We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Good to Bad to Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Seattle Federal Way to your Saves list
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“From Good to Bad to Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a meeting for the first time. Hotel is newer, room was very nice. Clean, well appointed with sofa, large flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable with fresh linens. Nice work station, plenty of lights and electric outlets. Internet worked fine. Property features the new Marriott "Bistro" concept, which offers limited dining. Comfortable common areas to meet with friends. Everything was going fine until the morning. I got up, set up the in-room coffee maker and went ot get online while the coffee brewed. After a few moments I heard some strange noises and went to investigate. The coffee pot was missing a critical piece which didn't allow the brewed coffee to flow into the pot, causing an overflow all over the counter and floor with scalding coffee. There was no way to stop the brewing cycle so I could only stem the tide of the flow. Once the brewing stop I emptied everything and took the coffee maker apart so they wouldn't leave it for the next guest. When the front desk clerk asked me how my stay was I informed her and she apologized and offered to get me a cup of coffee from the Bistro at no charge. I respectfully declined but was very appreciative of her concern and offer. Several days later I received an apology note, as well as a Starbucks gift card from the hotel for my inconvenience. This type of extra effort is few and far between but it earned them another stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
10
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a comfortable stay at this hotel. It is great for the business traveler. The front desk check in was swift and the check out even swifter. I was pleased with the overall service experience.
The room was great - I was lucky to have a suite. Ample space and very comfortable. The amenities in the room were good as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

During a week long weather-related power outage in the entire Seattle area, it was difficult to find a hotel that had rooms. So I started to drive south toward Portland and eventually found a vacancy in Federal Way (suburb of Seattle). Because they had a generator, lights were on in the lobby. They did have one room left, a suite. While the rooms had no power, they advised there was plenty of hot water. Happy at last to find a place to lay my head, I booked the room and was supplied with 2 flashlights. While it was nice to finally find a warm bed, the hotel did not give me any kind of discount, weather-related or otherwise - AAA, lack of services, old and tired. I suppose that would have been too much to ask since this is a for-profit institution, not a social service agency.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I used to stay here for work years ago and its gone downhill over time. Room had a mildew smell. A little disrepair in the bathroom. Tv doesn't have digital connection so you couldn't get local channels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a great business hotel, quiet yet nice and having quite a few amenities that business travelers like.

Check in was a breeze, internet connectivity never failed, the folks at the front desk were very helpful with local restaurant choices and anything we needed.

It rained the entire time but we expected that, the RAM restaurant next door had very good micro brews and salads. We also ate at the Tokyo Japanese steakhouse and Jasmine Mongolian grill. Both were also very good with the Jasmine being the best, we had co-workers that had never been to a Mongolian grill before and they loved it.

Would stay here again in a heart beat. No issues getting around town, no issues getting back to the airport as well.

Room Tip: High floors as always
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would give this Courtyard 3.5 stars if I could. It's a totally average Courtyard in just about every way.

Good points:
*Friendly staff
*Good location with lots of restaurants in walking distance
*Remodeled lobby with business center & nice lounge
*Guest laundry available
*Clean, comfortable rooms
*Many rooms have great views of Mt Ranier

Bad points:
*The rooms with Mt Ranier views face a noisy highway, so don't request one if you are noise sensitive
*Despite the snazzy lobby, the actual rooms are not remodeled - my carpet definitely was musty
*Their wifi kept crashing my IPad

It's a fine place to stay in the area - way better than the Best Western across the street. Know that some of the rooms have Jacuzzi tubs which is kind of odd for a Courtyard. I mean, who says to their significant other "hey, let's have a sexy weekend at the Courtyard on Federal way...they have Jacuzzi tubs"?

Room Tip: Mt Ranier facing rooms also face a busy highway, so avoid them if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just off the highway 5 and very near so many great restaurants and shopping. Don't hesitate to go to RAMS next door for any meal. Great beer prices at 3.25 a pint and an incredible menu. If its busy..go directly to the bar.
The hotel was clean and good friendly staff. There is a health food market about 500 feet away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Seattle Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Address: 31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Federal Way 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Federal Way, Washington provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Seattle hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our Go Board. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. This provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. We're only a 1/2 hr from downtown Seattle attractions like the Space Needle and minutes from the Seattle-Tacoma Airport. Enjoy year-round activities at nearby Mt. Rainier. Our guest rooms feature luxury Marriott bedding, flat screen TV, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed internet access. We also have lots of meeting space and a professional staff to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Courtyard Federal Way
Federal Way Courtyard
Federal Way Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Seattle Federal Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.