We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dash Point State Park

Dash Point State Park
Federal Way, WA
253-661-4955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 attractions in Federal Way
Type: State Parks
Activities: Hiking
Attraction Details
Seattle
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of Washington's finest state parks. Too bad the politicians killed the thrill of visiting it with outrageous fees.

Great hiking and biking trails, nice beach, wonderful wildlife, etc.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped in here for a walk while visiting relatives in the area and we're so thankful we did. What a gorgeous place. We walked along the beach at low tide and saw some pretty neat critters.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic NW park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We love coming here to feed the geese/ducks. The sound of the water is soothing and it's a beautiful shore. There are trails and fun things to explore with kids and adults. Great for picnics.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I love this Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love this park. It's got a nice beach are where you can collect sand dollars when the tide goes out....and it's puppy friendly! The walking trails are awesome and we spent many hours with our two dogs hiking there. It gets really crowded in the summer so I recommend going in the off season as the views of the Puget sound are amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concrete, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“State Park camping was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here in an RV for four days in August. Easy to get to, spots are pull through and easy to level on, the only thing that wasn't stellar about the experience was the amount of dirt in the campsite. I get that camping can be dirty (been doing it for more than 50 years), but there seemed to be more dirt than gravel around the picnic table, and that's easily remedied. Of course, our state is going through some financial difficulties, and that could be why there wasn't enough gravel to go around. Maintaining state parks *can* be expensive. Aside from that, the experience we had there was great, the park was nice enough to camp in and enjoy. That said, there were a few things I'd like to mention as caveats:
1 - The electrical hookup was straight 50 amp with no extra 30 amp plug in available. For those who have older RVs that don't have an outside extension plug in and like to either plug in patio lights on their awning and/or use an electric drill with a lug driver to raise and lower your stabilizer jacks...you can't because there's no standard 30 amp plug in (which most campsites have nowadays).
2 - We were wrongly charged for an extra vehicle even though we have the Washington State issued "Discovery Pass" as well as a handicapped placard for that vehicle. The Discovery Pass for state parks clearly states that vehicles with the Discovery Pass and handicapped placards are free for parking in all state parks. This added $40 to our fee - even after I pointed out the Discovery Pass rules to the lady who checked us in.
3 - The beach is quite a trek from the campground - and down a long, steep hill. If you plan to ride bicycles you've taken along with you for camping, keep this in mind - you have to get back *up* that long, steep hill.
4 - You're in a State Park, but still in an urban setting. That comes along with urban party-types at the tent sites, airliners flying right over you frequently going to or coming from Sea-Tac International Airport, and the usual smoggy-kind of smell you get in the city.

Other than what I've noted, this was a decent experience and enjoyable. I would still opt for more rural settings for state park camping in the future, but wouldn't rule this one out completely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dash Point State Park also viewed

 

Been to Dash Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dash Point State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dash Point State Park to your Saves list