We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
100 Tomihi Drive, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to Orcas Island in September 2012 and stayed for two nights at a no-frills B&B that was very nice. We were so enchanted with Orcas that when Otters Pond offered a Living Social deal, we took advantage of it and decided to stay for four nights instead of two. We haven't stayed at a lot of B&Bs, but Otters Pond has set the standard. We stayed in the high-end Swan Room that overlooked the pond, and there's nothing we can think of that could have been better about it. Otters Pond is close to Eastsound and is situated on the aforementioned pond, and there are always birds and squirrels to watch at the feeders. What really makes the place special, though, are the owners, Carl and Sue Silvernail. They are extremely friendly and engaging, and, every morning, they prepare a five-course gourmet breakfast for the guests. It easily would cost $25 at a restaurant, and we never needed to eat lunch because we were so full, so you need to factor that into the cost of the stay. The B&B seems to attract like-minded people, and we made some new friends during our breakfasts.

As for those posters who complain that there are too many rules (i.e., you have to remove your shoes and listen to an orientation on how to use the hot tub), I don't know what to say. Sue is from Hawaii, where it's customary to move your shoes indoors so you don't track in dirt. The hot tub orientation took all of two minutes. If that sort of of thing bothers you, then stay elsewhere.

My wife (who is from Hawaii) and I have connected with Orcas Island in a way that's hard to explain. We plan to visit annually, and Otters Pond is where we'll stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    8
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our 3 day stay at Otter's Pond was everything we hoped and more. The setting is beautiful, overlooking the pond which was flowering with lily pods when we were there. The deck and hot tub (which has sliding screens for privacy if desired) overlooks this. The breakfasts were out of this world scrumptious. Otter Pond is very close to Moran State Park for hiking and enjoying nature (and wildlife - we spotted bald eagles on the way) and Carl and Sue put a lot of effort in making sure guests are comfortable, have everything they need and enjoy their stay. We hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Mid May in the Hummingbird Room. It was adorable. Sue and Carl were excellent hosts, the breakfasts were divine, the othere guests a treat to meet and eat breakfast with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It gives me great pleasure to review and recommend this elegant and beautiful B&B. Every detail was pristine. The host and hostess,Carl and Sue , made us feel special and cared for in every way. From the lovely gourmet 5-course breakfasts to the silky sheets on the beds,we felt transported. This was such a relaxing experience. We loved watching the wild birds greet us at the pond's edge.We loved the music. We loved the new decor. It was wonderful. We will definitely return next time we need a "get-away" retreat.

Room Tip: Each room has been remodeled. No "bad" choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Carl and Sue were very good to us. The house is beautiful and relaxing and the cooking was great. We had met other interesting guests in a nice environment. The B&B is right down teh road from Moran State Park, which is beautiful. Amazing amount of beautiful hiking and mountain biking in the area. Highly recommended. Note, cell phones will not work there, which is a nice break actually.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-March. As a travel agent, I'm pretty careful about what I recommend, but I can indeed recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Bluebird room, the only one without an ensuite bath. The bath is just beside the door, and even though the house was full, we never ran into anyone else while using it. Our room was comfortable and serene, overlooking the beautiful pond. We truly enjoyed watching the large variety of birds. Breakfast was suptuous each morning, and the company was good. Sue and Carl are excellent hosts, very pleasant and knowledgable. As world travellers themselves, the fact that they settled in this particular spot, on this pond on this island should give you an idea of the beauty and serenity of it. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pond side have a great view. All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband were looking for a long weekend getaway from Texas and Carl and Susan's bed and breakfast was the perfect fit. We stayed in the Swan room...the bed was so comfortable, I almost hated to get up. But of course, one had to get up to enjoy the delicious gourmet breakfast we were served. I especially loved the peppered bacon and the banana/blueberry pancakes...mmmmmm!

Further, since it was a football playoff Sunday, we were able to enjoy the living room/large TV with other guests. Carl...glad to see that the 49'ers won---we didn't think they could pull it off!

We would definitely plan on staying at Otters Pond B&B again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 100 Tomihi Drive, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.