We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Remodeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   403 West University Way, Ellensburg, WA 98926   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Ellensburg
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Remodeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and is was a great weekend.The staff was great. very polite, attenative and welcoming. My only complaint was a very cold pool. It could have been warmer for a much enjoyable stay especially why i choose it. Another thing is why did the drain it on Labor day? I paid through the holiday departing the Sept. 3, Tuesday. So i thought that was a little disheartening. No microwave or refrigerator in my room and kind of tight spaces if you have three or more in the room. I love Ellensburg and will be back. Next time going for the kitchenette and hopefully the heating system will be working next summer. Overall a very nice place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a lengthy drive from Squamish, BC, the Motel 6 in Ellensburg, WA. was exactly what was necessary to recuperate before another lengthy drive the following day. I arrived around 9pm, after being delayed for about an hour when I-90E was closed for blasting. The hotel clerk was professional, if a bit of a stickler, but I would prefer that to the alternative. The room had clearly been recently renovated and was clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower worked well, although the shower head was a bit low for a tall person. Still, there was no issue with hot water and the water pressure was good. The TV worked well and not only was the Wi-Fi free, but it was a strong, consistent, signal. I slept very well on the first night of a 4 night trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Until late 2011 this was the site of The Thunderbird Motel, which seems not to have aged well judging from reviews. Let's be clear - although the address and structure of the buildings are the same, this is no longer The Thunderbird Motel.

We rented two rooms for the annual Jazz in the Valley weekend, one with two queens the other a single queen and kitchenette. Being within walking distance was high on our list of requirements - actually having rooms available was obviously pretty important too! Most of the hotels at the South end of town fill up quickly for this last weekend in July, so we felt lucky to find rooms available.

Location : about 0.6 of a mile from central Ellensburg - 15 minutes or so to walk. The parking area is huge and surrounds the fenced pool area. Arriving from Seattle on I-90 take the first exit for town and it's pretty easy just to follow W University Way in. Dining options in the immediate neighborhood are pretty limited - better to plan to walk in to town.

The property : probably dating from the late '40s when cross country driving too off, this is the archetypical motor lodge. A large U shaped arrangement of two story buildings with parking bays directly in front of the doors. Late 2011 the property appears to have been acquired and converted to a Motel 6 franchise. The renovation has included extensive renovation inside and out. Reception is bright, airy and houses several vending machines along with ice and coffee.

Rooms : Decor is consistent with the "bold new look" that is being rolled out to Motel 6 locations nationally, and actually works pretty well. The look is bright, clean and colorful. Everything apart from the bathtub is new; flooring, paint, furniture, sinks, toilets, A/C - all new and all very nice. Tiled/laminate floors may seem a bit cold to the feet, but they're much easier to keep clean and overall more practical than carpet. There's plenty of storage, good reading light and flat panel TVs. The Wi-fi is free and fast enough to stream Amazon Prime without any hiccups at all, though Netflix had a bit more trouble.

Sleep quality : Even though the bed is a simple mattress on platform design it proved very comfortable. Pillows are synthetic (my preference) and quite full/firm - again very much as I prefer. Bed line consists of a sheet and two very light coverlets - in cold weather you'd be relying on the heater to keep the room warm unless they have heavier blankets for winter. Perfectly comfortable for a summer visit. Thanks in part to new A/C units, which are nice and quiet, plus dual pane windows and solid walls the room was quiet. Curtains are heavy lined and do a good job of darkening the room and there was very little plumbing noise from adjoining rooms. We had two nights of good quality sleep.

Motel 6 is no longer the bargain basement it once was, and there are much more comfortable hotels in the area that are only somewhat more expensive - but typically they're not as close to the center of things and booked well in advance. Overall our stay was good value, the location suited us very well and we had a very comfortable stay - would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle part of the "U" tend not to get direct morning or evening sun, and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

A friend of mine and I spent 3 weeks travelling in USA... we stayed every night in a different motel, and with no doubt this was the worst one!
It was dirty everywhere! we found disgusting spots on the sheets, and a mix of sand and dust on the floor...
Better to avoid...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

No frills...really...no frills. Clean, quiet, old (getting a face lift) and cheap. Felt like a safe Motel 6 with a personality. 30 minutes from the concert. Great Bfast down the street. We WILL use this motel again!

Room Tip: We loved 64
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

4 of us were heading to the Gorge to see Rush. 4 of us felt too old to camp over night at the Gorge, so we found a cheap motel in Ellensburg. We only used the motel to sleep. Driving into the parking lot we felt like we were driving back in time to 1960. The room smelled weird, the bathroom was grimy, the beds were sleepable (is that a word?) I made sure to wear socks at all times. But what did I expect? It's a cheap motel in Ellensburg. We weren't disappointed because we knew what we'd be in for by staying there.
They advertise free continental breakfast - there IS no breakfast, so be advised.
The outdoor pool looked nice and clean, but we didn't use it. It was probably the motel's best feature.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here the evening of the Rush Concert at the Gorge. The room was clean and sufficient. The only two things that were odd, the clock was wrong and the clock on the microwave was wrong, AND the channels on the televisions did not match with the titles that came up on the TV. It would say you were watching CBS and Saturday Night Live was on - and that is NBC. Very odd. But all in all a fine stay

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA

Address: 403 West University Way, Ellensburg, WA 98926
Location: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Ellensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ellensburg, WA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.