We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ellensburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Ellensburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. The room was immaculate. The air conditioning worked and created a pleasant environment. The room had a mini-refrigerator and a microwave. There were quality towels and amenities in the bathroom. The breakfasst was outstanding, including the pancake maker, cinnamon rolls, omelettes, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, juices, assorted breads, and coffee. One of the better breakfasts being served. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request top floor to avoid having anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
55
31
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

For its star rating, this hotel is appropriately comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I did not experience any glitches. So, while I would not rave about it and recommend it for your special vacation, if you are traveling and need a comfortable and clean place to stay in Ellensburg, I would not hesitate to recommend the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side of the property away from the main road, pool and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The first room they gave me already had someone in it. Luckly for me they weren't NRA nuts. I hauled all my stuff from room 325 back to the desk. The clerk reasinged me to room 327. Back to mey new room. The card key didn't work. Back to the desk. She rest the lock again.
back to room 327. Card still doesn't work, back to the desk. This time she gives me roon 122. After 4 trip to my room I finallly get to put my luggage down. She also screwed up the original people in 325. She made no offer to make up for their screwups. I wanted to speak to someone else about this but no one was at the desk or answering the bell at 5:30 am when I left. This happen 07-30-12 at the Holiday Inn Express in Elllenburg, WA. Conf no 67877715

Glen Varvil

Room Tip: Go to the Best Westerner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Glen V,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I hadnt used HI Express before, and this little hotel was a terrific surprise. Front desk staff were ridiculously warm and helpful, room and furniture and bath all looked newly redone and in excellent condition. Request a creek-side room! TERRIFICALLY QUIET and private, shaded view of the creek and across the hayfields through the tall windbreak trees. You would never know you were .25 miles from the second busiest highway in the state.

Little touches in an economy hotel are a real treat you dont expect:

-- every desk person I spoke with was eager to assist, professional and friendly and repeatedly went out of their way to ask how they could be as helpful as possible
-- carefully accommodated my emailed requests for quiet room away from stairs ice machines etc, and checkin request for view-side top floor
-- lobby appears new: all marble and nice furniture
-- scrupulously , and I mean sparkling clean bathrooms off the lobby
-- breakfast room furniture in great shape, kept new and very clean and all buffet machinery well kept
-- the breakfast includes eggs pancakes yogurt biscuits bacon and other surprises as well as the usual cereal and pastries
-- rooms are precooled! a/c already on, great surprise to arrive to after a hot July day of driving
-- clearly new, firm beds, nice new sheets and shams, and two sets of pillows embroidered with "soft" and "firm" -- when was the last time a hotel pillow didnt give you scoliosis by morning?
-- good functional AC in the room, not too loud and easy to adjust
-- Hangers that come off the rods, easy to hang things in bathroom etc
-- Thick towels
-- Free, oversized hot cookies baked on site and available in the lobby at 7pm. Sounds silly sure, but what a simple comfort to go out of your way to make. And then, when they were out when I came back from dinner, the evening desk clerk said, brightly, "I'll make more!" And offered to deliver them to my room. Seriously, who does that?

Also a really good steak can be had at the restauraunt (Spurs) at the otherwise rather battered Quality inn next door.

Usually a budget off-highway hotel is just an exercise in lowered expectations. What a tremendous relief to arrive somewhere that has had actual capital investments -- and appears so eager to work for your budget dollars. Off a truck-stop exit on the interstate!

Room Tip: Tree-side rooms face east, so darker and cooler in the afternoons. View of creek and fields is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am always pleased to stay at a holiday inn express, this one did not disappoint me. A smiling face and friendly service made hours of harduous driving vanish. The room was beautiful and already cooled. As a priority club member, I had a cold water bottle, peanuts and pop corn graciously offered. Cookies would be served at seven pm. TWO THUMBS UP. It's all in the little things. I will eagerly look forward to staying again on my return trip. Breakfast is also included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

comfy and clean.
Really nice beds and bedding.
Nice lobby and pool.
Free breakfast in the morning was lackluster but aren't all free breakfasts?
It more than met our needs.

Location is set back off Main Street and we had a room at the back of the hotel that overlooked a field-so very quiet. Room 208!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshastin, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

In Ellensburg visiting friends and family. This place was super clean and the staff was very friendly from the front desk to the house maids. The rooms are big and clean. The pool and hot tub area was wonderful with plenty of towels. Breakfast was great. Will deffinately stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms were none smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1620 Canyon Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.