We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tending in the wrong direction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tending in the wrong direction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I used to stay here for work years ago and its gone downhill over time. Room had a mildew smell. A little disrepair in the bathroom. Tv doesn't have digital connection so you couldn't get local channels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
9
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a great business hotel, quiet yet nice and having quite a few amenities that business travelers like.

Check in was a breeze, internet connectivity never failed, the folks at the front desk were very helpful with local restaurant choices and anything we needed.

It rained the entire time but we expected that, the RAM restaurant next door had very good micro brews and salads. We also ate at the Tokyo Japanese steakhouse and Jasmine Mongolian grill. Both were also very good with the Jasmine being the best, we had co-workers that had never been to a Mongolian grill before and they loved it.

Would stay here again in a heart beat. No issues getting around town, no issues getting back to the airport as well.

Room Tip: High floors as always
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would give this Courtyard 3.5 stars if I could. It's a totally average Courtyard in just about every way.

Good points:
*Friendly staff
*Good location with lots of restaurants in walking distance
*Remodeled lobby with business center & nice lounge
*Guest laundry available
*Clean, comfortable rooms
*Many rooms have great views of Mt Ranier

Bad points:
*The rooms with Mt Ranier views face a noisy highway, so don't request one if you are noise sensitive
*Despite the snazzy lobby, the actual rooms are not remodeled - my carpet definitely was musty
*Their wifi kept crashing my IPad

It's a fine place to stay in the area - way better than the Best Western across the street. Know that some of the rooms have Jacuzzi tubs which is kind of odd for a Courtyard. I mean, who says to their significant other "hey, let's have a sexy weekend at the Courtyard on Federal way...they have Jacuzzi tubs"?

Room Tip: Mt Ranier facing rooms also face a busy highway, so avoid them if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just off the highway 5 and very near so many great restaurants and shopping. Don't hesitate to go to RAMS next door for any meal. Great beer prices at 3.25 a pint and an incredible menu. If its busy..go directly to the bar.
The hotel was clean and good friendly staff. There is a health food market about 500 feet away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

At the end of our great adventures across WA, we ended up at this hotel in the Seattle area to fly my girlfriend home. At first we were going to stay just one night than move to a hotel closer to the airport for an early morning flight, but we loved this hotel and its location so much that we stayed 2 nights. The location is perfect, easy access off the hwy. It is in a shopping area that made it easy to go to a movie, shop, and dine...Clean, comfortable and great service is what we got for a pretty good rate, as they matched the lowest internet rate and welcomed us right on in...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Room was very clean, as well as the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and cushy, and the lobby itself was nice. We don't normally stay in hotels like this one, so to us it felt rather ritz. I believe we got a good room for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a very nice hotel. Staff was great. Beds were great. Across the parking lot is a strip mall containing an Indian restaurant, hair salon, and on the other side of the strip mall is a natural foods grocery store and a movie theatre. We asked for a room on the strip-mall side of the hotel because I didn't want to hear freeway noise, and we were placed on the 8th of 9 floors. What I didn't realize until we rode up in the elevators is that you can see Mount Rainier from the freeway side of the hotel on the higher floors.

Room Tip: If it's a nice day, ask for a high room on the freeway side if you want a view of Mount Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way

Address: 31910 Gateway Center Blvd. South, Federal Way, WA 98003
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Federal Way, Washington provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Seattle hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our Go Board. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. This provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. We're only a 1/2 hr from downtown Seattle attractions like the Space Needle and minutes from the Seattle-Tacoma Airport. Enjoy year-round activities at nearby Mt. Rainier. Our guest rooms feature luxury Marriott bedding, flat screen TV, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed internet access. We also have lots of meeting space and a professional staff to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Courtyard Federal Way
Federal Way Marriott
Federal Way Courtyard
Courtyard Seattle Federal Way

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Federal Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.