We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Federal Way

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Federal Way to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Federal Way
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31622 Pacific Hwy South, Federal Way, WA 98003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Federal Way
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here on a quck weekend trip with our dog. The room was extremely clean and the hotel, although in a busy area, was very quiet. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Surprising variety at breakfast - if you couldn't find something you liked, then you must be very picky! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
14
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was a very pleasant place to stay overall. Close to shops & restaurants, and just a few minutes drive from Redondo Beach on Puget Sound. The room was clean and smelled fine, staff was capable, breakfast was pretty much standard fare with sufficient variety and delightfully fresh bagels. Oddly, although I see several reviews that mention very comfortable beds, in our room the bed felt old and seemed to sag in the middle - felt like one that was considerably past due for replacement. No other problems though, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I will say this, the beds and pillows were super comfortable and my room (far away from elevators and on the 3rd floor) was very quiet. Otherwise, this is a pretty standard chain hotel. Nothing great, nothing bad. We went did have a very late night and got back to the hotel around 2:30 am and couldn't get in because the doors were locked and the night person had gone somewhere. We stood outside in the cold nearly 10 minutes, kinda pissed us off. Of course, not many of you are going to return to the hotel at 2:30 in the morning, right? And if you're a late riser (like we are, when you stay out until 2:30) breakfast ends PROMPTLY at 10am and they won't let you in, even to get some food and split. What can you say?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was a nice, inexpensive inn to stay at. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the room was quiet at night, and the free breakfast in the morning was good. There were make-your-own waffles, costco muffins and bagels, and fresh fruit for breakfast. Also cereal for those not too hungry. For the price, it was a decent place to stay. We would definitely stay there again if we ever traveled to Washington again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

It smells bad in the rooms, breakfast doesn't start until 7 nstead of 6, the front desk does know any of the surrounding restaurants to give advice on where to eat, there is not water pressure and the place hasn't been remodeled since the 70's. I have stayed at five Comfort Inns in the last 32 days for work. yahoo travel will not let anyone put a real review!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

clean quiet well maintained with the best beds and pillows. Well priced ($70 seniors) and they threw in a fine breakfast.

The best of our trip

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a decent place to stay, especially if you don't want to spend a whole lot of money. We rented a room for $84.99/night in early August, a Friday/Saturday night stay. Free breakfast was included.

The room: Your average hotel room. Non-descript furnishings, desk, 2 queen beds, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo with so-so pressure in the shower. We think it was probably a low-flow shower head. Better than a trickle, but not great. The room was clean, a little dated in some ways, but perfectly fine for sleeping.

That said, the beds were hard. Uncomfortably so. My husband said they had no "give" at all. Wreaked havoc on both our backs.

The a/c worked fine and kept the room comfortable, even a bit chilly.

The breakfast: Pretty good, better than what you might typically find. There were 2 waffle irons, and batter for both blueberry and regular waffles. Also available were pastries and muffins from Costco, bagels, sliced and fresh fruits, yogurt, bread, 3-4 different cereals, milk, juice, and coffee. There are a number of tables in the breakfast area, but it was a bit difficult to find seating if you got down there during the rush, which seemed to be about 9:30 on Saturday morning. Of course, there were some girls' soccer teams staying, so that made for some chaos and things were in short supply, but replenished once we asked.

Our main complaint was with the heat in the common areas, once you left the first floor. There didn't seem to be any significant ventilation in the elevators and as you got closer to the 4th floor, things got hotter and hotter. Our room was near the ice machine, and that portion of the hallway was hottest of all. It was like a portal to the Equator, going through the doorway to the section where our room was. Extremely uncomfortable. There was no air conditioning in the hallways, not even any fans blowing. A box fan, a high velocity fan, something. ANYthing. My husband said the problem was that the ice machines were venting into the hallways. Yucky, humid, HOT air. Awful.

Only my husband got to use the spa/hot tub. He said it was "average". It is open until 10:00 PM, and for adults only from 10:00-11:00 PM for adults only.

The location is good; it is near the Federal Way mall and there is other shopping closer -- think Best Buy, Ross, and so on.

I think we would stay again, but they would need to remedy the hallway heat issues first.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Federal Way

Address: 31622 Pacific Hwy South, Federal Way, WA 98003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Federal Way 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Federal Way Hotel Federal Way
Federal Way Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Federal Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.