We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Inn Ellensburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Inn Ellensburg to your Saves list
Cedars Inn Ellensburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1390 North Dolarway Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly I-90 Inn Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct & SAVE 10%
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was a nice motel to stay in. It was a little older but well cared for and if you are on the main floor you park right at your door.. The motel is right on the river and close to some restaurants and gas stations. They also had space for truckers. It was very easy to find from the interstate. There were no tables inside the lobby to eat breakfast so you take your tray to your room or they have picnic tables set out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
35
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I've been staying at the I-90 off and on since I was a kid, and it's always been a class act. Friendly service, spotless rooms, quiet location, and VERY reasonable rates (especially considering the gouging you'd get at some of the chain motels in town that don't offer anything better). Do yourself a favor and stay here the next time you're headed to a concert at the Gorge, or just passing through.

- Fritz Kessler

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here while attending a conference at CWU. I am so glad we did! It is run by an army of really nice grandma-like ladies that all call you "hon" and were super efficient at check in. The hotel is located a little out of the way (i.e. one exit further up the freeway than the major chains), but if you're headed to downtown E-burg or the university it is less than a five minute drive. Don't let the name fool you -- although its located near the freeway, it was very peaceful and quiet. The hotel has a basic but good continental breakfast in the morning. If bagels, apples and juice aren't your thing, there's an awesome and reasonably priced coffee shop next door (looked like thay served lunch too). Our room was also very reasonably priced ($42.00) and was incredibly clean. There was no hair dryer or coffee maker, but there was a microwave and fridge (both new), that you'd usually have to pay extra for. The bathroom looked to have been recently remodeled and all the linens were sparkling white. Only complaint -- the shower was incredibly powerful (though not to the point of being painful) and resulted in a few puddles on the bathroom floor. If you want wireless internet, you have to get a room a little closer to the office, but no biggie. Also, the back of the hotel has a nice view of a lake/pond and there's kind of an oversized parking lot where kids were riding bikes and playing.

Bottom Line: I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a diamond in the rough. It might not look like much on the outside, but as long as you're not looking for an exotic luxury getaway, you'll be pleased. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I think this motel can drop the "inn" from its name. Rooms needed refreshing, otherwise a pleasant stay. http://www.EllensburgWa.net is a good site to get more info on Ellensburg.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

The I-90 Inn is, without a doubt, the best value in either Ellensburg or nearby Yakima. We have stayed in a majority of the motels in this area, and wish we had discovered I-90 a long time ago. Better than "clean". Meticulous better describes it. And the most reasonable prices w/o a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Very clean room, helpful staff, excellent price for a senior on a limited budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Trying to find a spot to stay along our route for a quick mini-vacation at the height of the summer season, I was pleased to find the positive reviews from other members for the I-90 Inn. With AAA membership, paid $78 ($85 w/tax) for a room with queen bed.

The front desk person was very courteous and helpful. We drove around back from the front office and was pleased to find our room facing a small lake with a few picnic tables for guests. Nice peaceful setting, especially for being just off the interstate.

Our room was incredibly clean, and very quiet. The only noise that intruded was a phone ringing in the room next door. Toiletries provided were pretty basic, but adequate for hygiene. There wasn't a hair dryer in the room, but I'm guessing we could have borrowed one from the front desk; I asked for 3 extra pillows and even though the motel was fully booked, received them promptly with a smile.

Here was the only rub for us - our bed had little more give than a piece of plywood! I have a son-in-law who loves firm beds, and he might have been OK with this, but my wife and I didn't have a very restful night (and isn't that the primary objective?).

A very simple continental breakfast is in a room next to the office in the morning: apples, coffee / hot water for tea or hot chocolate, bagels and a toaster, jams and cream cheese.

Overall, a quality operation for the kind of market it's in, but the hard beds would keep us from returning.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Not a restful night due to hard bed...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Inn Ellensburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn Ellensburg

Address: 1390 North Dolarway Rd., Ellensburg, WA 98926-9362 (Formerly I-90 Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedars Inn Ellensburg 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our latest addition to the Cedars Inn & Suites locations is now in Ellensburg, Washington. When you stay with us in Ellensburg, Washington you will get quality accommodations and a good night's sleep at affordable prices. Our charming country atmosphere and friendly staff makes us the perfect lodging choice for vacationers and families. Whether you are here on business or pleasure you will enjoy the quiet and relaxing lakeside environment the Cedars Inn Ellensburg has to offer. Are you looking for the ideal spot to escape the everyday stress of today's world? Then stop by or call us for more information or to make reservations. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedars Inn Ellensburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Inn Ellensburg Hotel Ellensburg
i 90 Hotel Ellensburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Inn Ellensburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.