We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Ellensberg, Washington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Ellensburg
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Weekend in Ellensberg, Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Ellensberg, Washington to pick up my nieces for a visit. The room was clean and well kept. The morning breakfast was good. They have a small swimming pool that my Nieces really enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local information for good places to eat. Plus, I met folks who were having their 60th High School Reunion. It can't get much better than that for a small college town. I had a great time and would recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Ellensberg, Washington.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    14
    0
    5
See reviews for
51
25
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here with our two daughters in two queen junior suite. It was surprisingly roomy, well decorated and fairly up to date. The staff was very nice. If you haven't signed up for their rewards program, do--it's free and the clerks are a little more attentive--and you often get a little goodie bag. We got some microwave popcorn and a little candy. The kids rated the beds as comfy, shower was fine, but shorter people be warned--the adjustable shower head in our room was mounted really high--I am 5' 7" and could barely reach it to switch the pressure setting. However, tall people will love it. The pool is on one end facing the parking lot with big windows--nice for outdoor light. There is a hot tub and it's good sized, but the jets don't have much pressure. Pool temperature was fine--they did run out of pool towels, but there was a swim meet in town and lots of swimmers--they worked hard to replenish. The hotel is close to a lot of fast food. If you have time, go into to town; it's not far and there are some good restaurants and cute shops. As always with Holiday Inn Express, I really wish they had real coffee cups in the room and at breakfast. Styrofoam--ick. BUT, there is a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator in the room. There is supposed to be internet too, but we couldn't get a good signal. Didn't care enough to inquire about it, though. The breakfast buffet was pretty good--fresh fruit and their cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, orange juice and lemonade, cereal, yogurt and some breads for toasting. Half and half, but no flavored creamer at this one. Oh, and fresh cookies at 7pm in the evening. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're staying more than just the time to sleep, pay a little more for a junior suite--it giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose this hotel as a stopover while travelling across country. The Hotel was located very close to the Interstate. Front Desk Staff were excellent and check in was easy. Our room was upgraded to a King Suite. It was clean and comfortable.

At 7:00pm fresh chocolate chip cookies were made available to the guests, a treat that I really enjoyed. The pool and jacuzzi area was also very nice.

Great for a stop over and a Hotel that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed here one night due to an out of town business meeting. We had room 114 and I have to say it was very nice. Even the pillows were cushy enough to be comfortable. The room was clean and modern. There are several different restaurants with in walking distance. There were hot fresh baked cookies at 7:00pm that were delicious! The complimentary breakfast had several options including fruit, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy. I had the scrambled eggs and a fresh hot cinnamon roll. It was yummy. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will stay here next time I am in town over night.
P K

Room Tip: Our first floor room was right next to the ice machine and close to the dining room. Very convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Friendly staff and clean, spacious rooms made for a great stay. Location is good, as near freeway (without noise) and fast food/gas. Breakfast was very good (make your own waffles among other items) and complimentary. The evening cookies were delicious. The only improvement I would have them make were the pillows: the two grades of pillows were appreciated, but not the best quality. I still would choose this site over/above similar priced locations due to the above, also the 24 hour indoor pool availability (warm) and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean, spacious, and quite. I love the non-smoking environment and that they allow pets. The bed was very comfortable and I like the choice between soft and firm pillows. The free hot breakfast was way more than I expected. It included cold cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravey, toast, muffins, bagels & cream cheese, cinnamon buns, doughnuts, and I am sure there are some items that I forgot. There were a number of fast food restaurants within walking distance or it was a short drive to the "Downtown" area. I would defiantly stay here again or recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited Ellensburg to attend a wedding and I was pleasantly surprised by how clean, comfortable and updated this Holiday Inn Express was. The staff were all friendly and were quick to give you a smile. One special touch was after 7pm there is fresh baked chocolate cookies available at the front desk. Yummmy! After an evening out, the beds were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg
Address: 1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.