We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night at the HIE in Ellensburg to celebrate an anniversary. We were greeted as though we were royalty upon checking into the hotel. The entire hotel was spotless and very comfortable. We stayed in a room with a King size bed and a jacuzzi tub. The entire room was completely spotless and the furnishings were absolutely beautiful! The customer service was outstanding! I don't want to forget to mention the delicious warm cookies that were served in the evening. The beds, pillows and linens were all very comfortable, We were so surprised in the morning to see a card that was slipped under our door which had been personally hand written by the manager, wishing us a happy anniversary and hoping we had a wonderful stay during our special day. This was above and beyond from any other hotel we have stayed in. If you want excellent customer service, a comfortable and clean place to stay while you are away from home....without a doubt I would HIGHLY recommend the HIE in Ellensburg! Thank you HIE for making us feel very special!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We made a unplanned stop here because of the closure of Snoqualmie pass due to snow/ accidents. We got one of the last rooms. The room needed some updating and some wall paper repairs. The breakfast was good but the poor girl was kept running due to the huge amount of unexpected guests. We were mostly disappointed at the huge jump in room rates due to the pass closure. The warm cookies were a nice treat to have that evening. We have stayed at nicer Holiday Inn Expresses but it was clean, warm and dry on a very nasty night. The staff was so very friendly and helpful we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear grandmom1,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you mentioned the breakfast was good and our staff very friendly and helpful. My apologies for the disappointment you had with your room accommodation. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After a hairy ride through the pass it was nice to get to the comfort of the HIE. Friendly staff, clean and comfy room, the lady who serviced the breakfast bar was most memorable. One of those kind who isn't "missing when everything on the buffet is missing too". She was attentive and very nice, wishing us a great day as we headed out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posibility409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Ellensberg, Washington to pick up my nieces for a visit. The room was clean and well kept. The morning breakfast was good. They have a small swimming pool that my Nieces really enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local information for good places to eat. Plus, I met folks who were having their 60th High School Reunion. It can't get much better than that for a small college town. I had a great time and would recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Ellensberg, Washington.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here with our two daughters in two queen junior suite. It was surprisingly roomy, well decorated and fairly up to date. The staff was very nice. If you haven't signed up for their rewards program, do--it's free and the clerks are a little more attentive--and you often get a little goodie bag. We got some microwave popcorn and a little candy. The kids rated the beds as comfy, shower was fine, but shorter people be warned--the adjustable shower head in our room was mounted really high--I am 5' 7" and could barely reach it to switch the pressure setting. However, tall people will love it. The pool is on one end facing the parking lot with big windows--nice for outdoor light. There is a hot tub and it's good sized, but the jets don't have much pressure. Pool temperature was fine--they did run out of pool towels, but there was a swim meet in town and lots of swimmers--they worked hard to replenish. The hotel is close to a lot of fast food. If you have time, go into to town; it's not far and there are some good restaurants and cute shops. As always with Holiday Inn Express, I really wish they had real coffee cups in the room and at breakfast. Styrofoam--ick. BUT, there is a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator in the room. There is supposed to be internet too, but we couldn't get a good signal. Didn't care enough to inquire about it, though. The breakfast buffet was pretty good--fresh fruit and their cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, orange juice and lemonade, cereal, yogurt and some breads for toasting. Half and half, but no flavored creamer at this one. Oh, and fresh cookies at 7pm in the evening. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're staying more than just the time to sleep, pay a little more for a junior suite--it giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose this hotel as a stopover while travelling across country. The Hotel was located very close to the Interstate. Front Desk Staff were excellent and check in was easy. Our room was upgraded to a King Suite. It was clean and comfortable.

At 7:00pm fresh chocolate chip cookies were made available to the guests, a treat that I really enjoyed. The pool and jacuzzi area was also very nice.

Great for a stop over and a Hotel that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed here one night due to an out of town business meeting. We had room 114 and I have to say it was very nice. Even the pillows were cushy enough to be comfortable. The room was clean and modern. There are several different restaurants with in walking distance. There were hot fresh baked cookies at 7:00pm that were delicious! The complimentary breakfast had several options including fruit, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy. I had the scrambled eggs and a fresh hot cinnamon roll. It was yummy. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will stay here next time I am in town over night.
P K

Room Tip: Our first floor room was right next to the ice machine and close to the dining room. Very convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#1 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Ellensburg
Days Inn Ellensburg
#7 of 13 in Ellensburg
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing