We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Staff service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Save Saved
You added Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa
4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ferndale
langley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Staff service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel room was incredible super clean and very spacious. The beds were amazingly comfortable. We loved the food choices as well as the casino. They just run a top notch business based on customer service. We will be back again we enjoyed our stay so much

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful praise!

The Silver Reef works hard to provide excellent service to every guest, every time, and I'm happy that we suceeded with your visit. I'll make sure to pass along the positive feedback to our staff.

Hope you come visit us again.

Cordially,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    72
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
38
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

the Silver Reef Hotel was just ok the hotel staff were helpful but casino staff horrible not a planning on ever returning much better value other Washington casino resorts don't waist your time here, the food at the buffet is next to lousy in qaulity the breakfast does'nt even have bacon and there's not much to choose from the casino is run by a bunch of idots definetely not customer freindly place

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review; the Silver Reef strives to provide an excellent experience, and feedback from our guests is valuable to achieving that.

To that end, I would hope that you could provide more specific information about what you didn't like about your visit: What did - or didn't - the casino staff do? What about the buffet did you not like? What made you feel that the property isn't customer friendly?

I would love to hear more from you so that we can work to make things right for other guests, and in hopes that you would visit us again. Please feel free to email me via Trip Advisor, or call the hotel and ask to speak with Kathryn. Thank you for your time.

Cordially,
Kathryn Libby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room was very clean; my wife even commented that the bathroom was perfect. This is an accomplishment. I overheard the front desk telling someone the hotel was fully booked, but between the two nights we stayed there we heard sounds of other residents just once, and very briefly at that.

The 'Adults Only' pool time was quiet, and the steam room and sauna were empty except us. It made for very relaxing evenings.

Very minor downs: The parking attendant directed us to the remote lot and said there was a shuttle; there was no shuttle in sight and no obvious place to wait. It was fortunately a very short walk back to the hotel.

The in-casino restaurants were a bit smokey so we went over to downtown Ferndale instead.

The elevators are immediately adjacent to the pool-area entrance, so there is no chance of having to traipse through the lobby in swimwear.

Room Tip: The Executive level was amazing quiet, and affords a nice view of the surrounding fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynLibby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Kathryn Libby, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review
July 25, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! Your feedback is valuable to us because it helps us to continually improve our products and services.

I was sorry to hear of your disappointment with the courtesy shuttle; we're working hard to take care of our guests during the construction of our Events Center. I hope you'll accept my apologies in this instance.

On the other hand, it was good to hear you were happy with the cleanliness of your room, and I'll be sure to pass that along to our Housekeeping staff.

Your friendship is important to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa soon and often.

Cordially,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our first stay at this property. Worthy of it's 3 diamond designation. Room was very clean and the staff were courteous and friendly. Across from the hotel there were at least 45 kiosks selling fireworks. We tolerated them going off every 1/2 hour or so until it seemed to stop about 11pm. We were woken up at 2:00am and they were let off steadily for about 1 hour. We will go back to this hotel but never at this time. I understand from the staff at reception, they had received several complaints from guests but unfortunately there is little they can do as it is not on their property. Another plus is the plentiful free breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Higher floor gets you away from the noise of the parking lot and casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was great.
From the moment we pulled into the parking lot and the young lady asked if we wanted a ride to the hotel door till we checked out it was 1st rate.
We had a room on the sixth floor which was great. Very clean and a wonderfull nights sleep.
Every member of the staff we came into contact with were very helpfull and considerate.
Buffet breakfast was more than adequate and enjoyable.
Ate in the Panasia and the food was really good, could have been a little hotter coming from the kitchen.
Casino is a lot of fun, however the slots did seem a bit tight in my opinion.
We will definetely return as it is a lovely area to explore and the Silver Reef is a great little Hotel Casino resort to stay in.

Room Tip: The room s on the sixth floor are the best. You are required to use your room key card to gain acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay at the Silver Reef Hotel was a fantastic experience. Our room was extremely comfortable, the onsite experience made even more delightful by a friendly, accommodating staff. A buffet breakfast is included in the room rate, always a bonus for us.

Casino/gaming aside, this small hotel made an excellent base for a day trip sightseeing holiday around beautiful Whatcom County. We would book in here even for an overnight stay!

Onsite restaurants provide terrific eating experiences, from the delicious choices at Panasia to the renowned Silver Reef Steakhouse known for its fine dining and exceptional wine list.

Room Tip: Some rooms provide views across the pastoral landscapes...all rooms are quiet & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous online review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others, and WE'LL be sure to share your kind words with our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Kathryn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were 'forced' to stay at this casino hotel because of a family wedding party.

I am not sure I have stayed at any location that was so pleasantly accommodating in every respect. The main disadvantage of this site is hardly that: it is so small - probably less than 150 rooms - that it is very important to plan your visit in advance.

Specifics: First, by signing up for a casino card you get a lot of benefits, including sometimes room discounts, so don't hesitate to do that.

Their practice is to give a breakfast buffet for each person in the room. We were three and the coupon was welcome indeed, and probably added about 30-40 dollars in free benefits to the room charges! The buffet was excellent save for not having breakfast meats. (But on the Sunday we were there they did include a simply marvelous Eggs Benedict, including Canadian Bacon, on the buffet menu.)

The pool/spa/steam room/sauna was open and readily available from 7 am to 11 pm, with towels readily available. One indication of the careful design of the hotel is that the pool is located just opposite the lobby entrance, and at the first floor elevator exit. No walking through lengthy halls in swimming suits!

Although I am as non-smoking oriented as the next guy, we (because of changing plans) had to accept a room on the smoking floor. (Yes, they have a smoking floor in the hotel and a non-smoking gaming area in the casino. Take your pick.) The rooms were meticulously cleaned and we hardly noticed that the rooms were 'smoking.' So, don't reject the place even if you don't want a 'smoking' room. It will probably be fine, at leas ours was.

Another really fine touch for a newspaper junky like myself was the availability of free newspapers in the lobby each morning.

The bathrooms are not huge, but very acceptable. The toilet and tub are in a separate room fromt the sink, and there's a nice dressing table/bar/etc. in the unlocked part.

Closets fine, and enough furniture.

The place opened a couple of years ago before the huge flat screen hd tvs are in, so the television sets are the 'old' kind, but very usable in any case unless you're some kind of snobby tv junky!

A final note. The air conditioner/heater is under full control of the guests. In a variable climate like Washington, that is a real plus.

The clientele includes many Canadians, at least it seemed so. That added to a bit of good chatter and visiting.

Anyway, a huge plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I guess it just goes to show that sometimes familly weddings aren't too bad, huh?

Feedback from our guests is always welcome, and positive reviews like yours are very much appreciated. I hope you make it back to Ferndale, Washington sometime and get the chance to visit us again!

Cordially,


Kathryn Libby
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa

Address: 4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy Washington State's hidden jewel, the Silver Reef Hotel Spa. We have a beautiful 6-story hotel complete with 101 Deluxe Room, 4 suites, free Wi-Fi, Plush beds, exercise room and indoor pool! Our full service spa has treatment rooms, whirlpool, serenity room, hot tub and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Reef Hotel Ferndale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Reef Hotel Casino and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.