We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice For The Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
3501 Pacific HWY E, Fife, WA 98424 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Fife
WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice For The Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stay here for long periods of time about every 35 days. It is very clean. Front desk is very kind, couteous and helpful. I mean it's not a Marriot or a Hilton but for what you pay it is Really Nice for the Price. When there has been problems they always try to address it as soon as possible. The free breakfast is a very adequete jump start. Parking is sufficient and the lot fairly clean. Comfortable beds, adequete towels,soaps and shampoos. Lots of channels and nice Tv's. Micro and frig in rooms. Like I said Real Nice For The price.

Enjoy Your Stay,
S.M.T.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
6
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forks
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed here on May 13th. The desk clerk did nothing but complain. She complained about a few guys in the lobby talking, she complained about someone who kept calling and asking questions, and she complained about the weather. All I wanted was a room, not to hear her take on how miserable she was.

This motel is adequate, I really had no problems with the room or parking or the proximity to anything, the biggest problem was the desk clerk and now, two weeks later, my credit card still not charged for my room stay.

I have called them twice now asking why almost two weeks later my credit card has not been charged and I was told "it can take up to two full weeks before we submit your room charge to your credit card company." That is absolutely preposterous and very bad accounting. Anywhere else I have ever stayed my card was charged immediately and within three days has posted to my account. Yet, they tell me this is normal for them...? At the two-week mark I am going to block any charge on my card and send them a check so I KNOW it has cleared my account if and when they ever cash it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fife hotels

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011 via mobile

Hotel was clean in a great location close for activities in tacoma as well as Seattle. For the price it wasn't to bad. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed with my kids and grandkids for the Puyallup Fair. We had two rooms, one reeked of BO, poorly disguised with air freshener, one room had the smoke detector torn from the ceiling. There was wet, used soap in both rooms, our socks turned black with a walk from bed to bath. We were given alternate rooms after the first night, but not a great improvement. The parking lot and sidewalks were littered with cigarette butts, the desk clerk was chatting and smoking outside rather than making morning coffee for the continental breakfast. We never once saw a maid, our rooms were not cleaned, the furniture and beds were shabby, the TVs didn't work correctly. The sink in one room did not drain, son removed the trap and found a huge clump of hair, soap, grease etc. No maintenance available. Very little water pressure in sinks, not enough hot water. Only one washcloth supplied in a room for four, though when we (repeatedly) went to the desk and asked for towels and washcloths, we got them. The sign out front read "Walk In Special" ... you figure it out. Had there been any other rooms available in the area, we would have left! The guidelines for writing a review tells me not to use all caps, but believe me, they would be fitting here! Don't go there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

First time to seattle washington for a wedding in Fife... This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had! The room did not have any heat and the front desk could not fix the problem. (We slept with our jackets and gloves on!!! They did not have a maint tech on site (EVER) they claimed they had no other rooms available. (Thats because they rented them all to the high schoolers who knocked on room doors all nite and ran off.) We did not have a microwave as promised and the running water never stood warm. THE MANAGER CLAIMS SHE REIMBURSED MY CREDIT CARD FOR ONE NITE STAY! HA!!!! I SHOULD OF KNOWN BETTER, STILL WAITING TO SEE THE CREDIT COME THRU!!! (not to mention we had to stay at this horrible place for 2 nights) Other occupants where heard complaining as well, running out of power, heaters and phones did not work. The BBB is my next complaint... Want my money back! Stay away from this hotel! Bad service and the manager does not care! oh and the free breakfast consist of stale instant oatmeal packages!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,Or
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This lady who was hanging out behind the desk, seemed to have been drinking and was very loud. This is a hotel, not a bar...Later I had seen her hanging outside smoking, and yelling on her phone. I stayed at this hotel a few months ago and got a totally different experience! I would not recomment this hotel to anyone after this stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We were in town for the weekend and was our first time staying at a HJ. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and neat. The only problem we encountered was the ice machines were broken but our room had a refrigerator in it. Maybe the call made to corporate headquarters will help get it fixed. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3501 Pacific HWY E, Fife, WA 98424 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Fife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Fife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fife
Fife Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.