We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sutherlin, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Everything you would expect for a hotel in this price range.Nice lobby,good facilities,very comfortable rooms a good hot breakfast.
The thing we noticed was the people.The staff was wonderful.Very accomodating,friendly and most happy to make us feel at home.
The housekeeping staff went out of their way to work around our schedule with our dog
Although ,everyone was great,we have to single out Johanna and Konstantine at the front desk and Peg in the breakfast area.
We would recommend this hotel to anybody.
Fred and Rita Prout

Room Tip: We had a nice room overlooking a brook.We watched a pair of magpies building a nest,Nice extra touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllensburgExpress-GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Konstantine, Peg, and Johanna are some of Ellensburg's finest! With out them at the hotel, we're just not the same. We hope to see you on your next trip through Ellensburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    54
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
55
34
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights for work. The rooms were clean and nothing was amiss. It is true it is on the strip in Ellensburg where all the hotels and chain restaurants are, but that's ok. Downtown is only a 2 minute drive. I was motivated to write this review because the hotel advertised that they did have HBO, which I was looking forward to (Game of Thrones), but when I got into my room, the TV wasn't working properly and I couldn't get that channel. Konstantin at the front desk was terrific; he came to my room and reset the TV, which took a few minutes of his time. He also corrected a small billing error really quickly the next day. Johanna at the front desk also helped with my complicated direct bill/rewards card issue. It is a basic hotel but the employees really went out of their way to meet my needs.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back overlook a little creek and a farm field, so the view is somewhat pastoral, ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllensburgExpress-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I love Game of Thrones too! I'm glad you didn't miss that episode. I'm glad our location to downtown worked out for you. The nice thing about Ellensburg is that everything is so close. You can get to Central Washington University just as quick as any of our great antique shops!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

At the risk of sounding snotty, for Ellensburg this is living. Nicely done "business traveler" suites with all the enhanced amenities. Pool, dining area, exercise room, competent staff. Sure it is located in the "freeway ghetto" off I-90 and for sure anyone who stays here is not on a "walking vacation" but the view is good from the top floor and the downtown/campus area is only a few minutes away. As stated in the title, works just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllensburgExpress-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We don't think your being "snotty". Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you appreciated the rooms and amenities. We are very proud of our staff and do our best to see that our guests are comfortable when they are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Close to the freeway yet quiet. Our room was clean and well kept. Better than standard free breakfast. Desk personnel were friendly and helpful. If I had to find a fault it is that there is no good restaurant within walking distance. But that's not the Motels fault

Room Tip: Higher floors have less ceiling noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllensburgExpress-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you Greg,

We are proud of our rooms and our exceptional housekeeping staff that maintains them. In regards to our breakfast - stay tuned! Holiday Inn Express is unveiling a new breakfast bar across the country and we're excited to be a part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend. Booked using Priceline "name your price", which I recommend. Saved us over $30 per night. Rooms very clean and tastefully decorated. Beds comfortable. great pillows. Noise in the morning was moderately loud from overhead guests and in the hallway, but tolerable. The front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. Didn't use the pool or utilize the free breakfast (we slept in) but hotel was beautiful and close to many restaurants, shops, the University, etc. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfield, North Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The property and room was pretty standard HIE. Location was good, food and gas close by, It was clean, and quite after a long day on the road. There was a cute friendly young lady who was very pleasant to visit working the front desk that night, I forgot her name by now but she was buy far the best front desk person I have ever dealt with on many of trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is an outstanding place to stay in Ellensburg. Newish facility, very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We stay at Holiday Inn Express a lot and this one is one of the best. Ellensburg is a very convenient place to stop in our winter travels. The Front desk folks recommended a great place for dinner and just really went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.