We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mutant cross between McDonald's and In-N-Out...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dick's Drive-in

Dick's Drive-in
21910 Highway 99, Edmonds, WA
(425) 775-4243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 118 Restaurants in Edmonds
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A mutant cross between McDonald's and In-N-Out...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is what it is.

Dick's kind of reminds me of In-N-Out, but not as good in my opinion. Although they have excessive serving speed that superceeds any efficiency I've ever seen...ever. I suppose there's some secret menu here as well, where I have to order my in-house cut fries crispy, otherwise they come out limp. Against everyone's advice, I didn't order the Deluxe burger. Instead, I got the regular cheeseburger and it tastes exactly like the McDonald's cheeseburger.

For fries and the cheeseburger, $3. Good lawrd, that's a steal.

I'm assuming people around here have a lot of nostalgia for this place and it holds a special place in their hearts, something I understand. For me, it's just another cute drive-in/walk-up, standard fare, dirt cheap prices.

I'd definitely swing by this place again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just because it's Dick's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Herfy's gone, Dags gone, Zestos gone, Gordos gone (& it's predecessor Turbulent Turtle- before it went big), but Dick's remains. Sticking to what it does best, cheap food really fast & no messing with the menu. There's something to be said for tradition.
You may have to be a local to appreciate Dick's, but if you are, you probably love it
(eg local love is the only reason for anyone tolerating White Castle). This is not a quality burger place like Red Mill, but for a quick good burger, great fries and wonderful shake, it's hard to beat. And if you put your burger and fries on your dashboard top you get a nice sheen.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Dick's is old school hamburgers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you like old style burgers at a reasonable price, Dick's is the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“too easy to overindulge :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Take your cash and get ready to stand in line. Dick's, the Seattle institution has opened in Edmonds and is dispensing it's trademark burgers and shakes at a break-neck pace. Also unforgettable is the fabulous skin-on french fries with just the right amount of salt. If you can brave the windy weather waiting a few minutes for your food, you are in for a treat. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food Burgers ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

What can I say, "Nothing can touch a Dick's cheeseburger!" I was impressed how organized this new location is, given the long lines and rapid pace. The food tastes just as good as any other location (no training curve here). If you are hungry for a great fast food burger, with good french fries and a strawberry shake, then Dick's is your place. I'm glad that there is finally one close by!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Drive-in also viewed

 

Been to Dick's Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick's Drive-in, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.