We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel California of Motels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 W Dayton St, Edmonds, WA 98020-4130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Edmonds
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Hotel California of Motels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The weirdest Best Western Motel I've ever stayed in. It has a good location near the Harbor in Edmonds and the place is clean and the staff is nice. I could not put my finger on why the place was so weird. The layout--Weird. The ingress-egress...Weird. The key system...weird. The guest laundry...weird. I'm not saying it was bad...just strange. Maybe it was all the retiree's and seniors around. Maybe it was the train whistle, or the business center it shares a parking lot with. Its a strange place. U can check out...but you can never leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Aspenspin,
The door locks are scheduled for replacement within the next year and the entry system will be changed to the card type; before we can change the locks all the doors in the original wings need to be replaced. Until such time and to ensure the perimeter doors are locked at all times, unfortunately, we do have a dual key system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    95
    24
    11
    10
See reviews for
92
86
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location for walking to the Marina and looking at the boats and then walking on to the beach park. There is also a city park that is easy to walk to. The room were clean with fridge and microwave which is handy. Great shower with lots of hot water, nice big shower head. Breakfast is ok, not the best laid out for customer flow. Only issue is that it is close to the train tracks and oh do those trains like to blow their whistle as they come in and out of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jacqui,

We appreciate your feedback and will work to improve the flow in the breakfast room where possible. Part of the charm of a waterfront town is the ferry and train but this can also be a challenge. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Edmonds Harbor Inn/Best Western several times now. Each time was a pleasant experience. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Plus, you are a short walk from any number of wonderful restaurants in Edmonds, Breakfast is included (continental). Their exercise room is only open 8am-8pm because of its proximity to guest rooms and it is quite small. A 10 minute walk gets you to the ferry.

Room Tip: There is a train that runs nearby so if you have the option, try to get a room that faces away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Mrs. M,

Thank you for staying with us, once again. We always appreciate you letting us know of your experience and satisfaction with your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next rtip. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room- not so hot for 2 big teen boys, 2 adults and 1 dog. Our friends room was soooo much nicer. Ahhh, with having pets and children....you can't have anything nice. Pool was closed - real drag. I'll ask next time. End of March- I guess that's normal. Good breakfast. Not fabulous.
Staff was very vigilant about security. Nice lobby but turn the lights down when it gets late to make it so much more cozy, not so startling or inhospitable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Candise M,
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments about or staff member Darren. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Jan Conner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel, beautiful lobby, nice rooms, very comfortable beds (room 121), no room concerns at all - front counter staff (a guy that works til 11pm) was great, very helpful. Even stopped my 12 year old to see how she was feeling when he knew she'd been unwell earlier. Breakfast was the Best Western Continental usual - spacious dining room.
Problem: no disclosure on the BW site about the train tracks being less than 1.5 blks away. This was easily remedied for our family as the front counter gave us ear plugs.
Great roads in the area too - scenic (near waterfront north of Edmonds) and/or quick (99 or I-5). Lots to do whether you want to drive away, or walk to the pier, check out the marina, or watch for sea lions near where the ferries come in (apparently scuba diving is quite common here).
I would absolutely return to this hotel - the location is great being less than 1.5 blks from the waterfront - Ed Begley Jr. stopped to put my dog. Never know who you'll meet. :) The off leash area is a few blks away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear cpsm0m,
Thanks for staying with us and experiencing Edmonds and the surrounding area. We hope you had a safe trip home and will come back and see us again if in the Seattle area.
Jan Conner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The problem started after we retired to bed and noticed the heater did not function. By this time it was quite late, we were all dressed for bed/ in bed and didn't want a maintenance person invading our privacy. It was chilly but my husband and daughter fell asleep. I was awaken, (several times during the night/ very early morning) by the cold and searched for an extra blanket inside the room to find nothing. I attempted adjusting the dials thinking I may have made a mistake. I did not! This was confirmed in the morning with the front desk and when maintenance arrived after we got up in the morning. I called the front desk around 4 AM. They offered to send maintenance however like most we didn't want our privacy awkwardly invaded in such a manner. I ran my feet in hot water and got up to put extra layers of clothing on. After breakfast I again addressed the front desk with this issue where a woman responded by stating I should have had maintenance correct it. I responded by saying that we were not comfortable having our privacy invaded in the middle of the night, understandably or at least one would hope!! I am offended at the implication it is our fault we didn't have heat. The hotel is responsible and should be more understanding. We feel compensation is necessary. It is ridiculous we had to freeze through the night at a hotel where we PAY for comfort. As well, I do not appreciate the attitude directed towards me and the complete lack of sympathy and apology. This of course does NOT include the maintenance woman. She was exceptionally understanding, kind and sympathetic most especially when I shared that my 7 yr old daughter was freezing cold when I laid down next to her to warm her up first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure the heat works before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff try to keep all items and equipment in the guestroom in good working order. It is my understanding that the unit was functioning, but perhaps not warm enough for your pleasure. We do understand that you may not have wanted a maintenance person coming to the room late in the evening, however, it is unfortunate that we were not even given the opportunity to provide additional comforters. We take our guests comfort seriously and do respond when notified of any deficiencies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lots of stays here...consistently excellent...staff, especially Darlene, amenities, rooms, beds, decor, pillows ( very important to me), beautiful lobby, great location, love the train sounds:). Close to the water and very good seafood restaurants. Nice walking area.

Room Tip: We leave it up to Darlene, always perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn

Address: 130 W Dayton St, Edmonds, WA 98020-4130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Edmonds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Edmonds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Seattle and Everett and only a short distance from Lynnwood, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor inn is just 1-1/2 blocks from the waterfront and walking distance to restaurants, boutiques, galleries, antique shopping and activities. The hotel is located minutes from the Edmonds Ferry Terminal, Amtrak Station, American Brewing Company, Gallaghers' Where-U-Brew, and Edmonds Center for the Performing Arts. Corporate travleres will be minutes from Compass Courses Maritime Training Center, The Center for Hope, Swedish/Stevens Hospital, Boeing, Lynnwood Convention Center, and Alderwood Shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Harbor Hotel Edmonds
Best Western Edmonds
Edmonds Best Western
Edmonds Harbor Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Edmonds Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.