We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good experience, expensive overall, below average food quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Waves Theme Park

Wild Waves Theme Park
36201 Enchanted Parkway, Federal Way, WA 98003
+1 253-661-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 attractions in Federal Way
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wild Waves Theme Park offers 70 acres of rides, slides, shows, and attractions. Enjoy TWO parks in ONE place for ONE price at Washington's Only Water and Theme Park!
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good experience, expensive overall, below average food quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

Spend the day with my 6yrs and 9yrs girls, discount online save $12 a ticket. As a first time it was very good experience, the rides aren't crowded during the week in August. wave-pool tends to be very busy, lines aren't too bad overall and can get to 15 mins mid-day.

Pros: great variety of water slides, we tried all of them (both kids must be over 48'), quality of the slides is good overall and the facility is surprisingly clean. Great amusement park with roller-coasters and tons of activities.

Cons: Expensive ~$100 for Adult & 2 kids, Parking $10, Locker $15, Lunch $30 (terrible Chicken nuggets, dry fries and soda no refill). No sitting available as most seats were taken (bring your own chairs). cannot bring food into the park, thus many people eat in their cars.

Overall had a great fun around the park, will return for sure but will bring my own food to eat in the car.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    47
    35
    15
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Sad excuse for a theme park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

So I have been to this park numerous times and will continue to visit for the SOLE reason that this is the only theme park/waterpark in Washington state. However Wild Waves is a pathetic excuse for a theme park, and barely slides by as a water park.
The Bad:
-It is dirty, and looks/feels like a rundown, old park (which it is)
-The rides are CRAP, there are two "rollercoasters" that are probably more classified as kiddy coasters which are barely passable. there are pretty much no other rides and you will get bored quickly just by the lack of rides.
-The wave pool sucks too. i can make bigger waves jumping into a pool. THIS NEEDS TO BE REPLACED BADLY!!
-There needs to be more options for water rides. Suggestions would be more 4-person tube slides, speed slides, a water roller-coaster (at least have something thrilling)
-If you are a thrill seeker this park is NOT for you. There is not one ride even SOMEWHAT thrilling in my opinon.
-oh and it is super expensive, defineitly not worth it!
The GOOD:
-The Elephant ears. These are the gem of wild waves. they are super yummy be sure to get one!
-The lazy river. Probably the only attractiion that is above standard at wild waves. Glad to see they put effort SOMEWHERE!

So basically if you like wasting money on a tired old theme park that seems to never get updated, this is the park for you. You would be better off just going to the beach

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wild Waves Waterpark”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

This place is filthy, has poor customer service, and some safety issues. Bring your wallet, because once you get there you will be charged too much for just about everything you want to eat or drink. It's too crowded, the lines are too long, and the life guards need serious training. The management is horrible. We booked a cabana that wasn't available, we did get our money back for the cabana, however after having to put our things towels, blanket etc on the FILTHY ground the day prior we were done and wanted to leave since we couldn't have our cabana; big surprise they wouldn't refund or entrance fee or parking, although nobody in our group touched the water. They should really be ashamed of themselves for taking our $153.00 entrance fee, and $10 of parking, when we didn't want to stay after renting a cabana to find out it was double booked. Our kids were so disappointed, but saw the way we were treated and didn't want to stay. I hope your are happy WildWaves way to make our last summer outing so memorable!!!!!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wet and Wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

We arrived about 30 minutes before the park opened and it was already getting busy, but once inside. We got to ride the tubes back to back for 3 trips down, and ten the bigger rides after lunch. Could use more changing rooms, and a thought to adding more than one hook in the changing stalls.

Word to the wise about locker rental. we got a family sized locker, and could have dropped a size. The family locker that is 21 bucks, can fit a small suitcase, so if you have 4 bags, or purses etc, that is the size for you. You get 5 dollars back.

You can't bring in outside food or drinks, but water. You can have a picnic in the parking lot -

We had a blast with our small family. And will be coming back next summer

Also, if you work for a company that has a discount ticket vendor, check for wild waves, we got our tickets for $21 each :) was a very nice perk

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Over crowded and bad management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

It is always too crowded. The place has a ridiculous rule that no food or drink allowed. We brought our toddler and packed some healthy snack for her. The attendance at the gate said we can not take them inside. We said our young kid need snacks. They insisted that we can put it back in car and get out of the park when our kid needs to eat plus they have snack inside for purchase. It is already stressful to carry a toddler around not to mention hiking back to our car in the heat. So we threw our small pack of snack away. When our kid need snack, to our dismay, they only have junk food available inside the park for purchase, candies, sugars, etc. Our kid got sugar high. Their lunch is full of junk too. They should be more considerate for family with young kid. Second, this park is ill managed. Our kid was allowed on a small roller coster in the kiddie land. But was disallowed at the tea cup machine because of her height. The small roller coaster is much more frightening compared with the kid friendly tea cup. Don't know what kind of standard they have. Seems the attendance decides. Third, this place is too crowded. Each single chair besides the poor was occupied by towers and back packs and with no people. At the same time lots of people have to stand because there were no empty seat. The park should not allow people to occupy seat with stuff!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Waves Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Wild Waves Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Waves Theme Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.