We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay at a Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent Stay at a Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The hotel is conveniently located in an area with a wide variety of options for food, which is always nice. The free internet service was really strong and I connected easily. Bed was alright, I did wake up with a little back pain but it may have been unrelated to the bed itself. The hotel was very quiet, I had no troubles sleeping at all. The lobby area of the hotel is very nice, and the staff was excellent and quite friendly. Overall, a very good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
9
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I were on a three week road trip staying in hotels across the west. We ended up here due to a computer glitch at SeaTac which grounded flights and SeaFair (a Seattle festival) weekend. We tried to get a room in downtown Seattle at 8 pm, then SeaTac, and everything was booked. As we were a bit desperate, we called Marriott and asked for the closest available room to downtown Seattle. We ended up here, which is 19 miles south of Seattle in an area that should not have expensive rooms. A room with two queen beds cost $249, which was $100 more than it should have cost. It was also the first hotel on our road trip which didn't offer a complimentary continental breakfast.

The staff was friendly. The pool was nice. The fitness center was less than average. The hotel itself was nicely decorated. There was also a ginormous (larger than a 50 cent piece) dead spider on our bureau. This most likely happened after the room was cleaned, but it made us realize those spiders were in the room.

So, in summary, it was an average Marriott type hotel which was overpriced to the point I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAFW, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing pool and wonderful service, but I am sorry to learn that everything did not live up to your expectations. I can imagine how disturbing it must have been to find a spider in your guest room! I assure you that their presence is not a usual occurrence here.

I hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future, and take advantage of some of our great seasonal rates, including some wonderful packages that include breakfast. If I may be of assistance to you in any way, please feel free to contact me directly. We appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back

Sincerely,

Jenny Vasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in the area. Always great staff who are pleasant and efficient. Nice and clean lobby with relaxing atmosphere and food. The rooms are big and well planned. A great stat for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hello-
There is nothing seriously wrong with this hotel, however there is nothing seriously great about it either. The staff, rooms, fitnesss area, and common areas were all average at best.

The Pros-
Great location. This hotel is right off the I-5 just South of Seattle. There is shopping and a huge variety of dining options that are walkable.

It is a Marriott. If you are a Marriott person, this has a Marriott Courtyard sign out front and you will get your points.

It has a cool glass elevator that overlooks the back of the property and the Interstate.
It was quiet. I didn't hear the highway.

The Cons-
The rooms are tired- as is the fitness area. Both are dreary and drab.

Although the lobby is modern and happening, the rooms felt like a trip back to the mid 90s.

Normally I don't let price factor into the equation (price is something all parties are aware of before booking the room) but in this instance it is worth mentioning.

For some reason it was significantly more expensive than all the other hotels in the area. I was scheduled to stay two nights, but when I found out I could get into the hotel next door for $50/night less, I bolted. I gave the front desk a chance to give a discount on night two (10% would have done it), but they didn't move.

3 stars is labeled as "average", and thats the best I could give this place. Look elsewhere is the best advice I can give you- especially if the rate is high for the nights you are considering.

Room Tip: I was on the backside of the hotel-high floor. It was quiet and I had a foggy view of Mt. Ranier, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Bid on this through Priceline. It was a great value for the price. The hotel is very nice with great rooms and beds. I'd definitely stay here again. I've stayed at most hotels in federal way except for the new Hampton inn. This is by far the nicest federal way hotel I've stayed in. Avoid the Clarion in Federal Way at all cost! Worth the extra $$$ to stay at the courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance, you are halfway between Seattle and Tacoma, and about a 15 minute drive to/from the airport. If there is one thing to complain about, it is the parking. The hotel shares a parking lot with an adjacent hotel, and they obviously tried to jam as many parking spots as possible in the lot. As a result, the parking spots are too small. This makes a lot of parking spots unusable. Outside of that, I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay here when traveling through the area. Staff is always great and courteous. They know where to eat in the neighborhood too. Don't care for any of the bistros in the new Courtyards but that was a corporate screwup in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way

Address: 31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Federal Way, Washington provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Seattle hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our Go Board. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. This provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. We're only a 1/2 hr from downtown Seattle attractions like the Space Needle and minutes from the Seattle-Tacoma Airport. Enjoy year-round activities at nearby Mt. Rainier. Our guest rooms feature luxury Marriott bedding, flat screen TV, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed internet access. We also have lots of meeting space and a professional staff to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Courtyard Federal Way
Federal Way Marriott
Federal Way Courtyard
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.