We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tav

The Tav
117 W 4th Ave, Ellensburg, WA 98926-3127
509-925-3939
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Ellensburg
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice lunch find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat lunch while traveling and found this place. Glad we did. The food was good and so was the service. Interesting place downtown. Skip the fast food on the express and go here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Decent food and bet on tap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have friends who live in Eburg, so this is a favorite place to come sit for a while and catch up, and grab nachos and beer, or a burger. The food was better, maybe a lot better, when we first started coming here in 2002, but it's still decent. the rotating beer selection is always good, and the staff is friendly. I come for the atmosphere, the brick walls with the names and initials of those who've come here before, the wonderful enclosed outdoor patio. If you like that kind of place, check it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Shrimp and fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've been eating at The Tav before it was legally allowed because my dad used to bring it home and it's always been amazing. I'm partial to the shrimp and fries, I've gotten them more times than I can count and I'm never disappointed. The salads are great too, as well as the Texas Toothpicks, and nachos. My husband always gets a burger and comes away happy. This place also has a great atmosphere and serves up great beer. It's fun to come in the summer in an evening to sit outside with live music. They also have an adjoining room for gatherings or parties. I visit the Tav every time I visit Eburg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great tavern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've eaten here several times while visiting Ellensburg and have always had great food and service. Sandwiches are huge (my favorite is the French Dip) and the Manhattan clam chowder is delicious. It's a college tavern but neither too loud nor too noisy. Since we have always had a rather large group they seat us in the back room which is quieter and away from the bar. It's a great spot for great food, simply prepared.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Favorite hang-out with Eburg friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We've come here a lot in the past decade, ever since our friends moved to Ellensburg. Whenever we visit, we try and make it here for a beer, or for dinner. Last week we did both. It was nice enough to sit outside in the wonderful beer garden and enjoy a pitcher of Irish Death and my favorite burger: the Bacon Blue Mother. Yummy. One thing I love about the place is the exposed brick walls inside and out, and the names of past regulars carved into them. We try to sit in our friend's bench when we can; she was a regular back in her college days at CWU. I highly recommend checking this place out... you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tav also viewed

 

Been to The Tav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tav, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.