We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick 2 night business trip to Tacoma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31611 20th Avenue South, Federal Way, WA 98003-5426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Federal Way
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quick 2 night business trip to Tacoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is just a really, really nice place for a quick business or family trip. It's very clean, rooms are very large and well appointed. Bed and coffee were great. I usually don't sleep well the first night of a trip, but here, rest came easy. It is an extremely quiet hotel. I never heard anyone in the hallways or next door. I always as for a top floor room so there was no one above me either. TV was an old tube, but had plenty of channels and was a perfect size for the room. The breakfast was more than continental with bacon and eggs as well as waffles and the usual. I likes it, location to Tacoma and South Seattle is excellent, and there are tons of restaurants and a great shopping mall, The Commons, within a block and a half of the hotel, easy walk. I would definitely stay here again. Price was great for the area.

Room Tip: Top floor (3) on the South Side have unbelievable views of Mt. Rainier. Mine was room 315, a King w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    42
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
37
44
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is definitely lacking in a lot of areas, so lets start with the positives first, as they are few and far between. This hotel is not expensive, so that's a plus, it is also close to several stores and places to eat. It offers quite a good breakfast in the mornings, that includes fresh fruit, eggs, sausages, and biscuits and gravy, or hashbrowns, and a waffle station, toast, etc. So its cheap and has a good breakfast that is about it for the good side. Now onto the issues, the rooms are very run down and in definite need or repair. Lets start with the bathroom, their was mold on the ceiling, the shower head was hanging from the wall (not attached ) hence the shower didn't work properly. One one day the cleaning lady left us one large towel, for our family of 4 to use. The toilet paper is recycled and feels like you are using office paper. Most of the towels were stained. In the bedroom the TV was from 1990, as was the microwave - we got a good laugh out of that. The beds were very uncomfortable and likely also from 1990. Our room faced out directly to a busy street and HUGE bright light shone right into our room. The room stunk and was very humid - *but you couldn't have the window open at night because of the light and the noise. The carpets were old and worn and the wallpaper was coming off the walls in areas. We were excited to take a swim in the nice outdoor pool.... well they say its heated, but I think it is heated by the sun, as it was too cold to swim in. Even our kids who swim in anything were frozen. So overall I would classify this hotel as at most a 2*.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed one night. Breakfast had limited choices compared to a full buffet (they had eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, strawberries and waffles) but the quality was very good. Size of the room was spacious enough. On the other hand, the pool was only open from 9-9. The room did not have an HD TV which is becoming standard for hotels. More annoying however was the lack of electrical outlets. None were on the lamps or behind the desk. Only ones I had access to were near the floor on the wall against the side of the bed. The price of the hotel was fairly good and the breakfast helped make up for the lack of amenities in the room. I’d give it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Rik the manager was just awesome! We stayed a week at the hotel. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Kudos to you and your staff and all the assistance. You went above and beyond great service. If you're ever in Federal Way check this place out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I came upon this hotel in a tour group traveling from Minnesota. they went above and beyond what I would ever think is possible. The room I stayed in looked to be remodeled recently and the bed made me feel like I was at home. The manager Rik is amazing, friendly and nice. The only bad part was that the walmart was not open 24 hours a day. :) but seriously I had a great stay. I would stay there again without a question.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We had a group of 42. All was handled promptly and efficiently with a smile. No matter what need someone in our group came up with, Rik handled it with ease. Received room upgrades when our room type wasn't available. Plenty of tour bus parking. Lots of eating places nearby. Easy to get anywhere. Everyone loves Rik, the general manager. I stood by the front desk several days- we were there for 7 - and you could see it by the number of regulars. We plan to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Very attentive staff and excellent GM. They went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable and positive. It was a great experience. They are skilled and equipped to handle larger groups with great ease.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way

Address: 31611 20th Avenue South, Federal Way, WA 98003-5426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Federal Way
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Federal Way
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location in the heart of Federal Way at the Clarion Hotel. A top choice of Federal Way, Washington with attractions close by, such as Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center, The Commons Mall, 2 movie theaters, and other shopping, dining, and entertainment. Our Mountain View rooms have an unbelievable view of Mt. Rainier and the city of Federal Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Federal Way
Federal Way Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Seattle Federal Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;