We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet retreat, marvelous breakfast and kind owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
100 Tomihi Drive, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet retreat, marvelous breakfast and kind owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed a week at this lovely bed and breakfast. The quiet pond was brimming with birds and ducks and peacefulness. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The breakfasts were amazing, the best I've ever had since i've been gluten free for sure! Sue is a wonderful cook and both Sue and Carl are so kind. Much gratitude to them for the stay.

The location right outside Moran State Park is wonderful!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Blue Heron room. They told me it was small but it was really perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    9
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed Otter's Pond very much. Quite, nicely furnished, great breakfast, relaxing environment with a nice view of the pond, birds, etc. Good advice from Carl on places to go. We had a TV in our room but we didn't use it. We'll go again. Orcas Island is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed at many B and B in the United States and in England. Otter's Pond is at the top of the list. My husband and I enjoy photography and the birds at Otter's Pond were wonderful subjects, especially the Rufous Hummingbirds. Otter's Pond reminds me of a retreat located in a woodland area with a pond full of wildlife. Peaceful.

The bridge collapse should not be the reason to avoid the San Juan Islands this summer. Carl's directions are excellent. We came from Seattle and the detour at Mt. Vernon took less than 30 minutes.

Carl and Sue are wonderful hosts. Both of them have lots of knowledge and information about the island history, activities to engage in, and places to eat and shop. Otter's Pond is situated near hiking areas at Mt. Constituation and not far from town for shopping and eating opportunities.

We certainly will be back. Sandy and David S.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Cove, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and I am so glad we chose Otter's Pond.
It's location is ideal - conveniently situated between Eastsound (for restaurants & shopping) and Moran State park (explore hiking trails, Mt. Constitution & Rosario Mansion).

Before I even arrived to the San Juan Islands, I appreciated Carl & Sue's website which provided us clear and simple directions on getting to Orcas Island despite the media's coverage of the bridge collapse. Yes, it is easy to visit the Islands and the bridge collapse shouldn't deter anyone from enjoying this travel destination.

Otter's Pond is a beautiful haven - a lovely secluded and serene forest wet land. It is a bird sanctuary inviting much of the wildlife to its bird feeders on the deck. We even caught glimpses of otters swimming in the pond. The stillness and lushness of the pond was a perfect setting to support the practice of yoga and meditation. The Bluebird room had a lovely view of the pond and each night we slept soundly on the comfortable and cozy king size bed, especially after the luxurious evening hot tub dips. The five course gourmet breakfasts were delicious and accommodated everyone's dietary restrictions. I purchased their Featherbed eggs cookbook with intentions of making the Herb cheese souffle, homemade sorbet and pumpkin chocolate chip muffins.

Carl & Sue are a great team. Their attention to detail is reflected in every part of your stay. Carl has captured the essence of the island through his excellent photography and Sue has great recommendations depending on your desire for exploration and fun. Carl & Sue went out of their way to make our visit to Orcas island most memorable and we will remember their kindness and generosity.

We would highly recommend Otter's Pond B& B as your home base when visiting the San Juan Islands.

Room Tip: Loved the pond view from the Bluebird room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to Orcas Island in September 2012 and stayed for two nights at a no-frills B&B that was very nice. We were so enchanted with Orcas that when Otters Pond offered a Living Social deal, we took advantage of it and decided to stay for four nights instead of two. We haven't stayed at a lot of B&Bs, but Otters Pond has set the standard. We stayed in the high-end Swan Room that overlooked the pond, and there's nothing we can think of that could have been better about it. Otters Pond is close to Eastsound and is situated on the aforementioned pond, and there are always birds and squirrels to watch at the feeders. What really makes the place special, though, are the owners, Carl and Sue Silvernail. They are extremely friendly and engaging, and, every morning, they prepare a five-course gourmet breakfast for the guests. It easily would cost $25 at a restaurant, and we never needed to eat lunch because we were so full, so you need to factor that into the cost of the stay. The B&B seems to attract like-minded people, and we made some new friends during our breakfasts.

As for those posters who complain that there are too many rules (i.e., you have to remove your shoes and listen to an orientation on how to use the hot tub), I don't know what to say. Sue is from Hawaii, where it's customary to move your shoes indoors so you don't track in dirt. The hot tub orientation took all of two minutes. If that sort of of thing bothers you, then stay elsewhere.

My wife (who is from Hawaii) and I have connected with Orcas Island in a way that's hard to explain. We plan to visit annually, and Otters Pond is where we'll stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our 3 day stay at Otter's Pond was everything we hoped and more. The setting is beautiful, overlooking the pond which was flowering with lily pods when we were there. The deck and hot tub (which has sliding screens for privacy if desired) overlooks this. The breakfasts were out of this world scrumptious. Otter Pond is very close to Moran State Park for hiking and enjoying nature (and wildlife - we spotted bald eagles on the way) and Carl and Sue put a lot of effort in making sure guests are comfortable, have everything they need and enjoy their stay. We hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Mid May in the Hummingbird Room. It was adorable. Sue and Carl were excellent hosts, the breakfasts were divine, the othere guests a treat to meet and eat breakfast with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 100 Tomihi Drive, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.