We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Federal Way area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Seattle Federal Way to your Saves list
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Free F&B bucks
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Federal Way area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in the area. Always great staff who are pleasant and efficient. Nice and clean lobby with relaxing atmosphere and food. The rooms are big and well planned. A great stat for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    54
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
13
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hello-
There is nothing seriously wrong with this hotel, however there is nothing seriously great about it either. The staff, rooms, fitnesss area, and common areas were all average at best.

The Pros-
Great location. This hotel is right off the I-5 just South of Seattle. There is shopping and a huge variety of dining options that are walkable.

It is a Marriott. If you are a Marriott person, this has a Marriott Courtyard sign out front and you will get your points.

It has a cool glass elevator that overlooks the back of the property and the Interstate.
It was quiet. I didn't hear the highway.

The Cons-
The rooms are tired- as is the fitness area. Both are dreary and drab.

Although the lobby is modern and happening, the rooms felt like a trip back to the mid 90s.

Normally I don't let price factor into the equation (price is something all parties are aware of before booking the room) but in this instance it is worth mentioning.

For some reason it was significantly more expensive than all the other hotels in the area. I was scheduled to stay two nights, but when I found out I could get into the hotel next door for $50/night less, I bolted. I gave the front desk a chance to give a discount on night two (10% would have done it), but they didn't move.

3 stars is labeled as "average", and thats the best I could give this place. Look elsewhere is the best advice I can give you- especially if the rate is high for the nights you are considering.

Room Tip: I was on the backside of the hotel-high floor. It was quiet and I had a foggy view of Mt. Ranier, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Bid on this through Priceline. It was a great value for the price. The hotel is very nice with great rooms and beds. I'd definitely stay here again. I've stayed at most hotels in federal way except for the new Hampton inn. This is by far the nicest federal way hotel I've stayed in. Avoid the Clarion in Federal Way at all cost! Worth the extra $$$ to stay at the courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance, you are halfway between Seattle and Tacoma, and about a 15 minute drive to/from the airport. If there is one thing to complain about, it is the parking. The hotel shares a parking lot with an adjacent hotel, and they obviously tried to jam as many parking spots as possible in the lot. As a result, the parking spots are too small. This makes a lot of parking spots unusable. Outside of that, I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay here when traveling through the area. Staff is always great and courteous. They know where to eat in the neighborhood too. Don't care for any of the bistros in the new Courtyards but that was a corporate screwup in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Like most other Courtyards, this hotel was comfortable and clean, the staff very helpful and courteous. Our rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. I love the glass elevator. Have stayed here before and will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Short review, stayed at this hotel for five nights in May for business. Check in was a breeze and my room preferences were met. Room was clean, the entire hotel is very clean and the folks try hard to make everyone happy. No complaints about this hotel and would stay here again if needed. Was upgraded to one of the top floors and it was quiet and very little activity on that floor during my stay. This is one of the better Courtyards I have stayed at in the last couple of years.

There is a restaurant next door called The Ram, it is a regional chain, we had salads there two nights and the food was very good and its nice to have something within walking distance. There are plenty of other restaurants as well within 5 minute walk or short ride via car.

Room Tip: Higher floor to be able to see Mt. Ranier on sunny days
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Federal Way
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle/Federal Way
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Federal Way
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Evergreen Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Federal Way
Comfort Inn Federal Way
#5 of 12 in Federal Way
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites
Red Lion Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Federal Way
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Address: 31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Federal Way 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Federal Way, Washington provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Seattle hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our Go Board. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. This provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. We're only a 1/2 hr from downtown Seattle attractions like the Space Needle and minutes from the Seattle-Tacoma Airport. Enjoy year-round activities at nearby Mt. Rainier. Our guest rooms feature luxury Marriott bedding, flat screen TV, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed internet access. We also have lots of meeting space and a professional staff to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Courtyard Federal Way
Federal Way Courtyard
Federal Way Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Seattle Federal Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.