for everything you bring with you into this hotel to reak of cigarette smoke when you leave! We had to wash everything twice and scrub ourselves and I mean scrub to get the stench off!

We ate at the "Pacific Rim Buffet" and the employees were really nice however; the asian food on the steam tables in the buffet was not piping hot or hot at all for that matter. It was lukewarm and in some cases room temperature; most certainly the food was not being held at a safe temperatures to serve. I stuck to the Prime Rib, mashed potatoes and peas which was actually pretty good! My partner had the shrimp fried rice, something that resembled orange chicken and an egg roll all of which were "cold" as in not at all warm. He ate a few bites and it was just gross food! In any case we let our server know the food was not being held at a safe temperature and she offered to get something else for him but we were just over it and we left shortly after dinner. Both of us ended up with stomach aches and everything that goes with it and within two hours that food was out of us one way or another. Still feeling gross and disgusted by our experience so though I would write a review on tripadvisor and hopefully save others from making the bad choice we made to stay and eat here! I plan on following up with a complaint to the health inspector however; I'm not sure they are able to look into this since this is a hotel/casino on tribal land. If I could give this place zero stars I would!

Room Tip: Even "non-smoking" rooms at this hotel smell like stale cigarette smoke courtesy of the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were going to a concert at the Emerald Queen so we had thought might as well stay at the hotel the concert was at. We weren't told that the hotel and the concert were at different locations. We requested a non smoking room and when we first got in it was horrible - we were able to air it out. Went to the concert, when we came back it was a little more smokey. Once I was to bed I was awake every 1/2 hour wondering how to get it to be less smokey. At 3am woke up wondering if I should just go sleep in my car. Worst night ever. Would be best if there was just a hotel entrance without having to walk thru the casino. Our two bags of clothing once home immediately went in the washer - even if we didn't wear it everything stunk!
Totally enjoyed the concert - will stay somewhere else if we go to anything there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you are not a smoker you probably don't want to stay at the Emerald Queen. I had the unfortunate experience of staying there because all the Hilton properties in the area were sold out. $119 a night and my first room was on the second floor which opens to the casino floor. It was a non-smoking room but i am pretty sure it is impossible to keep the smoke off the second floor. I called down after i noticed that my bed sheets were stained and they sent up the housekeeping manager. When she arrived I asked about the smoke and she said she couldn't tell "because I work here". Meaning the entire place reeks of smoke so she couldn't even tell anymore. She offered to get me another room which was on the 3rd floor and it was much better but I still noticed the smoke smell the entire time I was there. I had a drink on the 4th floor restaurant bar and the bartender was extremely friendly. The rest of the staff I interacted with was not so friendly, checking out not even a smile from the front desk person. I checked out and plan to stay at Hotel Murano tonight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino

Address: 5700 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424
Location: United States > Washington > Fife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Fife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Queen Hotel And Casino
Emerald Queen Hotel Fife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Queen Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.