We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“excellent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed weeknights for 9 weeks on business, service was always good and any problems were dealt with immediatly, Maria C. was outstanding at her job and always went out of her way to make me feel welcome. Breakfast was good and out early for the working people. My room was always clean and fresh. Now the marginal stuff the wireless was very marginal, most nights I was unable to video skype, and watching anything hd was out of the question unless you stayed up till midnight, refrigerators in several rooms rattled so loud I had to turn them off to sleep, and the hbo channels were frequently pixellated making them unwatchable( just hbo)! And lastly the hot water was so over softened I never felt rinsed clean, just oily. Hey I am fussy, I spend 100+ nigts a year in motels,hotels. Overall I would return to this hotel as clean and courteous go a long way to making a long stay not just tolerable but enjoyable
!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Russ F,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the amenities and services that we have to offer as well as the breakfast choices.

I apologize that you had some services that are not working well in the room. I understand how it feels not to be able to enjoy our entertainment facilities. All our team members pay special attention to every amenity and service and can only offer you my sincere apologies for falling short on our regular standards on this occasion.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    51
    16
    0
    5
See reviews for
55
30
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not a bad place to stay while in Ellensburg, though I had expected more.

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite, the tub was big and comfy. The room was large and spacious and clean. Had a nice view of the field and stream, which are behind the hotel, which was currently covered in Snow, and ice.

Fresh cookies in lobby in the evening, check in process was quick and easy, and front desk staff were friendly.

The bedding was nice and clean, and a selection of firm and softer pillows, but the bed was not nearly as comfortable as I would have expected, I have had better at Holiday Inn in the past. Wasn't super firm, but wasn't soft, supportive or comfortable by my standards, There are far more comfortable beds in town, for a better nightly rate.

Breakfast in the morning was the best thing. Hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, along with a Pancake machine. Pastries, fruit, breads, cereal, juice and coffee. One of best breakfasts I have seen at a hotel. Breakfast area was well kept, and has a nice fireplace that added to the ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear KJ9000,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the breakfast. However, it is regrettable the bed was not to your liking. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff was wonderful, but otherwise, this hotel was underwhelming. Passing thru Ellensburg, I looked on TA and got a $95 room with TT&L was about $110. This is an older facility. The hot tub was not particularly hot and the jet controls were inoperable. The room was OK with an old bathtub, but serviceable. I was in a "King Suite". The sofa sleeper was worn and one of the cushions had stuffing coming out. Upgraded linen was negated by worn, small hotel towels. Would have expected more for the money.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Rickdube,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

For the reasonable price, the comfort can't be beat!! Impeccably clean, comfortable and accommodating! 2 queen bedroom was perfect for our party of 4. Bedding was soft and crisp, whites were white! Asked for extra blankets and were given clean, white comforters!! Just like home! We felt really comfortable and relaxed. Fresh cookies at reception counter, cozy fireplace and an inviting interior. Clean carpets, bathroom and all amenities were top notch! Staff was attentive and courteous. Would definitely stay again. We wished we could have stayed another night. Our stay was the perfect respit for our long road trip. Pool was warm and clean, hot tub was hot and working!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night at the HIE in Ellensburg to celebrate an anniversary. We were greeted as though we were royalty upon checking into the hotel. The entire hotel was spotless and very comfortable. We stayed in a room with a King size bed and a jacuzzi tub. The entire room was completely spotless and the furnishings were absolutely beautiful! The customer service was outstanding! I don't want to forget to mention the delicious warm cookies that were served in the evening. The beds, pillows and linens were all very comfortable, We were so surprised in the morning to see a card that was slipped under our door which had been personally hand written by the manager, wishing us a happy anniversary and hoping we had a wonderful stay during our special day. This was above and beyond from any other hotel we have stayed in. If you want excellent customer service, a comfortable and clean place to stay while you are away from home....without a doubt I would HIGHLY recommend the HIE in Ellensburg! Thank you HIE for making us feel very special!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We made a unplanned stop here because of the closure of Snoqualmie pass due to snow/ accidents. We got one of the last rooms. The room needed some updating and some wall paper repairs. The breakfast was good but the poor girl was kept running due to the huge amount of unexpected guests. We were mostly disappointed at the huge jump in room rates due to the pass closure. The warm cookies were a nice treat to have that evening. We have stayed at nicer Holiday Inn Expresses but it was clean, warm and dry on a very nasty night. The staff was so very friendly and helpful we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear grandmom1,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you mentioned the breakfast was good and our staff very friendly and helpful. My apologies for the disappointment you had with your room accommodation. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a hairy ride through the pass it was nice to get to the comfort of the HIE. Friendly staff, clean and comfy room, the lady who serviced the breakfast bar was most memorable. One of those kind who isn't "missing when everything on the buffet is missing too". She was attentive and very nice, wishing us a great day as we headed out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.