We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigarette smoke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Everett

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Everett to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Everett
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12619 Fourth Ave. West, Everett, WA 98204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Everett
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cigarette smoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this location for the first time last month, I got impressed with the other La Quinta locations that I thought the quality of each locations are the same. Big mistake!!!! If you are sensitive with cigarette smoke don't make a mistake of checking in most specially if you get a room at the 2nd floor. Their hallway up to the room which I thought is non-smoker is just so bad I thought im having asthma attack. Otherwise, the staff at the cafeteria is making her area really nice and tidy which made up for the lack of sleep I had. Not coming back..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6187gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Everett, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. We appreciate your business with our hotel and apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is a 100% non-smoking. We have all of our guests sign a non-smoking agreement upon check in that indicates that violators will be charged a minimum fee of $250. However, we do have an occasional guest that breaks our hotel rules, which must have been the case during your stay.

We will make a better effort to monitor our hallways and guest rooms so that we can provide a fresh and pleasurable experience to all of our future patrons.

Best Regards,

Jay Ohm
La Quinta Everett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    56
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
78
47
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband transferred from Kansas to this area. We stay here for the night before we move into our new home in another town an hour from
here.
It's an older building and the room is pretty small but it is clean. And the fact that it is pet friendly it is perfect for our two mid-sized dogs.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights. We were looking for comfortable, clean accommodation in the Everett area & this seemed to fit the bill. The bathroom has recently been updated (though still had a couple of minor items left to finish off). The updates made a good impression as they were not cheap looking. The hotel staff members were very helpful & friendly & the room caretakers kept it spotless, which is important to us so scored points. The hotel is very close to the I-5 so we were concerned about it being noisy but we didn't notice traffic sounds too much. It was a little confusing getting to as the directional signage seemed to be awkwardly placed but once we found the entrance, we just ignored the signage when we returned and came in the more direct way. The location is next to a casino, which we had great intentions of checking out, but we ran out of time.We wished there had been a fridge in the room but otherwise, everything was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6187gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Everett, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and especially for taking time to write a review. We appreciate the positive remarks and we look forward to showing you a better stay each time.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Everett area.

Thank you,

Jay Ohm
La Quinta Everett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a little adventure while trying to get out of our room. The door would not open from the inside when we tried to leave for the evening meal. Somehow the electronic lock malfunctioned and no amount of tugging, yanking, and cursing would open it. I called the desk and a nice young lady came to the room and couldn't open it from the outside either. She left for a few minutes and came back with a special key which didn't work immediately, but with the key and pulling from inside and outside the door finally opened.
We were switched to another identical room. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, but were not as nice as we had hoped. For one thing the bathroom was very small (like a Red Roof bathroom) and the sink was outside of the bathroom. There was very little space around the sink to put toiletries on. We had only 2 hangers in the closet. The confirmation we received said the room would have a 32" flat screen TV, but neither room had one.
Finally, a warning. Do not go looking for this place without written directions. The confirmation e-mail gave good directions, but without them we might still be looking for it. It is really well-hidden behind a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6187gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Everett, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit with us. We appreciate your patience while we worked to fix the locked door. We have never had a situation like this before, but we have replaced the lock and should never have another incident like this again. We are converting all of our guest rooms with flat panel tv's and hopefully have this completed by your next stay with us.

See you soon,

Jay Ohm
La Quinta Everett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I were on homeward bound last night and given we had great stays with La Quinta we reserved ahead for the property in Everett. It was nothing like its' write up stating it was an award winner as far as Trip Advisor??? First of all it is hidden behind a Holiday Inn...probably the choice we should've made! Secondly, we did not get the room we reserved in advance for....HELLO!......That's the whole purpose of reservations isn't it? The hotel is in need of being upgraded extensively. It's overall impression is TIRED & DRAB. The hallways have an odour and the elevator was all scratched up and in need of cleaning. The front desk clerk informed us that the hotel was an owner-operatated property and as such the owner didn't necessarily have to conform to the corporate standard. We'll ask next time if the hotel is owner-operated...but La Quinta's corporate office needs to do some checking as every property reflects on the chain and on customer loyalty.

Room Tip: Use the Holiday Inn directly in front of this hidden away, overrated property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

When I firsr showed up to the hotel it seemed nice and friendly. Once I got to my room I started noticing things weren't very clean and were very dated. The bathroom had a dead spider in the floor and the carpet and chairs had stains in them. The bed was decent and seemed clean. I always check behind the mattress before I stay in a hotel and this one looked like it had never been cleaned. There were clothing items behind the mattress. I am an elite member with La Quinta and stay in them all over the country and this location really disappointed me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6187gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Everett, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

I apologize for your experience during your recent stay with us. This is not indicative of how our hotel serves our guests and we will have an immediate meeting to correct this matter right away. We value your feedback and will utilize it to better improve our hotel for our future patrons.

We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

Thank you,

Jay Ohm
La Quinta Everett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family of four (with two small kids) just completed our second stay at the La Quinta Everett; our first stay being last summer around the same time of year (August). For us, the main requirements are a clean room, simple breakfast included, and a reasonable level of personal safety. With Everett being located between Seattle and the Premium Outlets at Tulalip, and with the Imagine Childrens' Museum in Everett being a favorite place to visit for my kids, the location and the price makes this the best bang for the buck available. AAA/CAA rates available, and if you can get a room at the back of the hotel, you're set.

I can't speak for all the rooms, as we've only experienced two rooms ever during our stays. Both were reasonably well-equipped 2 Queen rooms, with the most recent one being located on the main floor just down the hall from the breakfast room. Other reviewers have complained about the noise; maybe we were lucky, or maybe the air conditioner's fan covered it all up, but noise was not a problem for us.

As for cleanliness... no matter what the brand or class of hotel, I always check the beds for signs of bedbugs these days, and found none. The bathroom was very clean, as were the bar fridge and microwave. The large flat-screen TV had a good signal (I've stayed in four- and five-star hotels where they cheap out on the TV signal!), and the free WiFi worked well throughout our one-night stay.

The breakfast room was busy in the morning, with the attendant constantly ensuring that everything was well-stocked. My kids love the do-it-yourself waffles, and the coffee is just the right strength. The little business center in one corner of the breakfast room makes it easy to print out anything you may have forgotten, and the front-desk staff are very helpful.

We have never tried the pool, and likely never will, so I can't speak to that either. Looking at the pool from outside the safety fence, it looks clean and well-maintained.

Overall, this La Quinta shows its age, but if you go in with the right expectations you should have an enjoyable stay.

Oh, one last thing... for those who have mentioned how the hotel is hard to find? Google Maps turn-by-turn directions get you right there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6187gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Everett, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and taking time to write a review regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a great experience.

We hope to see you and your family back soon.

Thank you,

Jay Ohm
La Quinta Everett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Everett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Everett

Address: 12619 Fourth Ave. West, Everett, WA 98204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Everett
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Everett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Everett 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn Everett, WashingtonLocated directly off of I-5 and in the heart of Everett, Washington, it is the ideal accommodation for business and leisure travelers in Everett.The La Quinta Inn Everett offers amenities like free wireless high-speed Internet access, convenient onsite business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. It's easy to stay connected and refreshed when staying at the La Quinta Inn Everett. The La Quinta Inn Everett offers a Free Bright Side Breakfast featuring our ham, cheese, and veggie omelets, each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Everett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Everett Hotel Everett
La Quinta Hotel Everett
La Quinta Everett
Everett La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Everett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.