We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regional gem worth seeking out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Bonsai Museum

Pacific Bonsai Museum
2515 S. 336th St., Federal Way, WA 98003
253.353.7345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Federal Way
Type: Parks, Museums
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A regional gem worth seeking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are anywhere near the area, this extraordinary collection is, to this viewer, breathtaking. If I had to choose between Chihuly's Garden in Seattle, and here, this wins. I have visited often, and have never been disappointed. A bit 'off the path' from I-5, but well worth the time and effort. Just seeing Weyerhauser's Office architectural masterpiece is worth a gander by itself. Unfortunately, my photos are cropped when posted, so bring your camera.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bonsai collection is mostly large detailed examples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

They have some bonsai that are 75 or more years old. They are displayed outside in a forest which reminded us of ones we saw in China. The drive into the collection is through a forest which surrounds Weyerhaeuser corporate headquarters.
Entered through the same shop is the Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden - also a good place to visit, particularly during spring or early summer when they are in bloom.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent a nice afternoon admiring the lovely bonsai in this peaceful setting. I've been here many times before, but I never tire of seeing the collection. Only one blooming tree, though a couple of trees with fruit on them! I hope to come back in the spring when many of the trees should be in bloom. There is no entrance fee, though the Rhododendron Species Garden located directly adjacent does charge to visit. Though that garden is also wonderful, we skipped it today due to time constraints and the fact that most of the plants were not in bloom...again, spring time and early summer would be an ideal time to visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you like Bonsai this is your place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Amazing collection of Bonsai and closely related arts, from miniature trees in cultivation for going on a hundred years, to flashy new Bonsai from brash young American masters.Side show lectures also available often, but if that's crucial to you, call ahead. Next door is a Rhododendron garden obviously run by, not just fans, but fanatics -- with lots of te home potted Rhodie's for sale usually, at reasonable prces, plus how-to books, movies, lectures, & helpful staff too. Bonzais and rhodies - a two-fer if you can take some time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Neat Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I really enjoyed this collection. I love plants anyway, so this was a special treat! It's worth a visit!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Bonsai Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Bonsai Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Bonsai Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.