We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very badly run down Travelodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ephrata Travelodge

Save Saved
You added Ephrata Travelodge to your Saves list
Ephrata Travelodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ephrata Travelodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 S. Basin St., Ephrata, WA 98823   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ephrata
Gig Harbor
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A very badly run down Travelodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

On our recent driving trip around Washington state, we happened to come through Soap Lake, then Ephrata on our way from Republic to Yakima. We checked out a couple of places in Soap Lake, but that whole town seems to be dying, so we continued on to Ephrata, not great, but at least a little less moribund than Soap Lake. We checked out the Best Western on the south end of town, but they wanted too much for the room, even with AAA discount, so we called the Travelodge we had noted on the way through town. At first the woman said she was full, and had been all week, but then said she did have a king-bedded room. We asked to see the king-bedded rooms, and the woman who was cleaning the rooms said she was also the front desk clerk -- she was expected to do both jobs. Her husband spent most of his time sitting outside the front desk office, almost chain smoking. Our room was directly above the office, and was at least fairly spacious, and did have a king bed as advertised. But the carpets seemed soiled, the furniture worn, paint chipped. The pool was closed, for good reason, It looked terrible and very uninviting. Although they advertised a "continental breakfast", about all we could see was a couple of coffee pots and a basket of fruit on a stand in the office. We chose to eat elsewhere, just about a block and a half down the street at a tiny hole in the wall diner, and had a fabulous breakfast in this diner (Katy's, Kathy's?) that was jammed with the breakfast crowd.

It was amazing that this Travelodge was full, but it seemed to be -- and the only reason, apparently, was that it's not too far from The Gorge, at George, Washington, the site of major popular music concerts. Even though the price was low ($62, including tax), it wasn't even worth that -- it's not a place we would ever stay at again, and definitely can not recommend it. We do not blame the property's run-down and neglected appearance on the hard working woman who has to do triple duty as mother to a two-year old, cleaning lady, maid and front desk duties. But perhaps her husband's could get off his butt between cigarettes to help out a little. We've stayed in worse places, notably the EconoLodge in Chandler, Oklahoma, which is probably the worst motel in America, but this is in pretty poor condition.

Room Tip: Aftere having seen three rooms and stayed in one, we don't think there are any good rooms to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    9
    12
    7
See reviews for
3
12
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The front desk staff spend all their time smoking in front of the non-smoking rooms, talking on their cell phones, and ignoring the front desk bell. I went back twice with a question about the town and nobody would even come out of the back. The wi-fi doesn't work. Upon check-in I was advised to use the neighbor's instead. Classy. The breakfast consists of two stale bins of cereal with no milk. A cold pot of coffee, a half a loaf of stale white bread and a sticky jar of jam in the fridge. The bathroom walls are dingy and the furniture looks like it came from a thrift shop. My sheets were clean and the toilet had been scrubbed, so that's one positive thing. The website is very misleading. There is no business center, as they claim, nor was there a free paper. I am so glad I didn't spend much, because I certainly didn't get much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ephrata hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

Filthy. My four man construction crew didnt even set their bags down before finding bugs in the sheets. We asked for our money back and left. The front desk claimed they had credited our credit card back for the one room we rented the night before, but still managed to charge three thousand dollars for absolutely nothing. The hotel owner told us to sue him if we don't like it. Very classy. I think we will sue him now.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

The room we stayed at was beyond nasty. DO NOT RECOMMEND. The beds were filled up with all sort of hairs, head hair, body hair. The sheets were all in pee stains. I never seen anything grosser. We payed for two nights once we got to our room and saw all of that we turned around and left not even thinking for a min to stay

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011 via mobile

The pictures make this place look a whole lot better than it really is. It is somewhat run down and not the cleanest. The breakfast is not worth even looking at. In our room, the phone didn't even work. I wouldn't know about the pool because of the time of year I was there. This place needs a serious upgrade or at least some better upkeep. Only use this place if all other places are booked and you don't want to go to Moses Lake. Not really worth the money even with the AAA discount and free wi fi.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

The Ephrata Travelodge is a very nice motel. Very clean and comfy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

The hotel was filled with exceptional and friendly service throughout our visit. The staff was very helpful and patient, providing me with all the answers to everyone of my questions. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The complimentary laundry service was really helpful to me because of my busy schedule. If you're going to Ephrata then stay at the Travelodge because it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ephrata Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ephrata Travelodge

Address: 31 S. Basin St., Ephrata, WA 98823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ephrata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ephrata Travelodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ephrata Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ephrata Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.