We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my ALL TIME FAVORITES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indochine Seafood & Satay Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Indochine Seafood & Satay Bar
31406 Pacific Hwy S, Federal Way, WA 98003-5404
253-529-4214
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 207 Restaurants in Federal Way
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waterloo, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of my ALL TIME FAVORITES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant is well worth traveling to from Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia or anywhere for that matter! I started dining here when it was a small establishment that seated around twenty people! The food is exceptional and the family so friendly! Being a vegetarian they encouraged me to try many entrees ! And everyone of them incredible! From the tea, the appetizers, main courses, side dishes and phenomenal desserts all served with lovely garnishes! Now that they expanded everything is even more sensational. It sure would be nice to have one of their chefs as a personal cook at home. Such a hard working family who always manage to please. My gratitude goes to all of them for putting their heart and soul into their family business! THANK YOU! ALWAYS!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    9
    2
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai in FedWay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I lived on the South End this was a regular weekend stopping spot. Now that we moved into Seattle I still always make a point to stop in when in FedWay. Great food. The fresh spring rolls are amazing. Never have had to wait for a table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Indochine is a local favorite. There are a couple locations in Tacoma and this one in Federal Way. I've been here several times. My only problem is that I love the things I usually order so much that I don't want to branch out and try something new. I did during my most recent visit.

We always have the fresh spring rolls with shrimp and chicken. They are delicious. Well, actually, it is the sauce that is amazing. It's not the typical peanut sauce, it is a zesty, spicy, sweet delight and if I could figure out what's in it, I would attempt to make it at home.

This time we also tried the crab wontons. They were slightly overcooked to my taste, so I was unimpressed.

Then we shared the drunked noodles with chicken, 5 stars. I enjoy it every time, full of chicken and vegetables.

I didn't have the coconut ice cream this time because it is on the spendy side, but I missed it so I will try it next time.

Service is never anything to brag about, but it's usually the owner and he's pretty old so I don't even care.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Food in a Unique Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Indochine is a 'one of a kind' restaurant, with outstanding food and a truly original environment.
The food was superb, fresh and delicious. Served on lovely porcelain china with cobalt blue decorations. Elegant.
The atmosphere evoked the Orient, with lovely decorations. We had a great time and will go again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I have been here and their Tacoma location several times. The last and probably final time I was there, I ordered the Pad Thai and it was horrid. It tasted like butter noodles with a little bit of pepper. I complained and they took it away. 20 minutes later when they came back - no "can we remake this for you" or anything, just a full price bill...

After having to complain again that the food was very low quality, they finally gave it... to HALF the price of only my dish. I will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochine Seafood & Satay Bar also viewed

 

Been to Indochine Seafood & Satay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochine Seafood & Satay Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.